LSU Libraries

Chemistry Resources



 
Subject Guide for
MINORITIES IN SCIENCE

Guide to Reference Resources

Directories (People)
Directories | Statistics and Reports | Biographies (General) | Biographies (African-Americans in Sciences) | Proposals | Curriculum Materials | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

Directory of Graduate Research.

QD 21 D573 Chemistry Resources (latest ed. in Reference)

 

The American Chemical Society's biennial directory of departments of chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry, medicinal/pharmaceutical chemistry, clinical chemistry, and polymer science at U.S. and Canadian universities that offer masters or doctoral degrees in these fields. Schools are listed alphabetically with each section, and include fields of specialization, faculty, biographies, interests, and recent publications.

A Directory of Federal R&D Agencies' Science and Engineering Programs for Women, Minorities, and Physically Handicapped Persons.

NS 1.50:M 66 Middleton Documents

 

A Directory of Federal R&D agencies' programs to attract women, minorities, and the physically handicapped to careers in science and engineering. Scholarship, fellowship and research programs for U.S. federal agencies. [Shipping list no.: 86-623-P. NSF report 85-51]

American Men and Women of Science: Agricultural, Animal and Veterinary Sciences.

S 415 A74 1971 Middleton
.X 1974 Veterinary Medicine Library Reference (Non-Circulating)

 

Directory with biographical information on men and women scientists working in agriculture, animal studies, and veterinary sciences. Selected from the American Men and Women of Science . Covers U.S. and Canada.

American Men and Women of Science.

Q 141 A47 Middleton Reference (Non-Circulating)
Q 141 A47 Chemistry Resources Reference (Non-Circulating)

 

Directory with biographical information on men and women scientists working in science. Beginning with 9th ed., issued in various volumes devoted to the Physical and Biological Sciences and the Social and Behavioral Sciences. Covers U.S. and Canada. Previous title called American Men Of Science.

NASA Superstars of Science.

NAS 1.2:SU 7/6 Middleton Documents

 

Subjects: United States National Aeronautics and Space Administration directory of officials and employees. Vocational guide to United States Afro-American scientists and space sciences. [Shipping list no.: 94-0355-P]

Dissertation Abstracts International.

Z 5053 D57 Middleton Reference (Non-Circulating)

 

Ph.D. dissertation topics listed under author s name.

(NOTE: Not indexed by race.)

 

Minority Biomedical Research Support Program : A Research Resources Directory. <6th ed>

HE 20.3037/7: (1993) Middleton Documents 

 

Directory of minority research research programs in the United States. Federal aid to medical research and minority scholarship and fellowship programs. Previously titled: Minority Biomedical Support Program. A publication of U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health. Includes a bibliography.

[NIH publication; (June 1993)]

 

The Black Collegian's Guide to Graduate Fellowships for Minority Students. 4th ed.

In Pre-Order Process Number: AFC7979 Middleton Temporary Control

 

Directory of minority scholarship and fellowship programs for U.S. universities.

Directory of Financial Aids for Minorities.

LB 2338 D56 1986-1987 Middleton Reference (Non-Circulating)
(Current volume in Reference)

 

Directory of federal aid to higher education and student aid for U.S. minority programs. Published by ABC-CLIO Information Services biennially: 1984-1985; 1986-1987

Minority Programs.

HE 20.3002:M 66/5 (1986) Middleton Documents

 

Directory of minority scholarships, fellowships, and federal aid to medical research in the United States. Prepared by the National Institutes of Health.

[Shipping list no.: 87-94-P (October 1986)]

 

Directory of Special Programs for Minority Group Members; Career Information Services, Employment Skills Banks, Financial Aid.

HD 5724 D56 1986 Middleton
Current Volume in Reference (Non-Circulating)

 

Directory of Manpower policy, employment directories, scholarships, and fellowship information for minority science programs in the U.S.

Minorities in Science: Government Statistics and Reports
Directories | Statistics and Reports | Biographies (General) | Biographies (African-Americans in Sciences) | Proposals | Curriculum Materials | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

African-American Women in the Sciences and Related Disciplines.

LC 33.10:93-4 (1993) Middleton Documents

 

Bibliography of Afro-American women scientists and minorities in sciences. A report prepared by the U.S. Library of Congress, Science Reference Section, Science and Technology Division.

[LC Science Tracer Bullet, TB 93-4 (August 1993)]

 

The "Racial" Economy Of Science : Toward A Democratic Future.

Q 175 .55 R3 1993 Middleton

 

A volume in the series: Race, Gender and Science. Topics include the social aspects, political aspects, and history of minorities and women in science. Includes bibliographical references and index.

The American Math and Science Student Support Act.

Y 4.Sci 2:102/121 Middleton Documents
Y 4.Sci 2:102/121 Middleton Documents (GPO Microfiche)

 

Testimony for federal act for U.S. minority graduate students scholarships and fellowships. Hearing before the Subcommittee on Science of the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology, U.S. House of Representatives, One Hundred Second Congress, second session, April 29, 1992. Includes bibliographical references.

[NSF No. 121; Shipping list no.: 92-0451-P; (1992)]

 

Investing In Human Potential : Science And Engineering At The Crossroads.

Q 149 U5 I58 1991 Middleton

 

Prepared by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS publication ; no.91-39S). Statistics and surveys of minority and women involvement in the sciences and engineering for the United States. Also includes sections on vocational guidance for U.S. science and engineering programs. Includes bibliographical references.

Traditional and Nontraditional Sources of Future Research Scientists.

Y 4.Sci 2:102/59 Middleton Documents
Y 4.Sci 2:102/59 Middleton Documents (GPO Microfiche)

 

Government statistics of methodology for the study and teaching of science in U.S. higher education. Hearing before the Subcommittee on Science of the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology, U.S. House of Representatives, One Hundred Second Congress, second session, April 29, 1992. Includes bibliographical references.

[NSF No. 59; Shipping list no.: 91-756-P; (1991)]

 

Science and Engineering Personnel : A National Overview.

NS 1.22: Sci 2/16 (1990) Middleton Documents (GPO Microfiche)

 

Published as part of National Science Foundation series: Surveys Of Science Resources Series; Special Report. Survey of education and employment statistics for women and minorities in U.S. sciences and engineering. Includes bibliographical references.

[NSF 90-310; Shipping list no.: 89-409-P; (January 1990)]

 

Changing America : The New Face of Science and Engineering : Final Report.

Y 3.W 84/3:2 Am 3 (1989) Middleton Documents

 

Subtitled: New Face of Science and Engineering, Final Report. Survey of education and employment statistics for women, minorities and handicapped in U.S. sciences and engineering. Published by the Task Force on Women, Minorities, and the Handicapped in Science and Technology. Includes a bibliography.

[Shipping list no.: 90-109-P; (December 1989)]

 

Blacks in Science and Related Disciplines.

LC 33.10:89-9 (1989) Middleton Documents

 

Bibliography of Afro-American scientists and minorities in sciences. History of Afro-American scientists and minorities in sciences. A report prepared by the U.S. Library of Congress, Science Reference Section, Science and Technology Division.

[LC Science Tracer Bullet, TB 89-9 (December 1989)]

 

Choose a Career on the Science Frontier.

HE 20.3452:C 18 (1989) Middleton Documents

 

Subtitled: New Face of Science and Engineering, Final Report. Survey of education and employment statistics for women, minorities and handicapped in U.S. sciences and engineering. Published by the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Institute of General Medical Sciences. Includes a bibliography.

[NIH publication ; no. 89-3009; Shipping list no.: 89-409-P; (April 1989)]

 

Legacy to Tomorrow.

NS 1.2:L 52 (1988) Middleton Documents

 

Registry of scholarships and fellowships for higher education for minorities and women in U.S. higher education. Register of the Minority Graduate Fellowship Program. National Science Foundation, Directorate for Science and Engineering Education, Division of Research Career Development, Minority Graduate Fellowship Program. Includes bibliography.

[Shipping list no.: 88-755-P; NSF 88-49; (November 1988)]

 

Changing America : The New Face of Science and Engineering : Interim Report.

Y 3.W 84/3:2 Am 3 (1988) Middleton Documents

 

Survey of education and employment statistics for women, minorities and handicapped in U.S. sciences and engineering. Published by the Task Force on Women, Minorities, and the Handicapped in Science and Technology. Includes a bibliography.

[Shipping list no.: 88-751-P; (September 1988)]

 

Women, Minorities, and the Disabled in Science and Technology.

Y 4.Sci 2:100/134 Middleton Documents
Middleton Documents (GPO Microfiche)

 

Employment statistics and involvement of women, minorities and handicapped in the sciences. Testimony given at the hearing before the Subcommittee on Science, Research, and Technology of the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology, House of Representatives, One Hundredth Congress, second session, June 28, 1988. Includes bibliographical references.

[Shipping list no.: 89-3-P; (No. 134)]

 

Blacks in Science and Related Disciplines.

LC 33.10:85-5 (1985) Middleton Documents

 

Bibliography of Afro-American scientists and minorities in sciences. History of Afro-American scientists and minorities in sciences. A report prepared by the U.S. Library of Congress, Science Reference Section, Science and Technology Division.

[LC Science Tracer Bullet, TB 85-5 (June 1985), Shipping list no. 85-980-P]

 

Increasing Science Achievements for Disadvantaged Students.

ED 1.310/2: 253623 (1985) Middleton Documents (GPO Microfiche)

 

Study of education programs to encourage minority and women involvement in sciences. Prepared by ERIC Clearinghouse on Urban Education. United States National Institute of Education funding from the National Institute of Education, under contract no. 400-82-0012. Includes bibliography.

[ERIC/CUE digest ; no. 25; (February 1985)]

 

Minority Females in High School Mathematics and Science.

ED 1.310/2: 231611 (1982) Middleton Documents
ED 1.310/2: 231611 (1982) Middleton Documents (GPO Microfiche)

 

Survey of secondary education and employment statistics for women, minorities and handicapped in U.S. sciences and engineering. Supported by the National Institute of Education under grant no. NIE-G-79-0110 to the Wisconsin Center for Education Research. Includes a bibliography. [ED231611; (December, 1982)]

Symposium on Minorities and Women in Science and Technology : A Report.

Y 4.Sci 2:97/AA (1982) Middleton Documents

 

Report on involvement of women in science and technology and the state of minorities in technological fields. Prepared by the Subcommittee on Science, Research, and Technology, transmitted to the Committee on Science and Technology, U.S. House of Representatives, Ninety-seventh Congress, Second Session. [Serial AA; July 1982]

Women and Minorities in Science : Strategies for Increasing Participation.

Q 130 W65 1982 Middleton

 

Prepared by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS selected symposium ; 66), based on a symposium held at the 1980 AAAS national annual meeting in San Francisco, California, January 3-8, 1980. Statistics and surveys of minority and women involvement in the sciences and engineering for the United States. Includes bibliographical references.

Women and Minorities in Science and Engineering, An Update.

NS 1.49: Middleton Documents 

 

Statistical updates from the National Science Foundation on women and minority scientists and engineers in the United States. Preceded five years earlier by a publication with identical title that resulted in passage of the 1981 law. Published as required by the 1981 National Science Foundation Authorization Act (Public Law 96-516).

Minorities In Science : The Challenge For Change In Biomedicine.

R 693 M56 1977b Middleton

 

Minority and women education opportunities in biomedicine and medicine in the United States. Sections covering medical education, higher education for minorities and women, and minorities in science and medicine. Includes bibliographical references.

Biographies (General)
Directories | Statistics and Reports | Biographies (General) | Biographies (African-Americans in Sciences) | Proposals | Curriculum Materials | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

American Men and Women of Science.

(formerly called: American Men of Science.)
Q 141 A47 1986 Current editions in Middleton Reference and Chemistry Reference

 

This is the primary "Who's Who" of science but is limited to scientists who were alive and working at the time of publication. Included: basic biography, positions, awards, research specialties, and addresses.

Asimov's Biographical Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.

Q 141 A74 1982 Chemistry Reference

 

1,510 biographies from ancient to modern times, arranged chronologically. List of persons covered is in front; subject index in back.

McGraw-Hill Modern Scientists and Engineers.

Q 141 M15 1980 Chemistry Reference

 

1,100 winners of prestigious international wards since the 1920's, with topical and analytical indexes and cross references.

Biographies (African-Americans in Sciences)
Directories | Statistics and Reports | Biographies (General) | Biographies (African-Americans in Sciences) | Proposals | Curriculum Materials | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

African American Contributions to Science and Engineering.

NAS 1.2:AF 4 (1992) Middleton Documents

 

Listing of U.S. Afro-American scientists and engineers prepared by National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Lewis Research Center, report no. 92-0498-P [Jan. 92].

Blacks in Science and Medicine.

Q 141 B58 1990 Middleton Reference (Non-Circulating)
Q 141 B58 1990 Hill Rare Collection, Mcilhenny Reference
(Non-Circulating: For use in Hill Memorial Library only)

 

Biography of Afro-American scientists and physicians. Includes bibliographical references.

Blacks, Science, and American Education.

Q 149 U5 B57 1989 Middleton

 

History of education of Afro-American scientists in the United States. Teaching and study of U.S. science education. Includes bibliographical references

The Faces of Science: African-Americans in the Sciences

Profiles of African American scientists, engineers, and inventors who have contributed to the development of chemistry, biochemistry, physics, mathematics, and medicine, past and present.

Higher Education Opportunities for Minorities and Women, Annotated Selections. 

ED 1.42: <1985-86-> Middleton Documents

Annual statistics for higher education opportunities of minorities and women in the United States. Selected list of postsecondary education opportunities for minorities and women scholarships. Published by the U.S. Dept. of Education, Assistant Secretary for Postsecondary Education, Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary.

Legacy to Tomorrow.

NS 1.2:L 52 (1988) Middleton Documents

 

Register of scholarships, fellowships and research funding for minority science involvement in the U.S. Prepared by the National Science Foundation, Directorate for Science and Engineering Education, Division of Research Career Development, Minority Graduate Fellowship Program.

[Shipping list no.: 88-755-P, NSF 88-49 (November 1988)]

 

Twice as Less : Black English and the Performance of Black Students in Mathematics and Science.

PE 3102 N42 O77 1987 Middleton

 

Study of mathematics and English language as measure of education standards, Index of U.S. scientists and mathematicians. Includes indexes.

Black Scientists, White Society, and Colorless Science : A Study of Universalism in American Science.

Q 149 U5 P43 1985 Middleton

 

Sociological study of social aspects of Afro-American scientists in the United States. Includes index and bibliography.

A Guide to Information on Black Scientists and Inventors.

Z 1361 .N39 B554 Middleton Reference (Gov Docs Ref) (Non-Circulating)
[Shelved in Patent Reference]

 

Bibliography of Afro-American scientists and inventors in the United States. Prepared by the Black Studies and Biography Divisions, Martin Luther King Memorial Library, District of Columbia Public Library.

Blacks in Science : Ancient and Modern.

Q 128 A47 B53 1983 Middleton

 

History of Afro-American scientists. History of African science. Originally published as articles in Journal of African Civilizations, April & November 1983 issues (vol. 5, nos. 1 & 2). Includes bibliography.

Black Contributors to Science and Energy Technology.

E 1.25:0035 (1979) Middleton Documents

 

Historical accounts of Afro-American inventors and inventors. Prepared by the Department of Energy, Office of Public Affairs.

[Report no. DOE/OPA-0035]

 

Blacks in Science : Astrophysicist to Zoologist.

Q 141 C23 1977 Middleton

 

Biographies of American Black scientists and inventors. Includes bibliographies and index.

Women and Minorities in Science and Engineering.

NS 1.2:W 84/2 (1977) Middleton Documents

 

National Science Foundation employment data, salaries, pensions information surveys in engineering and sciences fields for women and minorities in the United States. Part of the series: NSF 77-304.

Biographies of Afro-American Scientists.

Q 141 A46 1975 Middleton Reference (Non-Circulating)

 

Biographies of American Black scientists and inventors. Includes illustrations and bibliographies.

Contents:
Ernest E. Just  Cell Physiologist
Garrett Augustus Morgan: Big Chief Mason  Ingenious American
George Washington Carver  Agricultural Scientist
Benjamin Banneker  Black Astronomer
Percy L. Julian  Soybean Chemist
Granville T. Woods  Railway Communications Wizard
Charles Richard Drew  Blood Plasma Pioneer
Charles Henry Turner  Scientist, Teacher, Author, Humanitarian
Matthew A. Henson  Famous Explorer
Leon Roddy  Spider Man
Elijah McCoy  Inventor
Daniel Hale Williams  Pioneer Heart Surgeon

Negroes in Science: Natural Science Doctorates, 1876-1969.

Q 149 U5 J38 1971 Middleton

 

Historical listing of Ph.D. awarded to U.S. Afro-American scientists. Includes bibliographical references.

The Negro in Science.

Q 171 M312 1955 Middleton

 

Dated material. Biographies and historical descriptions of Afro-American scientists. Includes illustrations and bibliographies.

Applications for Proposals
Directories | Statistics and Reports | Biographies (General) | Biographies (African-Americans in Sciences) | Proposals | Curriculum Materials | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

Minority Science Improvement Program. Guide For the Preparation of Applications: Guide for the Preparation Of Applications.

ED 1.8: M 66/3/ Middleton Documents (GPO Microfiche)
ED 1.8: M 66/3/ Middleton Documents

 

Description of guidelines for preparing applications for federal aid to higher education for minorities and women in U.S. higher education. Preparing applications for education grants, for the study and teaching of science education. [OMB no. 1840-0109; Ed form 0007]

Minority Science Improvement Program : Guide for the Preparation of Proposals for Fiscal Year ... (latest year: 1993)

ED 1.8: M 66/2/ (1993) Middleton Documents

 

Description of U.S. Federal aid to higher education for minorities in sciences. Published by Department of Education, Office of Postsecondary Education, Division of Higher Education Incentive Programs. Annual series began in 1980.

[ED form 0007; OMB no. 1840-0109]

 

Curriculum Materials
Directories | Statistics and Reports | Biographies (General) | Biographies (African-Americans in Sciences) | Proposals | Curriculum Materials | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

Black Pioneers of Science and Invention.

On Order ACL4123 Middleton Temporary Control On Order

 

Juvenile literature. Traces the lives of black scientists and inventors who have made significant contributions in the various fields of science and industry. Bibliography, illustrations and portraits.

Fourth Grade Curriculum : George Washington Carver National Monument.

I 29.2:G 29/4 Middleton Documents

 

Primary education curricula. Elementary education instruction material for history of African-American scientist George Washington Carver (1864?-1943). Prepared by the United States National Park Service, George Washington Carver National Monument (Newton County, Mo.). Includes bibliographical references. [Shipping list no.: 91-0722-P]

Indexes
Directories | Statistics and Reports | Biographies (General) | Biographies (African-Americans in Sciences) | Proposals | Curriculum Materials | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

  • Chemical Abstracts.

  • 1907 -
    Shelved in Reference Stacks; newest issues on Index Table.

     

    The premier indexing source for chemical, biochemical, and chemical engineering literature, covering over 12,000 journals and conferences, as well as technical reports, dissertations, books, and patents. There are two basic parts: the weekly abstracts issues, arranged by topics (each issue contains its own indexes), and cumulative semiannual indexes, offering access by chemical substances name, formula, general subject, and author. There are also Collective Indexes covering 10 - or 5 - year periods. Use the printed flyers available in the Library to learn the basics of searching the printed indexes.

    Other parts of CA to know about:

  • Index Guide.
  •  

    Annual thesaurus providing subject headings and controlled vocabulary, cross-references and indexing notes for use with CA's Chemical Substance and General Subject indexes. Located on the Index Table.

  • Author Names
  •  

    The Author Indexes link names of authors, coauthors, inventors, and assignees to the abstract numbers of documents that they have produced. Since corporations are frequently listed as assignees of patent rights, these indexes include corporate as well as personal names.

    The names are listed alphabetical by last name. When the last names are identical, the order is alphabetical by first initial and second initial (NOT alphabetically by the letters in the first name). Abstract numbers and document titles are linked only to the first listed author of coauthored papers. Other author names are cross-referenced to the name of the first author.

    Note also that the subheading: -- Women and -- Minorities occur under headings of sciences, for example:

    The keyword search (k) is also useful as an alternative search method, to find items lacking in-depth subject headings:
    Chemical Abstracts is available online after 1967.
    Available through Dialog/STN or by full-service searches.

    ONLINE CATALOG
    Directories | Statistics and Reports | Biographies (General) | Biographies (African-Americans in Sciences) | Proposals | Curriculum Materials | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

    Use ONLINE CATALOG to locate books and journals held by the LSU Libraries on this topic. To search by subject, use established Library of Congress Subject Headings from the red volumes near the terminals. Use the subject search field. Relevant general headings include:

    Note also that the subheading: -- Women and -- Minorities occur under headings of sciences,

    for example:

    The keyword search is also useful as an alternative search method, to find items lacking in-depth subject headings: Similar searches in the periodical index database of the ONLINE CATALOG will help locate journal articles on these topics.


    For questions or comments about this page, please contact
    William Armstrong


    LSU Chemistry Resources
    301 Virginia Rice Williams Hall (Third Floor)
    LSU Libraries | Louisiana State University
    Baton Rouge, LA 70803-3100
    Tele: (225) 578-2530   Fax: (225) 578-2760
    URL: http://www.lib.lsu.edu/sci/chem/guides/srs119.html
    Copyright © 1999 LSU Libraries
    Last Updated: 
    Wednesday, 29-Aug-2007 16:29:16 CDT
    LSU Libraries Chemistry Resources