|
|
|
Food science and technology is concerned with all aspects of food -- the chemical and physical properties of food and its constituents, the processing and production of food, and the packaging and marketing of food. Information sources in food science are dispersed among the Chemistry, Middleton and Veterinary Medicine Libraries. The following guides and references serve as an introduction to information sources in the field.
Guides
Guides | Dictionaries
| Encyclopedias | Directories
| Organizations | Journals
| Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
A guide to the literature of nutrition and food science.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts. v.1, 1969 -
Monthly abstracting service provides access to 1800 + journals, patents, books, and other publications in food science and technology. International in scope.
Foodsadlibra. 1974 -
Online database of literature relating to food industry, including marketing, packaging, and retailing. Available through Dialog.
Keyguide to Information Sources in Food Science and Technology.
1985
Sydney Green.
Source Book of Flavors. 1981
Henry Heath, ed.
Food Products Formulary. 1974 -
Stephan L. Komarik, ed.
Foods and Food Production Encyclopedia. 1982
Douglas Considine, ed.
Foods and Nutrition Encyclopedia. 1983
Ensminger, et al.
Food Processing -- Guide & Directory. (July issue of each year)
Food Professional's Guide: The James Beard Foundation Directory of People, Products, and Services. 1900
Association of Dressing and Sauces.
5775 Peachtree-Dunwoody Drive
Suite 500D
Atlanta, Georgia 30342
(404) 252-3663
Food Marketing Institute.
211 N. LaSalle Street
Chicago, Illinois 60601
Society for the Advancement of Food Service Research.
P.O. Box 2437
Lake Placid, Florida 33852
(813) 465-7090
The following list of journals is a selection of titles in the area of food science and technology. Most titles are indexed in Food Science and Technology Abstracts.
Biotechnology Progress. v.1, 1985 -
Canadian Institute of Food Science and Technology. (Journal). v.16, 1983 -
Cereal Chemistry. v.19, 1942 -
Cereal Foods World. v.19, 1974 -
Chilton's Food Engineering. v.49, 1977 -
Cornell Hotel & Restaurant Administration Quarterly. 1960
-
TX 901 C67
CRC Critical Reviews in Food Science & Nutrition. v. , 1970 -
Ecology of Food & Nutrition. v.1, 1972 -
Food Chemistry. v.1, 1976 -
Food Processing. v.39, 1978 -
Food Structure. v.1, 1982 -
Previous title: Food Microstructure.
Food Technology. v.1, 1947 -
Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry. v.1, 1953 -
Journal of Environmental Science and Health, Part B: Pesticides, Food Contaminants, and Agricultural Wastes. v.11, 1976 -
Journal of Food Biochemistry. v.1, 1977 -
Journal of Food Process Engineering. v.1, 1977 -
Journal of Food Processing & Preservation. v.1, 1977 -
Journal of Food Protection. v.1, 1937/38 -
Journal of Food Quality. v.1, 1977 -
Journal of Food Science. v.1, 1936 -
Journal of the Science of Food and Agriculture. v.1, 1950 -
Prepared Foods. v.151, 1982 -
Progress in Food & Nutrition Science. v.1, 1975 -
Monthly abstracting service provides access to more than 1,600 journals in 40 languages, patents, books, conference proceedings, legislative papers, and other publications in food science and technology. International in scope. Food Science and Technology Abstracts represents the definitive food information source and is useful for food scientists/technologists, product development specialists, researchers, teachers, librarians, and information brokers.
The premier indexing source for chemical, biochemical, and chemical engineering literature, covering over 12,000 journals and confernces, as well as technical reports, dissertations, books, and patents. There are two basic parts: the weekly abstracts issues, arranged by topics (each issue contains its own indexes), and cumulative semiannual indexes, offering access by chemical substances name, formula, general subject, and author. There are also Collective Indexes covering 10 - or 5 - year periods. Use the printed flyers available in the Library to learn the basics of searching the printed indexes.
Other parts of CA to know about:
Chemical Abstracts is available online after 1967. Available through Dialog/STN or by full-service searches.
ONLINE CATALOG
Guides | Dictionaries
| Encyclopedias | Directories
| Organizations | Journals
| Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Use ONLINE CATALOG to locate books and journals held by the LSU Libraries on this topic. To search by subject, use established Library of Congress Subject Headings from the red volumes near the terminals. Use the subject search field. Relevant general headings include:
Note also that the subheading: -- Analysis occurs under names for substances or classes of compounds,
The keyword search is also useful as an alternative search method, to find items lacking in-depth subject headings:
Similar searches in the periodical index of the ONLINE CATALOG will help locate journal articles on these topics.