LSU Libraries

Chemistry Resources



 
Subject Guide for
SCIENCE BIOGRAPHY

Guide to Reference Resources

Directories -- General
Directories - General | General Sources - Current and Retrospective | Biographies by Discipline | Bibliographies | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

American Men and Women of Science. 19th ed.(1995/96)
(New York, NY: Bowker).

Q 141 A47 19th ed.(1995/96) Middleton Library Reference (Non-Circulating)
Q 141 A47 14th ed.(1979) Chemistry Resources Reference (Non-Circulating)


This is the primary Who's Who of science but is limited to scientists who were alive and working at the time of publication. Included: basic biography, positions, awards, research specialties, and addresses. Formerly published as American Men of Science.

Current Contents Address Directory -- Science and Technology. 1987
Institute for Scientific Information. (Philadelphia, PA: Institute for Scientific Information)

Q 145 C86 1985 ed. Chemistry Resources Reference (Non-Circulating)


Directory information containing current address.

Who's Who in Science in Europe: A Biographical Guide in Science, Technology, Agriculture, and Medicine. 1984
(Harlow, Essex : Longman ; Detroit, MI, USA : Distributed by Gale Research Co.), 1984.

Q 141 W588 1984 Middleton Library


This is the primary Who's Who of science but is limited to scientists who were alive and working at the time of publication. Included: basic biography, positions, awards, research specialties, and addresses.

World of Learning. 1947 to date
(London : Allen & Unwin), 1947-

AS 2 W6 46th 1996 Middleton Library Reference (Non-Circulating)
AS 2 W6 Hill Memorial Library -- Louisiana Collection (Non-Circulating)


Published in London by Europa Publications, 1948-. First edition lacks numeric and chronological designations. Learned institutions and societies directories.

General Sources -- Current and Retrospective
Directories - General | General Sources - Current and Retrospective | Biographies by Discipline | Bibliographies | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

Asimov's Biographical Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
Issac Asimov. (Garden City, N.Y. : Doubleday), 1982.

Q 141 A74 1982 Chemistry Resources Reference (Non-Circulating)


1,510 biographies from ancient to modern times, arranged chronologically. List of persons covered is in front; subject index in back.

Biographical Dictionary of American Science: 17th through 19th Centuries.
Clark A. Elliott. (Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press), 1979.

Q 141 E37 (1979) Middleton Library Reference (Non-Circulating)


Entries on 600 scientists born between 1606 and 1867. "A retrospective companion to American Men of Science."

Biographical Memoirs of Fellows of the Royal Society of London. 1955 to date.
Royal Society (Great Britain). (London: Royal Society (Great Britain)

Q 41 R9 v.1(1955)-v.39(1994); supplement: v.39(1994):microfiche Middleton Library


Biographical Memoirs of Fellows of the National Academy of Sciences. 1877 to date.
National Academy of Sciences (U.S.) (Washington, D.C.: National Academy of Sciences), 1877-

Q 41 N2 v.2(1886)-v.8(1913),v.12(1929)-v.54(1983) Middleton Library
Indexes: v.1/35(1877/1961) bound with v.36 Middleton Library


Biography Master Index.

Dialog File

(online database file)

This DIALOG database indexes over 700 biographical directories. Ask a librarian about searches of this online database.

Biographical Dictionary of Scientists. 4th ed., 1994
Roy Porter, Consultant Editor. (New York, NY : Oxford University Press), 1994.

Q 141 B528 4th ed., 1994 Middleton Library Reference (Non-Circulating)
Q 141 B528 3rd ed., 1982 Middleton Library


Deceased scientists; includes a subject index. The sketches are written in narrative style with few technical terms and include a brief bibliography. There are numerous cross-references and an appendix, which contains names of individuals mentioned in the biographies but do not have their own sketch. Includes a chronological list of the scientist's birth and death dates.

Great Engineers and Pioneers in Technology, Volume 1: From Antiquity through the Industrial Revolution. 1981
Roland Turner and Steven L. Goulden, Editors: Assistant Editor, Barbara Sheridan. (New York, NY : St. Martin's Press), 1981-

TA 139 G7 1981 vol.1 Middleton Library Reference (Non-Circulating)


Dictionary of Scientific Biography. 1970-1980.
Charles Coulston Gillispie, editor-in-chief. (New York, NY: Scribner), [1970-1980].

Q 141 D5 1980 vol.1-16 Middleton Library Reference Table 1 (Non-Circulating)


5,000 biographies of deceased scientists. A reference for the history of science. The biographical articles contain scholarly, authoritative accounts of the professional lives of major and minor scientists throughout history. The articles contain information about individual's personal life, discussion of main scientific ideas and achievements, and bibliographic references. The focus of the dictionary is on mathematics, astronomy, physics, chemistry, biology, and earth sciences. "Published under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies." Vol. 15: Supplement. Vol. 16: Index. Includes bibliographies.

McGraw-Hill Modern Scientists and Engineers. 1980.
(New York , NY: McGraw-Hill), 1980.

Q 141 M15 1980 vol.1-3 Middleton Library Reference (Non-Circulating)


1,100 winners of prestigious international wards since the 1920's, with topical and analytical indexes and cross references.

Prominent Scientists: An Index to Collective Biographies. 1985
Paul A. Pelletier. (New York, NY : Neal-Schuman), 1980.

Q 141 P398 1980 Middleton Library Reference (Non-Circulating)


Who's Who of Nobel Prize Winners, 1901-1990 2nd ed., 1991
Edited by Bernard S. Schlessinger and June H. Schlessinger ; Rashelle S. Karp, Louise Sherby, and Parvin Kujoory, associate editors ; foreword by Wilhelm Odelberg. (Phoenix, AZ. : Oryx Press), 1991.

AS 911 N9 W53 1991 Middleton Library Reference (Non-Circulating)


Arranged by prize category, then chronologically.

World Who's Who in Science: A Biographical Dictionary of Notable Scientists From Antiquity to the Present. 1st (1968)
Allen G. Debus. (Chicago, IL: Marquis-Who's Who, Incorporated.),

Q 145 W6 1st (1968) Middleton Library Reference (Non-Circulating)


Contains biographical data on about 30,000 notable scientists from antiquity to the 1960's. The brief entries are arranged alphabetically -- from Hans Gunther Aach to Antoni Zygmund -- and were compiled from historical sources and from information supplied by the scientists who were still living. Each entry contains information on nationality, family, education, and his/her professional interests, positions, major publications, and other achievements.

Biographies by Discipline
Directories - General | General Sources - Current and Retrospective | Biographies by Discipline | Bibliographies | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

ChemistryUp
Chemistry | Life Sciences | Engineering & Technology | Geosciences | Mathematics | Physics | Astronomy

American Chemists and Chemical Engineers. 1976
Wyndham D. Miles, editor. (Washington, D.C. : American Chemical Society), 1976.

QD 21 A43 Chemistry Resources Stacks
Entries have bibliographies of obituaries, and other biographical pieces. 


Directory of Graduate Research. 1996

American Chemical Society. Committee on Professional Training. (Washington, D.C.: American Chemical Society)
Z 5525 U5 A6 1996 Chemistry Resources Reference (Non-Circulating)
Z 5525 U5 A6 1955-1995 Chemistry Resources Stacks


"Faculties, publications and doctoral theses in departments or divisions of chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry and pharmaceutical and/or medicinal chemistry at universities in the United States and Canada." "Prepared by the Committee on Professional Training.

Discovery of the Elements. 7th ed., 1968
Mary Elvira Weeks; Henry M. Leicester. Illustrations collected by F. B. Dains. (Easton, Pa.:: Journal of Chemical Education), 1968.

QD 466 W4 1968 Chemistry Resources Stacks


Contains standard accounts of individuals and events involved in the gradual discovery of elements. Begins with a chapter on Elements Known to the Ancient World (gold, silver, copper, iron, etc.) and continues the story up to the Modern Alchemy of 20th century atom accelerators. Includes a list of 104 chemical elements (of the 110 currently known, as of November, 1994), giving their symbols, atomic numbers, and atomic weights, a chronology of element discovery from 1524 to 1964, and detailed indexes of names and subjects. Includes illustrations.

Great Chemists. 1961
Farber, Eduard Farber. (New York, NY: Interscience Publishers), 1961.

QD 21 F35 Chemistry Resources Stacks


One hundred extended articles on the most important chemists in history.

History of Chemistry. 1961-65.
J.R. (James Riddick) Partington. (London, Macmillan; New York, NY: St. Martin's Press), 1961-1965.

QD 11 P28 Chemistry Resources Stacks


A comprehensive and detailed work that details the evolution of chemistry, antiquity to recent developments through the 1960's.

Illustrations; figures; bibliographies; indexes of names and subjects.

The Nobel Prize Winners: Chemistry.

QD 35 N64 1990 Chemistry Reference

3 vols.

Articles summarize each winner's achievements, Nobel lecture, and offer both a primary and secondary bibliography, pointing to other biographical material.

Nobel Prize Winners in Chemistry. 1901-1961.
Eduard Farber. (London, New York: Abelard-Schuman ), 1963.

QD 21 F37 1963 Chemistry Resources Reference (Non-Circulating)


Entries include biographical sketch, description of work, and a section on the historical significance thereof.

J.C. Poggendorff's Biografisch-Literisches Handworterbuch der Exakten Naturwissenschaften. 1863 -
J. C. (Johann Christian) Poggendorff. (Leipzig, J.A. Barth, 1863-1904: Leipzig / Berlin, Verlag Chemie, G.M.B.H.), 1926-

Z 7404 P74 Middleton Library Stacks
v.1-5. v.6:pt.1-4. v.7a:pt.1-3, v.7a:pt.4:sec.1-2 v.7a:sup.:sec.1-5. v.7b:pt.1-7. v.7b:pt.8:sec.1-3


Classic biographical bibliography sources, each part covering particular time periods and nationalities.

In German.
Torchbearers of Chemistry: Portraits and Brief Biographies of Scientists Who Have Contributed to the Making of Modern Chemistry. 1949
Henry Monmouth Smith. (New York, Academic Press), 1949.
QD 21 S55 1949 Middleton Reference Stacks


Portraits of 250 famous chemists of the past, with brief biographical profiles.

Professional Directory. 1987
American Institute of Chemists. (Bethesda, MD : [American Institute of Chemists]), 1987.

QD 1 A63 1987 Chemistry Resources Reference (Non-Circulating)


Directory of U.S. chemists. Pages 215-259 contain additional information about the Institute. Map on p. 4 of cover.

Life SciencesUp
Chemistry | Life Sciences | Engineering & Technology | Geosciences | Mathematics | Physics | Astronomy

The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists: Biologists. 1984
David Abbott, General Editor. (New York, NY : P. Bedrick Books), 1984.

QH 26 B54 1984 Middleton Library Stacks
QH 26 B54 1984 Hill Library McIlhenny Reference Collection (Non-Circulating)


An introductory work most suitable for beginning students and general readers. The volume begins with a five- or six-page Historical Introduction on biology. Following are brief, alphabetically arranged biographical sketches of important figures of important figures. The volume includes a variety of diagrams, a glossary, and an index.

The Biological Sciences in the Twentieth Century. 1989
Merriley Borell. (New York : Scribner), 1989.

QH 305 B67 1989 Middleton Library Stacks


Portrays the general transformation of 20th-century biology from the organism-centered field observations of the naturalist to the molecule-oriented analyses of the laboratory investigator. Illustrations of individuals, organisms. biological and chemical structures, important institutions and field locations. Organized in three sections: the rise of the experimental approach; the evolving content of the life sciences; medical and social impact of new biological knowledge. Contains a Guide to Further Reading and index.

A History of Life Sciences. 1979, 1994
Lois N. Magner. (New York : Marcel Dekker), 1994.

QH 305 M22 1994 Middleton Library Stacks
QH 305 M22 1979 Middleton Library Stacks


Presents the main themes of biological science and speculation as they have developed from the ancient world to the 20th century. Includes chapters on historical periods, such as ancient Greece and the Renaissance, and on subjects such as cell theory, microbiology, evolution, and genetics. The approach is largely biographical; some personal information and illustrations of the major figures along with summaries of their scientific contributions. Biological notes and reference lists follow each chapter. Index.

Life Science in the Twentieth Century. 1978

Traces the development and growth of biology from 1890 to 1965 by focusing on the transformations that occurred during this period in embryology, heredity, evolution, general physiology, biochemistry, and molecular biology. This interpretative history examines the factors involved in the transition from the largely descriptive and speculative biology of the late nineteenth century to the more experimental and quantitative biology of the mid-20th century. Illustrations; drawings; index.

Poggendorff's Biografisch-Literisches Handworterbuch der Exakten Naturwissenschaften. 1863 -

Z 7404 P74 vol.1-7b Middleton Library Stacks


Classic biographical bibliography sources, each part covering particular time periods and nationalities.

In German.


Engineering and TechnologyUp
Chemistry | Life Sciences | Engineering & Technology | Geosciences | Mathematics | Physics | Astronomy

The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists: Engineers and Inventors. 1986
David Abbott, General Editor. (New York, NY : P. Bedrick Books), 1986.

TA 139 B56 1986 Middleton Library Stacks


An introductory work about engineering and inventing is most suitable for beginning students and general readers. The volume begins with a five- or six-page Historical Introduction on engineering and inventions. Following are brief, alphabetically arranged biographical sketches of important figures of important figures. The volume includes a variety of diagrams, a glossary, and an index.

Who's Who in Electronics. 7th ed. 1995
North American ed. (Woodbridge, CT. : Research Publications), 1995.

T 1 W46 7th ed. 1995 Middleton Library Reference (Non-Circulating)


Who's Who in Engineering. (American Association of Engineering Societies). 5th ed. 1982
(New York, American Association of Engineering Societies), 1977-

TA 139 E37 5th ed. 1982 Middleton Library Reference Table 1(Non-Circulating)


GeosciencesUp
Chemistry | Life Sciences | Engineering & Technology | Geosciences | Mathematics | Physics | Astronomy

The Birth and Development of the Geological Sciences. 1954
Frank Dawson Adams. (New York : Dover Publications), [1954, c1938]

QE 11 A3 1954 Middleton Library Stacks


The scholarly study deals with geological thought in the ancient world, the Middle Ages, and the Renaissance. Survey of the succession of attitudes concerning geological issues from antiquity through the 1930s. Contains illustrations, geological diagrams, bibliographical notes, and index.

Membership Directory. 1982
Geological Society of America. (Boulder, CO : The Society [Geological Society of America.]), 1978-

QE 1 G2171 1982 Middleton Library Stacks


Directory of Geoscience Departments, United States and Canada. 1954 to date
J. V. Howell and A. I. Levorsen. (Washington, D.C.: American Geological Institute), 1957.

QE 23 H6 1957 Middleton Library Stacks


A History of Geology. 1991
Gabriel Gohau ; revised and translated by Albert V. Carozzi and Marguerite Carozzi. (New Brunwick : Rutgers University Press), 1991.

QE 11 G64 1991 Middleton Library Stacks


Brief history of geology. Surveys the evolution of geological ideas from antiquity to the late twentieth century, emphasizing the leading thinkers, their observations of geological features, and the theories they developed to explain them. Primary and secondary sources, illustrations, appendix with geologic table, bibliographic notes, glossary, index of names.

MathematicsUp
Chemistry | Life Sciences | Engineering & Technology | Geosciences | Mathematics | Physics | Astronomy

The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists: Mathematicians. 1986
David Abbott, General Editor. (New York, NY : P. Bedrick Books), 1986.

QA 28 B54 1986 Middleton Library Reference (Non-Circulating)


An introductory work on mathematicians. The volume begins with a five- or six-page Historical Introduction on mathematics. Following are brief, alphabetically arranged biographical sketches of important figures of important figures. The volume includes a variety of diagrams, a glossary, and an index.

Black Mathematicians and Their Works. 1980
Edited by Virginia K. Newell, Joella H. Gipson, L. Waldo Rich, and Beuregard Stubblefield. (Ardmore, PA: Dorrance & Co.), 1980.

Reprints of research papers by black American mathematicians and mathematics educators. Includes biographical data on sixty-two black holders of doctoral degrees. Provides information on their lives and list of publications. Appendices; illustrations; bibliography.

Mathematical Sciences Professional Directory.
(American Mathematical Society), 1987.

QA 1 M765 Middleton Library Stacks


Women of Mathematics: A Bibliographic Sourcebook. 1987
Edited by Louise S. Grinstein and Paul J. Campbell. (New York, NY : Greenwood Press), 1987.

QA 28 W66 1987 Middleton Library Stacks


Contains 45 biographical accounts of women mathematicians, covering each individual's life, work, and major mathematical achievements. Include a list of mathematician's publications, with references to additional bibliographical data. Appendices; indexes.

World Directory of Mathematicians. 1974 to date.
International Mathematical Union. Tata Institute of Fundamental Research. School of Mathematics. (Bombay : School of Mathematics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research), 1982.

QA 30 W6 1961, 1970, 1979, 1982 Middleton Library Stacks


PhysicsUp
Chemistry | Life Sciences | Engineering & Technology | Geosciences | Mathematics | Physics | Astronomy

The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists: Physicists. 1984
David Abbott, General Editor. (New York, NY : P. Bedrick Books), 1984.

QC 15 B56 1984 Middleton Library Reference (Non-Circulating)


An introductory work on physicists is suitable for beginning students and general readers. The volume begins with a five- or six-page Historical Introduction on physics. Following are brief, alphabetically arranged biographical sketches of important figures of important figures in physics. The volume includes a variety of diagrams, a glossary, and an index.

A History of Physics. 1983
Isaac Asimov. (New York, NY : Walker) , 1983.

QC 23 A8 1983 Middleton Library Stacks


Includes index. Bibliography.

History of Physics. 1950
Laue, Max von Laue. Translated by Ralph Oesper. (New York, NY: Academic Press), 1950.

QC 7 L24 1950 Midleton Library Stacks


A nonmathematical account of the development of the development of physical theories and observational and experimental techniques from the ancient Greeks through 1925. Two-thirds devoted to the 19th and 20th centuries. Chapters organized by mechanics, light, heat, electricity and magnetism, and sound. Includes a section on the evolution of physical laboratories from the 17th to the early 20th century. Index.

AstronomyUp
Chemistry | Life Sciences | Engineering & Technology | Geosciences | Mathematics | Physics | Astronomy

The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists: Astronomers. 1984
David Abbott, General Editor. (New York : P. Bedrick Books : Distributed in the USA by Harper & Row), 1984.

QB 35 B56 1984b Middleton Library Reference (Non-Circulating)


An introductory work on astronomers for beginning students and general readers. The volume begins with a five- or six-page Historical Introduction on astronomy. Following are brief, alphabetically arranged biographical sketches of important figures of important figures in astronomy. The volume includes a variety of diagrams, a glossary, and an index.

Darkness at Night: A Riddle of the Universe. 1987
Edward Robert Harrison. (Cambridge, MA. : Harvard University Press), 1987.

QB 28 H37 1987 Middleton Library Stacks


A 291-page history of attempts to answer the question, Why is the sky dark at night if there is a practically unlimited number of stars? This riddle, known as the Olber's Paradox, has resisted many ingenious efforts at resolution. The book presents a survey of cosmological ideas related to this issue from the ancient Greeks to Einstein's Theory of Relativity. Written in an accessible style without mathematics. Illustrations; diagrams; bibliographical notes; appendices containing important original papers; index.

The General History of Astronomy.
Michael A. Hoskin, General Editor. (Cambridge [Cambridgeshire] ; New York : Cambridge University Press), 1984-

QB 15 G38 1984 Middleton Library Stacks


Volume 2A: Planetary Astronomy from the Renaissance to the Rise of Astrophysics. Part A: Tycho Brahe to Newton. (1984)

QB 15 G38 1984 v.2: pt.A 1984 Middleton Library Stacks


The history of the descriptive and theoretical astronomy of the solar system from the late 16th century to the late 17th century. Each chapters gives suggestions for further reading and the glossary contains excellent lengthy definitions of technical terms. Illustrations; diagrams; index.

Volume 4A: Astrophysics and Twentieth-Century Astronomy to 1950: Part A. (1984)

QB 15 G38 1984 v.4: pt.A 1984 Middleton Library Stacks


Covers the period from 1850 to 1950. Deals with the era when important innovations in observational techniques helped shift the balance of astronomical research from studies of the positions and motions of the stars and planets to investigations of their physical composition (marking the birth of astrophysics). Includes an appendix listing the dimensions and locations of the world's largest telescopes from 1850 to 1950. Illustrations; diagrams; index.

A History of Astronomy. 1961
Anton Pannekoek. (New York, NY: Interscience Publishers), 1961.

QB 15 P283 1961 Middlton Library Stacks


A good one-volume survey of the development of our astronomical world concept as a manifestation of humanity's growth. The author emphasizes that astronomy, perhaps more so than other natural sciences that developed later and in more isolated segments of society, was for centuries intimately influential in the events of everyday life. Part 1 deals with astronomy in the ancient world, both Eastern and Western; Part 2 deals with the period from the Middle Ages to the end of the eighteenth century. Part 3 deals with developments in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries up to the 1930s. Includes appendices that explain significant diagrams in the history of astronomy. Illustrations; bibliographical notes; detailed index. Translation of De groei van ons wereldbeeld.

Bibliographies.
Directories - General | General Sources - Current and Retrospective | Biographies by Discipline | Bibliographies | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Historical listings of articles and papers written after 1907 can be compiled using the author indexes of Chemical Abstracts, but older papers can be hard to locate. Try these sources:

Catalogue of Scientific Papers. (1800-1900)
Royal Society (Great Britain) (Metuchen, N.J., Scarecrow Reprint Corp.), 1968.

Q 127 G4 R6 Middleton

19 vols. plus 4 vol. subject index.

The best source for locating scholarly papers from the 19th century, compiled by the Royal Society of London. "An [author] index to the titles and dates of scientific papers contained in the transactions of societies, journals, and other periodical works." Reprint of the 1867-1925 ed. Continued by the International Catalogue of Scientific Literature. Contents: v. 1-6. [First series] 1800-1863.--v. 7-8. [Second series] 1864-1873.--v. 9-11. [Third series] 1874-1883.--v. 12. Supplementary volume, 1800-1883.--v. 13-19. Fourth series, 1884-1900.

Z 7403 R8813 vol.1-19 Middleton Library Stacks


Select Bibliography of Chemistry 1492-1892.
Henry Carrington Bolton. (Washington, D.C. : Smithsonian Institution), 1893.

Microprint 25 Middleton Microforms (Non-Circulating)


Covers books published in chemistry up to 1890, divided by broad topic area. Subject but no author index. Two supplements extend coverage to 1902. Published as part of sereis: Smithsonian Miscellaneous Collections ; v. 36. Includes bibliographical references and index. Micro-opaque. (New York : Readex Microprint), 1973 13 cards ; 23 x 15 cm. (Landmarks of Science)

Indexes
Directories - General | General Sources - Current and Retrospective | Biographies by Discipline | Bibliographies | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

  • Chemical Abstracts. 1907 -
  • Shelved in Reference Stacks; newest issues on Index Table.


    The premier indexing source for chemical, biochemical, and chemical engineering literature, covering over 12,000 journals and confernces, as well as technical reports, dissertations, books, and patents. There are two basic parts: the weekly abstracts issues, arranged by topics (each issue contains its own indexes), and cumulative semiannual indexes, offering access by chemical substances name, formula, general subject, and author. There are also Collective Indexes covering 10 - or 5 - year periods. Use the printed flyers available in the Library to learn the basics of searching the printed indexes.

  • General Subject Indexes.

  • Check for the person's name as a subject; prior to 1971, use the Subject Indexes. Obituaries and biographical sketches are often listed there. Located on the Index Table.
  • Subject Indexes (prior to 1971)

  • Check for the person's name as a subject; after 1971, use the General Subject Index. Obituaries and biographical sketches are often listed there. Located on the Index Table.
  • Author Names

  • Search for original publications by authors last name. The Author Indexes link names of authors, coauthors, inventors, and assignees to the abstract numbers of documents that they have produced. Since corporations are frequently listed as assignees of patent rights, these indexes include corporate as well as personal names. Abstract numbers and document titles are linked only to the first listed author of coauthored papers. Other author names are cross-referenced to the name of the first author.

    Chemical Abstracts is available online after 1967. Available through Dialog/STN or by full-service searches.

    Chemisches Zentralblat. 1830-1969.

    Chemistry Stacks


    A German predecessor to Chemical Abstracts. Useful for identifying the 19th century publications (written in German).

    Dissertation Abstracts. 1865 -

    Middleton Reference (in print)
    Library LAN


    This large retrospective database covers Ph.D. dissertations written at U.S. universities all the way back to the Civil War. In the last few years the name of the author's faculty advisor has been included. This is a way to find out where a person (in any discipline) studies, and what their early research was about.

    Science Citation Index. 1961 -

    Q 1 S3435 Middleton Reference
    Library LAN


    This large index lists articles and books from all time periods that have been cited by other authors during the period covered. For instance, if a modern author cites a paper from the 19th century, that citation will be listed under the original author's name in the Citation Index part of SCI. This will refer you to the original citing paper.

    This approach can tell you two things:

  • who's currently involved in work related to the older work in question, and
  • what older papers are considered most important today, i.e., those which are still being cited the most.

  • It's also a good way to identify bibliographic citations for papers and books that predate Chemical Abstracts (material published before 1907).

    ONLINE CATALOG
    Directories - General | General Sources - Current and Retrospective | Biographies by Discipline | Bibliographies | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

  • Biographies.

  • Use ONLINE CATALOG to locate books and journals held by the LSU Libraries on this topic. To search by subject, use established Library of Congress Subject Headings from the red volumes near the terminals. Book-length biographies of chemists are reserved for the most famous of the famous. Search in ONLINE CATALOG using the person's name as a subject or a keyword . Use the subject search field. Relevant general headings include:

    The keyword search is also useful as an alternative search method.
    Linus Pauling
    Science biography


    Similar searches in the periodical index of the ONLINE CATALOG will help locate journal articles on these topics.

    The Biography Collection in the Middleton Library near the Reference Desk contains basic biographical sources such as Who's Who in America. The Chemical Biography lists many general sources. Use ONLINE CATALOG to find full-length biographies and other specific sources.

    Examples:

    Einstein, Albert
    who's who engineering
    physicists biography


    ONLINE CATALOG to locate books and journals held by the LSU Libraries on this topic. To search by subject, use established Library of Congress Subject Headings from the red volumes near the terminals. Use the subject search field. Relevant general headings include:

    The keyword search is also useful as an alternative search method, to find items lacking in-depth subject headings: Similar searches in the periodical index of the ONLINE CATALOG will help locate journal articles on these topics.


    For questions or comments about this page, please contact
    William Armstrong


    Chemistry Resources
    LSU Libraries | Louisiana State University
    Baton Rouge, LA 70803-3100
    Tel (225) 578-8875 | Fax (225) 578-9432
    Copyright © 1999 - 2005 LSU Libraries
    Last Updated: Wednesday, 29-Aug-2007 16:29:15 CDT