LSU Libraries

Chemistry Resources



 
Subject Guide for
CHEMICAL BIOGRAPHY

Guide to Selected Resources

General Science Biographical Sources
General Science Biographical Sources | Chemical Biographical Sources | Other Things to Look For | ONLINE CATALOG

Chemical biography can be divided into two areas: the past (those dead) and the present (those living). This guide offers a list of possible sources for finding biographical information on chemists, with the emphasis on the past. While chemistry has a rich and extensive historical record, biographical information is often limited to brief notes about dates, education, employment, and major accomplishments. Substantial background information is rare, unless the person is very famous.

American Men and Women of Science.

(formerly called: American Men of Science.)
Q 141 A47 1986 Current editions in Middleton Reference, Chemistry Reference.


This is the primary "Who's Who" of science but is limited to scientists who were alive and working at the time of publication. Included: basic biography, positions, awards, research specialties, and addresses.

Asimov's Biographical Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. 1982

Q 141 A74 1982 Chemistry Reference


Biographies of 1,510 significant people in the sciences, from ancient to modern times, arranged chronologically. List of persons covered is in front; subject index in back.

Biographical Dictionary of American Science: 17th through 19th Centuries. 1979

Q 141 E37 Middleton Reference


Entries on 600 American scientists born between 1606 and 1867.

Biographical Dictionary of Scientists. 3rd ed., 1982

Q 141 B528 1982 Middleton Reference


Deceased scientists; includes a subject index. Also published as divisions of scientific disciplines.

Biographical Dictionary of Scientists. Astronomers. 1984

QB 35 B56 1984b Middleton Reference


Biographical Dictionary of Scientists. Biologists. 1984

QH 26 B54 1984 Middleton Reference


Biographical Dictionary of Scientists. Engineers and Inventors. 1984

TA 139 B56 1986 Middleton Reference


Biographical Dictionary of Scientists. Mathematicians. 1986

QA 28 B54 1986 Middleton Reference


Biographical Dictionary of Scientists. Physicists. 1984

QC 15 B56 1984 Middleton Reference


Dictionary of Scientific Biography. 1970.

Q 141 D5 1970 Middleton Reference


Sixteen volume set of 5,000 biographies for deceased scientists. Published by the American Council of Learned Societies.

Concise Dictionary of Scientific Biography. 1981

Q 141 C55 1981 Middleton Reference


Abridged version of the larger Dictionary of Scientific Biography. Biographies of deceased scientists. Published under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies.

McGraw-Hill Modern Scientists and Engineers. 1980.

Q 141 M15 1980 Middleton Reference


1,100 winners of prestigious international wards since the 1920's, with topical and analytical indexes and cross references.

Poggendorff's Biografisch-Literisches Handworterbuch fur Mathematik, Astronomie, Physik mit Geophysik, Chemie, Kristallographie und verwandte Wissensgebiete ... 1863 -

Z 7404 P74 Middleton Stacks


Classic biographical bibliography sources, each part covering particular time periods and nationalities. In German.

Prominent Scientists. 1980

Q 141 P398 Middleton Reference


An index to collective biographies of significant contributions to the sciences.

Who's Who of Nobel Prize Winners. 1991

AS 911 N9 W53 1991 Middleton Reference


Dictionary of Nobel Prize winners arranged by prize category, then chronologically.

Chemical Biographical Sources
General Science Biographical Sources | Chemical Biographical Sources | Other Things to Look For | ONLINE CATALOG

American Chemists and Chemical Engineers. 1976

QD 21 A43 Chemistry Resources Stacks


Entries have bibliographies of obituaries, and other biographical pieces.

Chemists and Chemistry. (Series name)

(Search ONLINE CATALOG for individual call numbers)


Series of volumes dealing with the history of chemistry and biographies of significant contributors to the field, including Jean Baptiste Boussingault, Amedeo Avagadro, Frederick Soddy, and Thomas Beddes. Each volume has a specific topic and separate record in ONLINE CATALOG. There is no series index. Search ONLINE CATALOG using (k= chemists) and search by topic.

Great Chemists. 1961

QD 21 F35 Chemistry Stacks


One hundred extended articles on the most important chemists in history.

The Nobel Lectures: Chemistry.

QD 39 N735 5 vols. Chemistry Reference


Articles summarize each winner's achievements, Nobel lecture, and offer both a primary and Reproduction of the lectures given by Nobel Prize recipients, including the motivation for awarding the prize, the presentation address, the Nobel lecture address, and biography.

Nobel Prize Winners in Chemistry, 1901-1961.

QD 21 F37 1963 Chemistry Reference


Entries include biographical sketch, description of work, and a section on the historical significance of the work in chemistry.

Torchbearers of Chemistry. 1949

QD 21 S55 Middleton Stacks


Portraits of 250 famous chemists of the past, with brief biographical entries.

Other Things to Look For
General Science Biographical Sources | Chemical Biographical Sources | Other Things to Look For | ONLINE CATALOG

Obituaries.

Prominent chemists usually receive an obituary tribute in a journal relevant to their area of research, which summarizes their career and achievements. Often these are indexed in Chemical Abstracts, but it helps to know the year of death. Look in CA's General Subject Index (in the Subject Index prior to 1972), under the person's name. General headings like "Obituaries" and "Biography" sometimes contain entries as well. Other sources not specific to the sciences list obituaries and other biographical information sources: Middleton Reference has the largest selection of these tools.

Festschrifts.

Some prominent scientists receive tribute collections of papers in book form, usually on the occasion of a birthday. These volumes invariably contain a biographical essay. Search in ONLINE CATALOG using the person's name as a subject (s=) or a keyword (k=).

Memoirs.

Some chemists publish their own reminiscences and autobiographies. Search ONLINE CATALOG using the person's name as an author or subject .

Histories.

Often you can find biographical information in histories in histories of science, chemistry, or specific subfields. Use the subheading -- History with relevant subject heading, such as:

Chemistry -- History
Chemistry, Analytical -- History


Also, browse the shelves by call numbers QD 20's and QD 30's for material on chemical history.

Bibliographies.

Historical listings of articles and papers written after 1907 can be compiled using the author indexes of Chemical Abstracts, but older papers can be hard to locate. Try these sources:

Select Bibliography of Chemistry 1492-1902.

Microprint 25 Middleton Microforms Room


Covers books published in chemistry up to 1902, divided by broad topic area. Subject but no author index. Two supplements extend coverage to 1902. Published as part of series: Smithsonian Miscellaneous Collection (v.36, publication 1170, and v.44).

Chemical Abstracts. 1907 -

Shelved in Reference Stacks; newest issues on Index Table.


The premier indexing source for chemical, biochemical, and chemical engineering literature, covering over 12,000 journals and confernces, as well as technical reports, dissertations, books, and patents. There are two basic parts: the weekly abstracts issues, arranged by topics (each issue contains its own indexes), and cumulative semiannual indexes, offering access by chemical substances name, formula, general subject, and author. There are also Collective Indexes covering 10 - or 5 - year periods. Use the printed flyers available in the Library to learn the basics of searching the printed indexes.

Other parts of CA to know about:

Chemical Abstracts is available online after 1967.
Available through Dialog/STN or by full-service searches.

Chemisches Zentralblatt. 1830-1969.

QD 1 C7 Reference Stacks


A German predecessor to Chemical Abstracts. Useful for identifying the 19th century publications (written in German).

Dissertation Abstracts. 1865 -

Z 5053 D57 Middleton Reference
Library LAN


This large retrospective database covers Ph.D. dissertations written at U.S. universities all the way back to the Civil War. In the last few years the name of the author's faculty advisor has been included. This is a way to find out where a person (in any discipline) studies, and what their early research was about.

Science Citation Index. 1961 -

Z 7401 S365 Middleton Reference
Library LAN


This large index lists articles and books from all time periods that have been cited by other authors during the period covered. For instance, if a modern author cites a paper from the 19th century, that citation will be listed under the original author's name in the Citation Index part of SCI. This will refer you to the original citing paper.

This approach can tell you two things:

  • who's currently involved in work related to the older work in question, and
  • what older papers are considered most important today,
  • i.e., those which are still being cited the most.


    It's also a good way to identify bibliographic citations for papers and books that predate Chemical Abstracts.

    ONLINE CATALOG
    General Science Biographical Sources | Chemical Biographical Sources | Other Things to Look For | ONLINE CATALOG

    Biographies.

    Use ONLINE CATALOG to locate books and journals held by the LSU Libraries on this topic. To search by subject, use established Library of Congress Subject Headings from the red volumes near the terminals. Book-length biographies of chemists are reserved for the most famous of the famous. Search in ONLINE CATALOG using the person's name as a subject or a keyword .

    Relevant general headings include:

    Scientists.
    Chemists.
    Chemists -- Biography.
    Chemists -- History.
    Chemistry -- Biographies.


    The keyword search is also useful as an alternative search method.

    Linus Pauling
    Science biography


    Similar searches in the periodical index of the ONLINE CATALOG will help locate journal articles on these topics.


    For questions or comments about this page, please contact
    William Armstrong


    Chemistry Resources
    LSU Libraries | Louisiana State University
    Baton Rouge, LA 70803-3100
    Tel (225) 578-8875 | Fax (225) 578-9432
    Copyright © 1999 - 2005 LSU Libraries
    Last Updated: Wednesday, 29-Aug-2007 16:29:15 CDT