|
|
|
This guide is derived from a user aid prepared by David Flaxbart, Chemistry Library,
The University of Texas at Austin.
URL=http://www.lib.utexas.edu/chem/info/
Online Sources
Online Sources
|General Sources | Interpretation of Spectra
| Major Continuing Collections | Infrared
| Electron Spin Resonance | NMR | Mass Spectra
| Ultraviolet and Visible Spectra | Microwave
| Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Online Spectra Libraries
SDBS: Integrated
Spectral Data Base for Organic Compounds.
General Sources
Online Sources
|General Sources | Interpretation of Spectra
| Major Continuing Collections | Infrared
| Electron Spin Resonance | NMR | Mass Spectra
| Ultraviolet and Visible Spectra | Microwave
| Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Atlas of Spectral Data and Physical Constants for Organic Compounds. 2nd.ed,. 1975
Tabular condensation of spectral data from numerous published collections. Volume 1 contains the
name/synonym directory, structures, and spectroscopic aids; vols. 2-4 contain data tables; vols. 5-6 have
indexes of molecular weight (mw), physical constants, WLNs, mass spectra, etc.
Atomic Spectra and Atomic Structure. 1944
Classic treatise by Herzberg.
A Dictionary of Spectroscopy. 2nd ed., 1982
Brief explanations of terms most frequently used.
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy. 1960
Theoretical articles. No index, but a
useful table of contents.
Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds. (HODOC) 2nd ed., 1989
Major data collection, giving names, synonyms, structures, formulas (line and molecular), physical
constants, plus much spectral data (IR, Raman, NMR, UV, Mass), as well as CAS registry numbers and Beilstein
references. Three volumes of indexes:
Handbook of Spectroscopy. 1974
Tables of data and references of available data in various fields of spectroscopy. Each volume is indexed
separately.
Master Spectra and Molecular Structure. (Herzberg) 1945-79
Classic treatise:
Practical Handbook of Spectroscopy. 1991
A condensation of the above treatise, containing tables or reference data in the fields of x-ray, atomic,
IR, Raman, and UV spectroscopic methods, as well as electron spin resonance, mass absorption coefficients,
activation analysis, etc.
Spectrometric Identification of Organic Compounds. (Silverstein) 5th ed., 1991
Introductory chapters on mass, IR, NMR, and UV spectroscopy, with problems and references. A popular basic
text.
Tables of Spectral Data for Structure Determination of Organic Compounds. 2nd ed., 1989.
An aid to the interpretation of NMR, IR, mass, UV, and electron excitation spectra.
Interpretation of Spectra
Online Sources | General Sources
| Interpretation of Spectra | Major
Continuing Collections | Infrared | Electron Spin Resonance
| NMR | Mass Spectra | Ultraviolet and Visible
Spectra | Microwave | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
Interpreted Infrared Spectra. 1964
Interpretation of infrared spectra. Includes bibliographical references.
Spectroscopy in Education. 1967 -
A series of volumes dealing with spectrum analysis. Each subsequent volume has a separate title.
Spectroscopic Techniques in Organic Chemistry. 1966
Published as part of Series: Spectroscopy in Education (vol. 2). Spectrum analysis problems and
exercises. Organic chemistry laboratory manual for analysis of spectra.
Introduction to Mass Spectrometry. 1966
Published as part of Series: Spectroscopy in Education (vol. 3). Spectrum analysis of mass
spectrometry. Includes bibliography.
More Spectroscopic Problems in Organic Chemistry. 1967
Published as part of Series: Spectroscopy in Education (vol. 4). A continuation of vol. 2, with additional
spectrum analysis problems and exercises. Organic chemistry laboratory manual for analysis of spectra.
Spectroscopic Properties of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds. 1967 -
Spectrum analysis of complex organic compounds. Supplement to and extends Annual Reports on the Progress of
Chemistry (The Chemical Society, London). Also titled as: Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds (v. 1-2).
Spectroscopy in Inorganic Chemistry. 1970-71
Inorganic compound spectrum analysis. Includes bibliographies.
Interpreted Infrared Spectra. 1964
Interpretation of infrared spectra. Includes bibliographical references.
Major Continuing Collections
Online Sources | General Sources
| Interpretation of Spectra | Major Continuing
Collections | Infrared | Electron Spin Resonance
| NMR | Mass Spectra | Ultraviolet and
Visible Spectra | Microwave | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
One of the largest cumulations of published chemical spectra, the Sadtler Standard Spectra series (the
green looseleaf binders) are shelved in the Spectra shelves along the East wall. Cumulative indexes to the
Sadtler Standard Spectra sets are shelved together near the beginning of the Sadtler sets (ignore the spine
titles that imply the index is only for prism or infrared). Use these to locate the spectra in the Sadtler
sets held in the Chemistry Resources: IR Prism, IR Grating, UV, Standard Proton NMR,
and 13C, NMR.
The indexes are divided into four sections: Alphabetical, Molecular Formula, Chemical Class, and Numerical, and also by data: the bound volumes cover spectra up to 1980, and the looseleaf supplements cover 1981 - present. For best results try the Formula indexes first; nomenclature can be quite unpredictable. After locating your compound in the index, note the reference number from the appropriate column on the right, and then consult the corresponding Sadtler set:
| Prism | : | Standard Infrared Spectra | [library owns vol. 1 - ] |
| Grating: | Standard Infrared Grating | [library owns vol. 1 - ] | |
| UV: | Standard Ultraviolet | [library owns vol. 1 - ] | |
| NMR: | Standard Proton NMR | [library owns vol. 1 - ] | |
| C-13: | Standard 13C NMR | [library owns vol. 1 - ] |
Remember that the Chemistry Resources does not own all of the spectra indexed. Please take care when removing a sheet for photocopying and ALWAYS replace the sheet immediately back in the binder. Report any missing pages to the library staff.
Using the Sadtler Standard Spectra: A Basic Guide Click here to learn more about using the Sadtler Spectra series.
The American Petroleum Institute's Research Project 44 and (later) the Thermodynamics Research Center at
Texas A&M University published many spectra after 1940, primarily for hydrocarbons important in the chemical
industry. These sets are more of a last resort than a first stop, because of the difficulty involved in locating
a spectra and their incomplete indexing. These spectra are shelved in looseleaf folders by the following call n
umbers. To look up a compound:
1. Consult the Comprehensive Index volume for the compound(s) desired.
2. Select the appropriate folder that contains this number.
Selected Infrared Spectral Data. (Index Code B)
Selected Ultraviolet Spectral Data. (Index code C)
Selected Raman Spectral Data. (Index code D)
Selected Mass Spectral Data. (Index code E)
Selected NMR Spectral Data. (Index code F)
Thermodynamic Tables (Hydrocarbons)
Thermodynamic Tables (Non-Hydrocarbons)
Comprehensive Index to API 44 - TRC Selected Data on Thermodynamics and Spectroscopy.
(NOTE: Each series has its own index in the last volume.)
Infrared Spectra
Online Sources |
General Sources | Interpretation of Spectra |
Major Continuing Collections | Infrared |
Electron Spin Resonance | NMR |
Mass Spectra | Ultraviolet and Visible Spectra |
Microwave | Indexes |
ONLINE CATALOG
Aldrich Library of Infrared Spectra. 2nd ed., 1975
12,000 IR spectra arranged in classes by order of increasing complexity. Indexed by name, formula
and Aldrich catalog number.
Coblentz Society Desk Book of Infrared Spectra. 1977
1,700 IR grating spectra of common compounds. Indexed by name and formula.
Infrared Band Handbook. 2nd ed., 1970
Compounds arranged by wave number in cm-1, showing structural formula and literature references.
Range of wavelength covered is 3610 - 617 cm-1. Supplement extends range to 250 cm-1. Formula index in
volume two.
Infrared Spectra of Inorganic and Coordination Compounds. 1970
Infrared spectra. Includes bibliographies.
Infrared and Ultraviolet Spectra of Some Compounds of Pharmaceutical Interest. Rev. ed. 1975
Infrared and ultraviolet spectrometry of pharmaceutical compounds. Published by the Association of
Official Analytical Chemists. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Oils, Lubricants, And Petroleum Products : Characterization By Infrared Spectra. 1985
Infrared spectroscopy of petroleum products. Analysis of spectra identification. Includes indexes
and bibliography.
Halogenated Hydrocarbons : A Special Collection of Infrared Spectra. 1984
Infrared spectra for halogenated hydrocarbons. Includes spectra, charts, diagrams, and references.
Prepared by he Coblentz Society with partial support from the Joint Committee on Atomic and Molecular
Physical Data and The National Standard Reference Data System. Includes indexes.
The Infrared Spectra Atlas of Monomers and Polymers. 1980
Infrared atlas of spectral data for monomers, polymers and polymerization. Part of Sadtler Spectra
collection. Includes indexes
Infrared Spectra and Characteristic Frequencies ~700-300 cm-1. 1968
Collection of infrared spectral data and interpretation. Includes chemical class bibliography
Sadtler High Resolution Spectra of Inorganics and Related Compounds. 1965
Tables of high resolution infrared spectra of inorganics and related compounds.
Electron Spin Resonance Spectra
Online Sources | General Sources |
Interpretation of Spectra | Major Continuing
Collections | Infrared | Electron Spin Resonance |
NMR | Mass Spectra | Ultraviolet and
Visible Spectra | Microwave | Indexes |
ONLINE CATALOG
Atlas of Electron Spin Resonance Spectra. 1967
Electron paramagnetic resonance. Includes index.
NMR Spectra
Online Sources |
General Sources | Interpretation of Spectra |
Major Continuing Collections | Infrared |
Electron Spin Resonance | NMR | Mass
Spectra | Ultraviolet and Visible Spectra | Microwave |
Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Aldrich Library of NMR Spectra. 2nd ed., 1983
Contains over 37,000 spectra, with indexes by compound name, molecular formula, and Aldrich catalog
number in the back of volume two.
Atlas of Carbon-13 NMR Data. 1979
NMR data compiled from published literature, with indexes of names, molecular formulas, class,
molecular weights, and chemical shifts.
13C NMR of Natural Products. 1992 -
Compounds arranged by structural class, then by increasing molecular weight. Each volume has
name, formula, molecular weight, source, and compound-type indexes.
Carbon-13 NMR Spectra. 1972
Selected compounds representing a variety of carbon environments. Name, code, and shift indexes
in front.
Dictionary of Concepts in NMR. 1989
Thorough definitions of NMR principles, jargon, and acronyms, with citations for further reading.
NMR Spectra Catalog. 1962 - 63
700 spectra; each volume has name, functional group, and shift indexes.
Mass Spectra
Online Sources |
General Sources | Interpretation of
Spectra | Major Continuing Collections | Infrared |
Electron Spin Resonance | NMR | Mass Spectra |
Ultraviolet and Visible Spectra | Microwave |
Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Atlas of Mass Spectral Data. 1969
Tables of mass spectrometry data. Indexing by molecular weight and molecular formula. Includes
bibliographical references.
Volume 2 = Molecular weights: 142.0185 to 213.2456.
Volume 3 = Molecular weights: 213.8629 to 702.7981.
533 common pollutants, indexed by name, CAS Registry Number, molecular weight (mw), and spectral
peaks.
EPA/NIH Mass Spectral Database. 1978 - 83
Compiled by the National Bureau of Standards, this collection contains over 25,000 verified mass
spectra in bar graph format, with CA index name, molecular formula (mf), molecular weight (mw),
structural formula, and CAS registry number. Arranged by increasing molecular weight. The index volume
covers the set and its first supplement, by name, formula, molecular weight, and registry number.
(Supplement 2 in on microfiche.)
Ion Mass Spectra. 1974
Tabulation of ion mass spectra for 100 elements and compounds ionized in a low-voltage ion source.
Index of ions on pages 25-27.
Ultraviolet and Visible Spectra
Online Sources | General Sources |
Interpretation of Spectra | Major
Continuing Collections | Infrared | Electron
Spin Resonance | NMR | Mass Spectra |
Ultraviolet and Visible Spectra | Microwave |
Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Absorption Spectra in the Ultraviolet and Visible Region. 1961-82
Twenty-four looseleaf volumes. Each has its own index, and there are also cumulative index volumes
for 1-5, 6-10, 11-15, 16-20.
Handbook of Ultraviolet and Visible Absorption Spectra of Organic Compounds. 1967
Tables of organic chemicals and ultraviolet and absorption spectra. Includes bibliography.
Infrared, Ultraviolet, and Visible Absorption Spectra of some USP and NF Reference Standards and Their Derivatives. 1962
Pharmacopeia and spectrum analysis; absorption, infrared and ultraviolet spectra. Reprinted from:
Journal of the Association of Official Agricultural Chemists, v.45, November 1962 (S 583 A7).
Includes index.
Organic Electronic Spectral Data. 1946 -
Annual compilation of UV-visible spectra of organic compounds, as extracted from the journal
literature. Arranged in Hill formula order. No cumulative index; every volume must be consulted.
Ultraviolet and Visible Absorption Spectra. 1956 - 66
Bibliography of otherwise hard-to-find UV/visible spectra published in 27 major journals between
1930 and 1963. Nomenclature in the index is irregular; the odd journal abbreviations used are defined in
the introduction.
Ultraviolet Spectra of Aromatic Compounds. 1951
600 spectra, indexed by name and formula.
Ultraviolet Spectra of Elastomers and Rubber Chemicals. 1966
Absorption spectra of rubber compounds and elastomers. Includes bibliography. Translated title
from Russian: Atlas Ul'Trafioletovykh Spektrov Pogloshcheniia Veshchestv.
Beilstein and Landolt-Bornstein are among many other reference sources that often provide spectral data for specific compounds. Consult a librarian for more information about these and other potential sources.
Microwave Spectra
Online Sources |
General Sources | Interpretation of Spectra |
Major Continuing Collections | Infrared |
Electron Spin Resonance | NMR | Mass
Spectra | Ultraviolet and Visible Spectra | Microwave |
Indexes |
ONLINE CATALOG
Microwave Spectral Tables.
United States. National Bureau of Standards. (Washington, U.S. Dept. of Commerce, National Bureau of
Standards; for sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Office), 1964-69.
NBS monograph ; 70. Revision of "Molecular Microwave Spectra Tables", by P. Kisliuk and C. H. Townes,
published in 1952 as National Bureau of Standards circular 518.
Beilstein and Landolt-Bornstein are among many other reference sources that often
provide spectral data for specific compounds. Consult a librarian for more information about these and
other potential sources.
Indexes
Online Sources | General
Sources | Interpretation of Spectra | Major
Continuing Collections | Infrared | Electron Spin
Resonance | NMR | Mass Spectra | Ultraviolet
and Visible Spectra | Microwave | Indexes |
ONLINE CATALOG
Chemical Abstracts. 1907 -
The premier indexing source for chemical, biochemical, and chemical engineering literature, covering
over 12,000 journals and confernces, as well as technical reports, dissertations, books, and patents. There
are two basic parts: the weekly abstracts issues, arranged by topics (each issue contains its own indexes),
and cumulative semiannual indexes, offering access by chemical substances name, formula, general subject,
and author. There are also Collective Indexes covering 10 - or 5 - year periods. Use the printed flyers
available in the Library to learn the basics of searching the printed indexes.
Section 73 of the weekly issues cover topics in optical, electron, and mass spectroscopy and related studies, when they are the principal topics of papers. Use the Chemical Substances Indexes to locate published spectral information on particular compounds, but remember that CA does not always index spectral information that appears incidentally as part of an article.
Other parts of CA to know about:
Index Guide.
Annual thesaurus providing subject headings and controlled vocabulary, cross-refernces and indexing notes for use with CA's Chemical Substance and General Subject indexes. Located on the Index Table.
Registry Handbook -- Common Names.
Annual microfiche listing of chemical names and synonyms that gives registry number and formula for nearly 700,00 compounds as indexed in CA. The Name Section lists substance names selected from the Registry nomenclature file. The Number Section lists, by registry number, the corresponding CA Index Name for use in the printed indexes, along with synonyms. Next to the online Registry file, this is the best place to find registry numbers for searching in CAS Online, or Index Names for searching in the printed CA indexes.
Registry Handbook -- Number Section. 1965 -
Printed cumulation of all registry numbers assigned by CAS since 1965, showing CA Index Names and formula for searching in the indexes. Check the annual update for cumulative changes. Shelved near the end of the CA index area.
CASSI. 1989
Retrospective listing of journal titles, conference titles, and other printed sources abstracted by CA, listed by their established CA abbreviations. Appears every 5 years, with quarterly updates. Very comprehensive. Located on the circulation desk.
Chemical Abstracts is available to LSU faculty, staff, and students via SciFinder Scholar.
ONLINE CATALOG
Online Sources | General Sources |
Interpretation of Spectra | Major Continuing
Collections | Infrared | Electron Spin Resonance |
NMR | Mass Spectra | Ultraviolet and
Visible Spectra | Microwave | Indexes |
ONLINE CATALOG
Use ONLINE CATALOG to locate books and journals held by the LSU Libraries on these general topics. To search by subject, use established Library of Congress Subject Headings from the red volumes near the terminals. Use an subject search field. Relevant general headings include:
The keyword search is also helpful as an alternate searching strategy, to find items without particular
subject headings:
Similar searches in the periodical index database of the ONLINE CATALOG will help locate journal
articles on these topics.