Subject Guide for
ANALYTICAL CHEMISTRY
Guide to Reference Resources
Handbooks
Handbooks | Encyclopedias
| Methods of Analysis | Reagents
| Chromatography | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
Analytical Instrumentation Handbook. 1990
QD 79 I5 A49 1990
Guide to analytical methods and techniques and the instruments involved,
including mass measurement, spectrochemical and electrochemical instrumentation,
and chromatographic methods.
Compendium of Analytical Nomenclature. 1987
QD 75.3 C65 1987
The IUPAC Orange Book defining terminology of analytical
chemistry.
CRC Handbook of Tables for Organic Compound Identification. 3rd
ed., 1967
QD 291 R28 1967
Over 8000 parent compounds, grouped in tables by chemical class.
With a name index.
Handbook of Analytical Chemistry. 1963
QD 71 M37
Concise summaries of fundamental data and practical procedures,
with a thorough index.
Handbook of Basic Tables for Chemical Analysis. 1989
QD 78 B78 1989
Tables of data for instrumental techniques, including gas chromatography
(GC), high-pressure layer chromatography (HPLC), thin-layer chromatography
(TLC), spectrophotometry, and spectroscopy.

Encyclopedias
Handbooks | Encyclopedias
| Methods of Analysis | Reagents
| Chromatography | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemical Analysis. 1966-74
QD 131 E5 20 vols.
Vols. 1-3 are devoted to general techniques common to many industrial
products; vols. 4-19 cover analysis of specific materials. Vol. 20 is the
index to vols. 4-19.

Methods of Analysis
Handbooks | Encyclopedias
| Methods of Analysis | Reagents
| Chromatography | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
Methodicum Chimicum. 1974 -
QD 75.2 M47, vol. 1 A-B
Vol. 1, parts A-B, of this series outlines chemical, physical, and
biological analytical methods, including those for structure determination
and quality control.
Official Methods of Analysis. 15th ed., 1990
S 587 O38 1990 2 vols.
Compilation of analytical methods approved and adopted by the Association
of Official Analytical Chemists. With subject and method number indexes.
Vol. 1 = Agricultural chemicals, Contaminants, Drugs.
Vol. 2 = Food Composition.
Official, Standardized and Recommended Methods of Analysis.
2nd ed., 1973
QD 75.2 H36 1973
Accepted methods of determination in many industrial products, wastes,
agricultural materials, and drugs; Part 2 is a bibliographic section citing
other methods.
Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater.
17th ed., 1989
QD 142 A5 1985
One-volume compendium prepared by the ALPHA, AWWA, and WPCA, of
methods for determining physical properties, metals, inorganic non-metallics,
organics, radioactivity, toxicity, and biological constituents in the water.
Standard Methods of Chemical Analysis. 6th ed., 1962-66
QD 131 S68 1962 3 vols. in 5
Standard reference of analytical information. Vol. 11 contains methods
of determination for the elements; vol. 2 covers industrial and natural
products and non-instrumental methods; vol. 3 covers instrumental methods.
Each volume has its own index. (Vol. 1: 5th ed. only)
Systematic Identification of Organic Compounds. 6th ed., 1980
QD 261 S5 1980
Basic introduction to techniques for characterization and identification
of unknown organic compounds, detection of functional groups, separations,
etc.

Reagents
Handbooks | Encyclopedias
| Methods of Analysis | Reagents
| Chromatography | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
CRC Handbook Of Organic Analytical Reagents. 2nd ed., 1992
QD 77 C73 1992
Information on preparation, properties, and analytical applications
of organic reagents.
Reagent Chemicals. 8th ed., 1993
QD 77 A54 1993
American Chemical Society standards on reagent purity and testing.

Chromatography
Handbooks | Encyclopedias
| Methods of Analysis | Reagents
| Chromatography | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
CRC Handbook of Chromatography. 1972 -
QD 117 C5 C7 1978 2 vols.
Vol. 1 contains over 549 tables of chromatographic data on more
than 12,000 compounds, with literature citations, for gas, liquid-column,
paper, and thin-layer chromatography. Vol. 2 outlines the theory and practices
of these fields. Compound index in vol. 1.
NOTE: This ongoing series treats chromatographic analysis of
various classes of substances in separately cataloged volumes. Search ONLINE CATALOG
under the title CRC Handbook of Chromatography for a list of other
individual volumes and their locations.
Dictionary of Chromatography. 2nd ed., 1982
QD 79 C4 D46 1982
Basic vocabulary.
Periodic Table for Chromatographers. 1992
QD 467 L43 1992
Collection of equilibrium constants for heterogeneous and homogeneous
systems over the entire periodic table, for comparing interactions under
different conditions.

Indexes
Handbooks | Encyclopedias
| Methods of Analysis | Reagents
| Chromatography | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
Chemical Abstracts. 1907 -
Shelved in Reference Stacks; newest issues on Index Table.
The premier indexing source for chemical, biochemical, and chemical
engineering literature, covering over 12,000 journals and confernces, as
well as technical reports, dissertations, books, and patents. There are
two basic parts: the weekly abstracts issues, arranged by topics (each
issue contains its own indexes), and cumulative semiannual indexes, offering
access by chemical substances name, formula, general subject, and author.
There are also Collective Indexes covering 10 - or 5 - year periods. Use
the printed flyers available in the Library to learn the basics of searching
the printed indexes.
Sections 79 and 80 of the weekly issues over topics in Analytical
Chemistry.
Other parts of CA to know about:
Index Guide.
Annual thesaurus providing subject headings and controlled vocabulary,
cross-refernces and indexing notes for use with CA's Chemical Substance
and General Subject indexes. Located on the Index Table.
Registry Handbook -- Common Names.
Annual microfiche listing of chemical names and synonyms that gives
registry number and formula for nearly 700,00 compounds as indexed in CA.
The Name Section lists substance names selected from the Registry nomenclature
file. The Number Section lists, by registry number, the corresponding CA
Index Name for use in the printed indexes, along with synonyms. Next to
the online Registry file, this is the best place to find registry numbers
for searching in CAS Online, or Index Names for searching in the printed
CA indexes.
Registry Handbook -- Number Section. 1965 -
Printed cumulation of all registry numbers assigned by CAS since 1965,
showing CA Index Names and formula for searching in the indexes. Check
the annual update for cumulative changes. Shelved near the end of the CA
index area.
Ring System Handbook. 1988 4 vols. plus supplement
Compound-locating index arranged by the number of rings in a structure,
then by the size of the component rings in ascending order (e.g., 5,6,7).
Elemental components are arranged in Hill order. Entries give CAS registry
number, Ring File number, index name, molecular formula, WLN, and structure
diagram. Shelved on the CA Index Table.
CASSI. 1994
Retrospective listing of journal titles, conference titles, and other
printed sources abstracted by CA, listed by their established CA abbreviations.
Appears every 5 years, with quarterly updates. Very comprehensive. Located
on the circulation desk.
Chemical Abstracts is available online after 1967. Available through
Dialog/STN or by full-service searches.

ONLINE CATALOG
Handbooks | Encyclopedias
| Methods of Analysis | Reagents
| Chromatography | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
Use ONLINE CATALOG to locate books and journals held by the LSU Libraries on this
topic. To search by subject, use established Library of Congress Subject
Headings from the red volumes near the terminals. Use the subject search
feild. Relevant general headings include:
Chemistry, analytical
Chemistry, analytic -- Qualitative
Chemistry, analytic -- Quantitative
Chromatographic analysis
Gas Chromatography
Liquid Chromatography
Note also that the subheading: -- Analysis occurs
under names for substances or classes of compounds,
for example: Organosilicon compounds -- Analysis.
The keyword search is also useful as an alternative search
method, to find items lacking in-depth subject headings:
boron analysis
You can also browse the shelves in the book stacks between QD 71
and QD 142 for books on analytical methods and concepts.
Similar searches in the periodical index of the ONLINE CATALOG will help locate journal articles on these topics.
-- See also the reference guide to Spectra and
Spectral Data: Guide to Reference Sources for information on spectrographic
analysis --
For questions or comments about this page, please contact
William Armstrong
Chemistry Resources
LSU Libraries |
Louisiana
State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803-3100
Tel (225) 578-8875 | Fax (225) 578-9432
Copyright © 1999 - 2009 LSU
Libraries
Last Updated: 2007