|
|
|
Dictionaries
Dictionaries | Handbooks
| Encyclopedias | Plastics
| Other Sources | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
Gardner's Chemical Synonyms and Trade Names. 9th ed., 1987
A dictionary and commercial handbook containing brief description
of terms, with cross-references and British spellings. Part 2 contains
a list of suppliers with their names, addresses, and a list of their products.
Polymer Science Dictionary. 1989
Dictionary covering the non-technology areas of polymer science,
including some biopolymers, but not nucleic acids. Entries for basic concepts
and individual polymers and trade names.
Handbooks
Dictionaries | Handbooks
| Encyclopedias | Plastics
| Other Sources | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
CRC Handbook of Chromatography: Polymers. 1982
Chromatographic information on synthetic polymers, monomers, and
oligomers, including tables of data and practical information for major
chromatographic techniques.
CRC Handbook of Materials Science. 1974
Details the selection of materials and plastics, polymer chemistry,
polymerization kinetics and molecular characteristics of products in volume
2.
Polymer Handbook. 3rd ed., 1989
Large tables of data constants for synthetic polymers and oligomers,
excluding bipolymers and spectroscopic data. With a list of polymer name
abbreviations and a general subject index.
Practical Handbook of Materials Science. 1989
One-volume desk reference on commercial and experimental materials
and their properties. Section 12 covers polymers.
Encyclopedias
Dictionaries | Handbooks
| Encyclopedias | Plastics
| Other Sources | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. (Kirk-Othmer) 3rd ed., 1978-85
Standard reference source covers preparation, manufacturing processes,
uses of materials, properties of chemical substances, and chemistry fundamentals,
in extensive and heavily annotated articles. Start with the Index volume
to locate information on specific substances and general topics.
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering. 2nd ed., 1986
Covers all aspects of polymer sciences (physics, chemistry, biology)
and engineering. Articles are contributed by specialists, and each contains
equations, graphic and tabular data and extensive bibliographical information.
Plastics
Dictionaries | Handbooks
| Encyclopedias | Plastics
| Other Sources | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
Handbook of Elastomers: New Developments and Technology. 1988
Part of Series: Plastics Engineering (vol.19). Handbook of practical
data on properties and performance of elastomers. Includes bibliographical
references.
Handbook of Plastics and Elastomers. 1975
Sourcebook of practical data on properties and performance.
Handbook of Polyolefins: Synthesis and Properties. 1993
Sourcebook of practical olefin compound data on properties and performance.
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Infrared Analysis of Polymers, Resins, and Additives: An Atlas. 1969
Infrared spectral data and analysis of polymers and polymerization,
resins, gums, additives, and elastomers.
Vol. 1 -- Plastics, elastomers, fibers, and resins.
Mechanical Design Handbook for Elastomers. 1981
Prepared by NASA and Lewis Research Center on material characteristics
and performance of elastomers. NASA contractor report 3423. Includes bibliographical
references.
Modern Plastics Encyclopedia. 1993
Popular trade annual. The textbook section has articles by experts
summarizing current developments in the industry (keyword index in front);
the data bank (blue pages) has data on properties and applications of products;
the buyers guide lists suppliers of products and services.
Plastics Engineering Handbook. 5th ed., 1991
Manual of the Society of Plastics Industry, with a glossary,
chapters on materials and processing methods, and index.
Plastics Technology Handbook. 1987
Part of Series: Plastics Engineering (vol.12). Handbook of practical
data on properties and performance of plastics. Includes bibliographical
references.
Polymer Analysis and Characterization. 1994
Polymer analysis. Published as part of: Advances in Polymer Science
(vol. 114).
Selected Synthetic Organic Fibers. 1993
Prepared by the World Health Organization, International Program
on Chemical Safety. Part of series: Environmental Health Criteria. (no.151).
Toxicological, physiological effects and environmental aspects of polyamide
fibers, carbon fibers and polyolefins. Includes bibliographical references.
Locating information on polymers and plastics trade names is an inexact sciences, and no comprehensive source exits. Various dictionaries and directories can be helpful, but they are selective and usually contain little information on chemical components or properties. (Consult the handout for some of these.) CAS online Registry File is an excellent link from trade names and synonyms to registry numbers and index names for use with Chemical Abstracts, but even this is not foolproof. There are simply too many trade names and they change too often to be a reliable starting point.
Other Sources
Dictionaries | Handbooks
| Encyclopedias | Plastics
| Other Sources | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
Compendium of Chemical Terminology: IUPAC Recommendations. 1987
Terminology recommended by IUPAC for physical, inorganic macromolecular,
and analytical chemistry. Very useful for finding definitions of chemical
concepts.
CRC Handbook of Polymer-Liquid Interaction Parameters and Solubility Parameters. 1991
Compilation of cohesion parameters for polymers.
Materials Data Book for Engineers and Scientists. 1967
Tables of material characteristics.
NOTE: The Middleton Library collects materials in the field of materials engineering, and technology, and much information about applications and development of polymers and plastics -- including patents, technical reports, standards, and reference sources -- is located there.
Indexes
Dictionaries | Handbooks
| Encyclopedias | Plastics
| Other Sources | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
Engineering Index
Engineering Index is an organized compilation of bibliographic citations
and abstracts covering the world's technological literature in all disciplines.
The literature covered is found in published journals, technical reports,
conference proceedings, conference literature and other material. Two types
of conference records are provided, abstracts of individual conference
papers and abstracts which summarize the overall of the proceedings volume.
A listing of all the material covered each year may be found in Engineering
Index's PIE: Publications in Engineering.
Chemical Abstracts. 1907 -
The premier indexing source for chemical, biochemical, and chemical
engineering literature, covering over 12,000 journals and conferences,
as well as technical reports, dissertations, books, and patents. There
are two basic parts: the weekly abstracts issues, arranged by topics (each
issue contains its own indexes), and cumulative semiannual indexes, offering
access by chemical substances name, formula, general subject, and author.
There are also Collective Indexes covering 10 - or 5 - year periods. Use
the printed flyers available in the Library to learn the basics of searching
the printed indexes.
Other parts of CA to know about:
Annual thesaurus providing subject headings and controlled vocabulary,
cross-references and indexing notes for use with CA's Chemical Substance
and General Subject indexes. Located on the Index Table.
Annual microfiche listing of chemical names and synonyms that gives
registry number and formula for nearly 700,00 compounds as indexed in CA.
The Name Section lists substance names selected from the Registry nomenclature
file. The Number Section lists, by registry number, the corresponding CA
Index Name for use in the printed indexes, along with synonyms. Next to
the online Registry file, this is the best place to find registry numbers
for searching in CAS Online, or Index Names for searching in the printed
CA indexes.
Retrospective listing of journal titles, conference titles, and
other printed sources abstracted by CA, listed by their established CA
abbreviations. Appears every 5 years, with quarterly updates. Very comprehensive.
Located on the circulation desk.
Chemical Abstracts is available online after 1967.
Available through Dialog/STN or by full-service searches.
ONLINE CATALOG
Dictionaries | Handbooks
| Encyclopedias | Plastics
| Other Sources | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
Use ONLINE CATALOG to locate books and journals held by the LSU Libraries on this topic. To search by subject, use established Library of Congress Subject Headings from the red volumes near the terminals. Use the subject search feild. Relevant general headings include:
Polymers and Polymerization -- Electrical Properties
Polymer liquid crystals
The keyword search is also useful as an alternative search
method.
Similar searches in the periodical index of the ONLINE CATALOG will help
locate journal articles on these topics.