|
|
|
Handbooks
Handbooks | Dictionaries
| Encyclopedias | Sources
of Chemicals | Patents | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
A first-stop reference containing a wealth of basic chemical and
physical data for compounds, as well as many other useful tables, constants
and formulas, and definitions. Consult the index in the back for the type
of data needed. Published annually.
Perry s Chemical Engineers Handbook. 6th ed., 1984
Very useful compendium of data tables and textual information on
virtually every aspect of chemical engineering, including mathematics and
physical and chemical data. Use the index as a starting point.
Dictionaries
Handbooks | Dictionaries
| Encyclopedias | Sources
of Chemicals | Patents | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
Gardner s Chemical Synonyms and Trade Names. 9th ed., 1987
A dictionary and commercial handbook containing brief description
of terms, with cross-references and British spellings. Part 2 contains
a list of suppliers with their names, addresses, and a list of their products.
Hawley s Condensed Chemical Dictionary. 13th ed., 1993
A standard dictionary defining terms related to chemistry and the
chemical industry. It also provides brief biographies of scientists and
some American technical societies. Origins of chemical terms are given
in the appendix.
There is no single source for identifying the chemical names of individual trade names and vice versa. The sheer number of products and tradenames makes such a tool impractical. The sources listed in this handout are good starting points, but are far from comprehensive. The online CAS Registry File contains many generic and trade synonyms, but even this database, with over 12 million compounds, is not complete or fully up to date. The CA Index Guide and the Registry Handbook microfiche can be helpful for identifying commonly cited trade names as well.
Encyclopedias
Handbooks | Dictionaries
| Encyclopedias | Sources
of Chemicals | Patents | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design. 1976 -
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. (Kirk-Othmer) 3rd ed., 1979-84
Core information source presents a wealth of information on preparation,
manufacturing processes, uses of materials, properties of chemical substances,
and chemistry fundamentals.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Trademarks and Synonyms. 1981
Compendium of commonly used tradenames, trademarks, generic names,
and acronyms. Entries indicate chemical composition or use, and when possible
a code for a supplier. Suppliers listed in vol. 3.
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering. 2nd ed., 1986
Covers all aspects of polymer sciences (physics, chemistry, biology)
and engineering. Articles are contributed by specialists, and each contains
equations, graphic and tabular data and extensive bibliographic information.
(See the handout on Polymer and Plastic Chemistry
for other sources on polymer and plastics chemistry.)
Ullman s Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry. 5th ed., 1985 -
Arranged in two series: the A volumes contain lengthy articles on
chemicals, product groups, areas of application, processes, and technical
concepts. The B volumes are compendia of basic knowledge and fundamentals.
The 5th edition is not yet complete; an index to vols. A1 - A16 and B1
- B3 is available.
Sources of Chemicals
Handbooks | Dictionaries
| Encyclopedias | Sources
of Chemicals | Patents | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
Aldrich Catalog of Fine Chemicals.
Multiuse catalog of the Aldrich Chemical Co., listing over 27,000
chemical products (in lab quantities) as well as equipment, books, and
software. Chemical entries include formula weight, melting point, and cross-references
to Beilstein, Merck, Aldrich's spectra and safety data collections, and
RTECS (Registry of Toxic Effects for Chemical Substances).
Chem Sources U.S.A. 1993
Chem Sources International. 1992
Annual listings of commercially available chemicals and their producers,
with company indexes.
Chemical Engineering Buyers Guide. 1994
Annual directory published by Chemical Engineering listing over
2,000 products from 4,000 companies -- chemicals, equipment, services,
and construction materials. Product, company, and catalog sections.
Directory of Chemical Producers: United States. 1993
Annual directory of 1,500 companies and 10,000 chemicals produced
in commercial quantities, listed alphabetically.
Directory of Chemical Producers and Products. 1993
Directory of chemical industry products and producers for Europe.
Prepared by the Economic Commission for Europe. Issued as three volumes:
OPD Chemical Buyers Directory.
Annual Green Book contains some 20,000 chemicals for industrial
consumption from 1,400 suppliers. Supplier and chemical sections.
Patents
Handbooks | Dictionaries
| Encyclopedias | Sources
of Chemicals | Patents | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
Understanding Chemical Patents: A Guide for the Inventor. 2nd ed., 1991
ACS primer on understanding patents as an information source, the
patenting process, records keeping, infringement, and terminology. With
a glossary.
Household, Automotive, and Industrial Chemical Formulations. 2nd ed., 1984
Chemicals--Patents. Household supplies--Patents. Automotive supplies--Patents.
Revised editon of: Household and automotive chemical specialties (1979).
Includes index.
Patents for Chemical Inventions. 1964
Published as part of series: Advances in chemistry series, 46. Chemicals--Patents.
Patent laws and legislation--United States. Symposia sponsored by the Division
of Chemical Literature and the Division of Industrial and Engineering Chemistry,
at the 145th meeting of the American Chemical Society, New York, N.Y.,
September 9 and 13, 1963. Elmer J. Lawson and Edmund A. Godula, symposia
chairmen. Includes bibliographies.
Chemicals by Enzymatic and Microbial Processes : Recent Advances. 1980
Published as part of series: Chemical technology review ; no. 161.
Chemical patents on fermentation technology. Supersedes previous edition
titled: Chemicals by fermentation, published in 1973 (see TP 210 G87).
Includes indexes.
Chemicals by Fermentation.
Chemicals patents on fermentation technology.
One Hundred Years of Chemical Engineering. 1989
History of chemical engineering beginning with Lewis M. Norton at
MIT in 1888 to contemporary developments. Includes bibliographies and index.
Published as part of series: Chemists and Chemistry.
Chemical patents are covered thoroughly by Chemical Abstracts, which has separate patent indexes. U.S. patents are on microfilm and paper in the Middleton Government Documents and the CASSIS CD-ROM system there is a good starting point for looking up U.S. patents on any topic. Foreign patents and patent applications often found in Chemical Abstracts are more difficult to get hold of, but are available through CA, Inter-Library Services, and the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, and commercial vendors. Ask Library reference staff for more information.
Indexes
Handbooks | Dictionaries
| Encyclopedias | Sources
of Chemicals | Patents | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
The premier indexing source for chemical, biochemical, and chemical
engineering literature, covering over 12,000 journals and conferences,
as well as technical reports, dissertations, books, and patents. There
are two basic parts: the weekly abstracts issues, arranged by topics (each
issue contains its own indexes), and cumulative semiannual indexes, offering
access by chemical substances name, formula, general subject, and author.
There are also Collective Indexes covering 10 - or 5 - year periods. Use
the printed flyers available in the Library to learn the basics of searching
the printed indexes.
Other parts of CA to know about:
Annual thesaurus providing subject headings and controlled vocabulary,
cross-references and indexing notes for use with CA's Chemical Substance
and General Subject indexes. Located on the Index Table.
Annual microfiche listing of chemical names and synonyms that gives
registry number and formula for nearly 700,00 compounds as indexed in CA.
The Name Section lists substance names selected from the Registry nomenclature
file. The Number Section lists, by registry number, the corresponding CA
Index Name for use in the printed indexes, along with synonyms. Next to
the online Registry file, this is the best place to find registry numbers
for searching in CAS Online, or Index Names for searching in the printed
CA indexes.
Printed cumulation of all registry numbers assigned by CAS since
1965, showing CA Index Names and formula for searching in the indexes.
Check the annual update for cumulative changes. Shelved near the end of
the CA index area.
Retrospective listing of journal titles, conference titles, and
other printed sources abstracted by CA, listed by their established CA
abbreviations. Appears every 5 years, with quarterly updates. Very comprehensive.
Located on the circulation desk.
Other indexes and databases, such as Physics Abstracts and Engineering Index and their online equivalents, are also very pertinent to topics in physical chemistry.
Chemical Abstracts is available online after 1967. Available through Dialog/STN or by full-service searches.
AIChE Publications. 1955 - 72
One-volume subject and author index to all periodical and symposium
articles published by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers between
1955 and 1972.
Directory of Chemical Engineering Consultants. 7th ed. 1988
Directory of consulting engineers for chemical engineering in the
United States. Published by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.
Engineering Index. 1906 -
The primary index for all engineering fields, it covers chemical
engineering as well, though not as fully as Chemical Abstracts. A good
place to search for related areas such as equipment, plant operations,
materials science, and other applications.
ONLINE CATALOG
Handbooks | Dictionaries
| Encyclopedias | Sources
of Chemicals | Patents | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
Use ONLINE CATALOG to locate books and journals held by the LSU Libraries on this topic. To search by subject, use established Library of Congress Subject Headings from the red volumes near the terminals. Use the subject search field. Relevant general headings include:
The keyword search is also useful as an alternative search method.
Similar searches in the periodical index of the ONLINE CATALOG will help
locate journal articles on these topics.