LSU Libraries

Chemistry Resources



 
Subject Guide for
PHYSICAL CHEMISTRY: PART I GENERAL THERMODYNAMICS

Guide to Reference Resources

General Sources
General Sources | Thermodynamics | Steam Tables | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

American Institute of Physics Handbook. 3rd ed., 1972
Dwight E.Gray.ed. (New York, McGraw-Hill), 1972.

QC 61 A5 1972 Chemistry Reference, Middleton Reference


Authoritative reference source for data tables, graphs and bibliographies, covering math, acoustics, heat, electromagnetism, optics, and atomic, molecular, nuclear, and solid- state physics. Includes a large index.

Consolidated Index of Selected Property Values. 1962
(Washington, DC: National Academy of Sciences-National Research Council), 1962.

QD 65 N35 Middleton Stacks


Combined index of physicochemical and thermodynamic properties of organic and inorganic compounds to be found in six major data compilations before 1960, including the API-44 project and NBS Circular 500. Specific properties are given for each compound listed, with a coded reference to the source. Published as part of series: National Research Council. Publication 976.

Handbook of Physical Calculations: : Definitions, Formulas, Technical Applications, Physical Tables, Conversion Tables, Graphs, Dictionary of Physical Terms. 2nd ed., 1983
Jan J. Tuma. (New York : McGraw-Hill), 1983.

QC 61 T85 1983 Middleton Reference


Concise summaries of definitions, formulas, tables and examples of technology physics. Covers statics, dynamics, mechanics, electrostatics, magnetism, vibration, and optics, with physical and conversion tables.

Landolt-Bornstein. 6th ed., 1950-80; New Series 1961 -

QC 61 L332 Base: 4 vols. in 28 parts; New Series ongoing Chemistry Reference


This venerable German source is the most comprehensive printed compilation of numerical data in the physical sciences. Consult the user guides and comprehensive indexes. Base set consists of:

The New Series is divided into seven subject groups. Originally published in German as: Zahlenwerte und Funktionen aus Naturwissenschaften und Technik. Neue Serie ; Tbd. A-b.

For more information about using this series see the handout for Landolt-Bornstein: A Basic Guide.

Physical Properties: A Guide to the Physical, Thermodynamic, and Transport Property Data of Industrially Important Chemical Compounds. 1977
Carl L. Yaws. (New York : Chemical Engineering), 1977.

TP 200 Y38 Chemistry Reference


Physical, thermodynamic, and transport data of important industrial compounds (both organic and inorganic) are presented in graph form.

Manual of Symbols and Terminology for Physicochemical Quantities and Units. 2nd rev. Ed., 1979
David Hardy Whiffen. (Oxford ; New York : Pergamon Press), 1979.

QD 451.5 I57 1979 Chemistry Resources


Chemistry, Physical and theoretical--Notation. Chemistry, Physical and theoretical-- Terminology

Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants and Some Mathematical Functions. 12th ed., 1959
Thomas Howell Laby and George William Clarkson Kaye. (London, New York, Longmans, Green), 1959.

QC 61 K3 1959 Chemistry Reference


Broad selection of constants for general physics, chemistry, atomic and nuclear physics, and some mathematical functions.

Formulas, Facts And Constants For Students And Professionals In Engineering, Chemistry And Physics. 1982 QC 61 F58 1982 Middleton Stacks

Physics--Handbooks, manuals, etc. Includes bibliographical references.

Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data. v. 1- 1972-
(New York: American Chemical Society)

QC 61 J68 Shelved alphabetically in Chemistry Journals stacks


Science--Tables--Periodicals. Physics--Tables--Periodicals. Chemistry--Tables-- Periodicals. Supplements accompany some vols. Published by the American Chemical Society and the American Institute of Physics for the National Bureau of Standards. Also appears on a regular basis in: Current physics microform, Section I.

Thermodynamics
General Sources | Thermodynamics | Steam Tables | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

Dictionary of Thermodynamics. 1976
Arthur M. James. (New York: Wiley), 1976.

QC 310.3 J35 1976 Middleton Reference


Entries are thorough, cross-referenced, and contain many formulas and illustrations.

Gas Tables: International Version. (SI Units) 2nd ed., 1983
Joseph Henry Keenan, Jing Chao, and Gilbert M. Edelman. (New York: Wiley), 1983.

QC 161.5 K43 1983 Middleton Stacks


Tables of thermodynamic data for air, hydrocarbon fuels, N2, O2, CO2, H2, CO, etc. and compressible flow functions. Thermodynamic properties of air products of combustion and component gases compressible flow functions.

Gas Tables. 1st ed., 1948
Joseph Henry Keenan and Joseph Kaye. (New York: Wiley), 1983.

QC 161.5 K43 1983 Middleton Stacks


Tables of thermodynamic data for air, hydrocarbon fuels, N2, O2, CO2, H2, CO, etc. and compressible flow functions. Thermodynamic properties of air products of combustion and component gases compressible flow functions.

Handbook of Heats of Mixing. 1982 -
James J. Christensen, Richard W. Hanks, and Reed McNeil Izatt Hanks. (New York: Wiley), 1982.

TP 156 M5 C48 1982 Main volume plus supplement Middleton Stacks


Compilation of enthalpy changes for mixing of liquids, along with temperature, pressure, method and conditions, purity, and literature references. With empirical formula, synonym, and reference indexes.

Handbook of the Thermodynamics of Organic Compounds. 1987 QD 504 S753 1987 Chemistry Reference

Brief listing for organic and organometallic compounds, by formula, giving registry number, toxicity, melting point, boiling point, liquid molar volume, critical temperature, pressure and volume, and Antoine constants.

Handbook of Thermodynamic Tables and Charts. 1976
Kuzman Raznjevic. (Washington : Hemisphere Pub. Corp.), 1976.

QC 311.3 R3913 Middleton Reference


Thermodynamics--Tables. Translation of the Russian title: Termodinamicke Tablice.

Handbook of Thermodynamic Tables and Charts. 1976

QC 311.3 R 3913 Middleton Reference


Data for various solids, liquids, vapors and gases, with a sizable section on units, measures, and conversion factors. Includes data for oils, fuels, solvents, freons, and other industrial products as well as typical compounds.

Handbook of Vapor Pressures and Heats of Vaporization of Hydrocarbons and Related Compounds. 1971
Randolph C. Wilhoit. (College Station: Thermodynamics Research Center, Dept. Of Chemistry, Texas A & M University), 1971.

QD 305 H5 W54 Chemistry Reference (Shelved with API-44/TRC)


Tables of numerical data on boiling points, vapor pressure, heats of vaporization of pure hydrocarbons and related sulfur compounds, extracted from the API Research Project 44Õs Selected Values publications. Compounds are indexed by normal boiling point and by name.

Heat Capacities and Entropies of Organic Compounds in the Condensed Phase. 1984
Eugene S. Domalski, William H. Evans, and Elizabeth D. Hearing. (Washington, D.C. : American Chemical Society ; New York, N.Y.: American Institute of Physics for National Bureau of Standards), 1984.

QC 145.4 T5 D66 1984 Chemistry Reference


1400 organic compounds in liquids and solid phases have values for enthalpies and entropies of phase transitions. Compiled from 800 references between 1925 and 1982. Compounds are listed by formula, with name index at the back. Also issued as Supplement no.1 to v.13 (1984) of >Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data

JANAF Thermochemical Tables. 3rd ed., 1985
(Washington, D.C. : American Chemical Society ; New York : American Institute of Physics for the National Bureau of Standards), 1986.

QD 511.8 J36 1986 2 vols. Chemistry Reference

Property tables for 1800 inorganic and organic (C1 and C2) substances, in SI units. Covers heat capacity, entropy, Gibbs energy function, enthalpies, etc. including references to source literature. Also available online from STN. Issued as: Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data, 14 (1985) suppl. no.1. Thermodynamic Tables in SI (Metric) Units (Systeme International d'Unites) : With Conversion Factors to Other Metric and British Units. 3rd ed., 1990. Richard Wilson Haywood. (Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press), 1990.
QC 311 H34 1990 Middleton Stacks


Thermodynamics--Tables.

NBS Tables of Chemical Thermodynamic Properties. 1982

QD 65 N357 1982


Recommended values for inorganic and C1/C2 organic substances, including enthalpy of formation, Gibbs energy of formation, entropy, heat capacity, etc. in SI units.

National Standard Reference Data Service of the USSR. 1987 -

Translations of a series of data compilations by Soviet experts, based on worldwide literature sources. Extensive introductory chapters precede data tables in SI units. The volumes are scattered in the collection:

Pressure-Volume-Temperature Relationships of Organic Compounds. 1952
Robert Rickert Dreisbach. (Sandusky, Ohio, Handbook Publishers), 1952.
QD 518 D7 1952 Chemistry Stacks


Compilation of P-T and latent heat data. See the introduction and p.294ff to decipher the complex Cox chart family arrangements of the tables. A reference volume for reading directly the variation of vapor pressure with temperature of a compound belonging to one of the twenty-three Cox chart families.

Selected Values of Chemical Thermodynamic Properties. 1981

QD 511.8 R688 1981


Circular 500 of the National Bureau of Standards, this is a compilation of standard values. See the introduction for an explanation of the unusual arrangement of compounds.

Selected Values of Physical and Thermodynamic Properties of Hydrocarbons and Related Compounds. 1953

QD 305 H5 R62


Tables of API-44 data up to 1952. Indexes of properties and compounds in the back.

Tables of Thermal Properties of Gases. 1955

QC 286 H53


NBS compilation of data for air, Argon, CO2, CO, H2, N2, O2, and steam. Includes density, specific heat, enthalpy, entropy, sound velocity, viscosity, thermal conductivity, Prandtl number, vapor pressures, etc.

Thermal Conductivity of the Elements. 1974

QC 321 H67 1975 Middleton Stacks


Experimental and estimated date for 105 elements. Arranged alphabetically by element.

Thermochemical Data of Organic Compounds. 2nd ed., 1986
J.B. Pedley, Richard David Naylor, and Steven Paul Kirby. (London; New York : Chapman and Hall), 1986.

QD 511.8 P43 1986 Chemistry Reference


Tables of standard enthalpies of formation and experimental thermochemical data for 3000 organic compounds of C, H, O, N, S, and halogens, ranging from simple alkanes to complex biological compounds. With name and registry number indexes.

Thermochemical Data of Pure Substances. 1993

QD 511.8 B369 1993 Chemistry Reference


Property tables for 2400 substances (mostly inorganic) as a function of temperature at 100-degree intervals: heat capacity, entropy, Gibbs entropy function, enthalpy, etc.

Thermodynamic Data for Pure Compounds. 1986
Buford D. Smith and Rakesh Srivastava. (Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier), 1986.

QD 305 H5 S63 1986 2 vols. Chemistry Reference
Pt. A. Hydrocarbons and ketones
Pt. B. Halogenated hydrocarbons and alcohols.

Published as part of series: Physical Sciences Data ; 25.

Thermodynamic Functions of Gases. 1956
F. Din. (London, Butterworths Scientific Publications), 1956.

QD 511 D53 1956 Middleton Stacks
v. 1. Ammonia, carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide.
v. 2. Air, acetylene, ethylene, propane and argon.
v. 3. Methane, nitrogen, ethane.


Thermodynamics of gases. Includes bibliography.

Thermochemical Properties of Inorganic Substances. 1973-77
Ihsan Barin, Ottmar Knackle, and Oswald Kubaschewski. (Berlin, New York, Springer-Verlag), 1973.

QD 511.8 B37 1973 2 vols. Chemistry Reference
QD 511 .8 B37 Sup. 1977 Chemistry Reference


Compounds arranged in formula order; see p. xviii for symbol definitions. The supplement has data for 800 additional compounds.

Thermodynamic Values at Low Temperature for Natural Inorganic Materials : An Uncritical Summary. 1987. Terri L. Woods and Robert M. Garrels. (New York : Oxford University Press), 1987.

QD 511.8 .W66 1987 Chemistry Reference

Thermochemistry--Tables. Inorganic compounds--Thermal properties--Tables.

Thermochemistry of Organic and Organometallic Compounds. 1970
J.D. Cox and G. Pilcher. (London, New York, Academic Press), 1970.

QD 511 C66 1970 Chemistry Reference


Main table critically compiles standard heats of formation and vaporization at 25 ¡C for organic and organometallic compounds arranged by empirical formula. Also includes extensive explanatory chapters on definitions, methods, and applications.

Thermodynamic Data for Pure Compounds. 2nd ed., 1993
Ihsan Barin. (Weinheim, Federal Republic of Germany ; New York : VCH), 1993.

QD 305 H5 S63 1986 2 vols. Chemistry Reference
pt. 1. Ag-Kr
pt. 2. La-Zr.


Values for vapor pressure, saturated liquid density, heat of vaporization, saturated vapor volume. Name and formula indexes for each compound type precede the tables.

Thermal Conductivity of the Elements : A Comprehensive Review. 1975
C. Y. Ho, R. W. Powell, and P. E. Liley. (Washington, DC : Published by the American Chemical Society, for the National Bureau of Standards), 1974, 1975.

QC 321 H67 1975 Middleton Stacks


Published as a reprint of: Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data : Supplement ; v. 3, no. 1. Heat--Conduction--Charts, diagrams heat conduction, chemical elements, thermal properties, and electrical properties.

Thermodynamic Functions of Gases. 1956

QD 511 D53 3 vols. Middleton Stacks, Chemistry Stacks


Text and properties for ammonia, CO2, CO, air, acetylene, ethelene, propane, argon, ethane, methane, and nitrogen.

Thermal Conductivity of Gases and Liquids. 1965
N.V. TSederberg. (Cambridge, M.I.T. Press), 1965.

QC 321 T713 Middleton Stacks


Heat--Conduction. Translation from the Russian title: Teploprovodnost' Gazov i Zhidkostei.

Tables of Thermodynamic and Transport Properties of Air, Argon, Carbon Dioxide, Carbon Monoxide, Hydrogen, Nitrogen, Oxygen, and Steam. 1960
Joseph Hilsenrath. (New York, Oxford, Pergamon Press), 1960.

QC 311 H56 1960 Middleton Stacks


Thermodynamic gas tables. Originally published as National Bureau of Standards Circular 564 by the United States Department of Commerce, under the title of: Tables of Thermal Properties of Gases. Includes bibliographies.

Thermodynamic Values at Low Temperature for Natural Inorganic Materials. 1956

QD 511.8 W66 1987 Chemistry Reference


Table showing enthalpy of formation, Gibbs energy, and entropy for common elements, aqueous species, gases, liquids and minerals. Listed by element and formula.

Thermophysical Properties of Matter. (Touloukian) 1970-77
Yeram Sarkis Touloukian. (New York, IFI/Plenum), 1970-

QC 171 P83 1970 14 vols. plus Master Index Middleton Stacks


Title of volumes in series:

A very comprehensive collection of evaluated thermodynamic data, compiled by TPRC/CINDAS. Consult the master index for your substance.

Vapor Pressure of Organic Compounds. 1954
Thomas Earl Jordan. (New York, Interscience Publishers), 1954.

QD 476 J6 1954 Chemistry Reference


Chapters grouped by chemical class, in ascending order of complexity. Each section has a master table, individual compound tables, references, and V-T curve graphs. Name index in back.

Steam Tables
General Sources | Thermodynamics | Steam Tables | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

NBS/NRC Steam Tables : Thermodynamic and Transport Properties and Computer Program for Vapor and Liquid States of Water in SI Units. 1984
Lester Haar, John S. Gallagher, and George S. Kell. (Washington, DC : Hemisphere Pub. Corp.), 1984.

TJ 270 H3 1984 Middleton Stacks


Steam--Tables. Steam--Thermal properties--Computer programs. Tables ... approved by the Office of Standard Reference Data of the National Bureau of Standards and incorporated into the National Standard Reference Data System

Properties of Water and Steam in SI-units : Thermodynamische Eigenschaften von Wasser und Wasserdampf : 0-800¡C, 0-1000 bar. 2nd rev. ed. 1975
Ernst Schmidt. ( Berlin ; Heidelberg ; New York : Springer ; Munchen : Oldenbourg), 1979.

TJ 270 S26 1979 Middleton Stacks


Steam tables. Foreword in German and English.

ASME Steam Tables: Thermodynamic and Transport Properties of Steam. 3rd ed. 1977
American Society of Mechanical Engineers. (New York : The Society), 1977.

TJ 270 A4 1977 Middleton Stacks


Comprising tables and charts for steam and water calculated using the 1967 IFC formulation for industrial use, in conformity with the 1963 International skeleton tables as adopted by the Sixth International Conference on the Properties of Steam. Prepared for the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Research Committee on the Properties of Steam.

Steam and Air Tables in Si Units : Including Data for Other Substances and a Separate Mollier Chart for Steam. 1976
Thomas F. Irvine, Jr. and James P. Hartnett. (Washington : Hemisphere Pub. Corp)., 1976.

TJ 270 I78 1976 Middleton Stacks


Steam--Tables. Air--Tables. Refrigerants--Tables. Metric system--Tables.

Steam Tables; Thermodynamic Properties of Water Including Vapor, Liquid, and Solid Phases. 1969.
Joseph H. Keenan. (New York, Wiley), 1969.

QC 311 S79 1969b Middleton Reference


Thermodynamics--Tables. Steam--Tables. International edition in metric units. Introduction in English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish. Includes bibliographical references. 


Other Sources of Thermodynamic Data for Chemical Substances

NOTE: There are many more published sources of thermodynamic data for chemical substances, as well as databases containing this information. The sources listed here are merely a selection of printed sources; and these tend to be scattered through the collection, making browsing difficult. Also, general chemistry handbooks such as the:

contain tables of physical data and methods. See the handouts for General Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, and Inorganic Chemistry for listings of these and other relevant tools. Ask a librarian if you cannot locate data for a particular compound. 

Indexes
General Sources | Thermodynamics | Steam Tables | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

  • Chemical Abstracts. 1907 -
  • Shelved in Reference Stacks; newest issues on Index Table.


    The premier indexing source for chemical, biochemical, and chemical engineering literature, covering over 12,000 journals and conferences, as well as technical reports, dissertations, books, and patents. There are two basic parts: the weekly abstracts issues, arranged by topics (each issue contains its own indexes), and cumulative semiannual indexes, offering access by chemical substances name, formula, general subject, and author. There are also Collective Indexes covering 10 - or 5 - year periods. Use the printed flyers available in the Library to learn the basics of searching the printed indexes.

    Section 65-78 of the weekly issues cover topics in physical chemistry.

    Other parts of CA to know about:

  • Index Guide

  • Annual thesaurus providing subject headings and controlled vocabulary, cross- references and indexing notes for use with Chemical Abstracts' Chemical Substance and General Subject indexes. Located on the Index Table.
  • Registry Handbook -- Common Names

  • Annual microfiche listing of chemical names and synonyms that gives registry number and formula for nearly 700,00 compounds as indexed in CA. The Name Section lists substance names selected from the Registry nomenclature file. The Number Section lists, by registry number, the corresponding CA Index Name for use in the printed indexes, along with synonyms. Next to the online Registry file, this is the best place to find registry numbers for searching in CAS Online, or Index Names for searching in the printed CA indexes.
  • Registry Handbook -- Number Section 1965 -

  • Printed cumulation of all registry numbers assigned by CAS since 1965, showing CA Index Names and formula for searching in the indexes. Check the annual update for cumulative changes. Shelved near the end of the CA index area.
  • Ring System Handbook 1988 4 vols. plus supplement

  • Compound-locating index arranged by the number of rings in a structure, then by the size of the component rings in ascending order (e.g., 5,6,7). Elemental components are arranged in Hill order. Entries give CAS registry number, Ring File number, index name, molecular formula, WLN, and structure diagram. Shelved on the CA Index Table.
  • CASSI 1989

  • Retrospective listing of journal titles, conference titles, and other printed sources abstracted by CA, listed by their established CA abbreviations. Appears every 5 years, with quarterly updates. Very comprehensive. Located on the circulation desk.

    Other indexes and databases, such as Physics Abstracts and Engineering Index and their online equivalents, are also very pertinent to topics in physical chemistry. Both are available online through Lexis/Nexis, Dialog, STN , and Medline is available at the Chemistry Resources and Middleton Reference area.

    Chemical Abstracts is available online after 1967.
    Available through Dialog/STN or by full-service searches.

    ONLINE CATALOG
    General Sources | Thermodynamics | Steam Tables | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

    Use ONLINE CATALOG to locate books and journals held by the LSU Libraries on this topic. To search by subject, use established Library of Congress Subject Headings from the red volumes near the terminals. Use the subject search field. Relevant general headings include:

    Chemistry, Physical and Theoretical
    Chemistry, Physical Organic
    Thermodynamics -- Tables
    Gases -- Liquefaction
    Entropy
    Thermochemistry


    Also not that the subheading -- Thermal properties occurs under some headings for substances or classes of compounds, for example:

    Ethane -- Thermal Properties


    For example: >methane thermal properties

    The keyword search is also useful as an alternative search method.

    air thermal
    thermophysical properties
    chemical thermodynamics


    Similar searches in the periodical index database of the ONLINE CATALOG will help locate journal articles on these topics.


    For questions or comments about this page, please contact
    William Armstrong


    Chemistry Resources
    LSU Libraries | Louisiana State University
    Baton Rouge, LA 70803-3100
    Tel (225) 578-8875 | Fax (225) 578-9432
    Copyright © 1999 - 2009 LSU Libraries
    Last Updated: 2007