|
|
|
General References
General References | Properties
and Constants | Synthesis and Reactions |
Nomenclature
| Spectra | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Chemical Elements and Their Compounds. 1950
Comprehensive Inorganic Chemistry. 1973
Collection of background articles by specialists, arranged by periodic
table group. Master index in vol. 5.
Comprehensive Treatise on Inorganic and Theoretical Chemistry.(Mellor's)
Dated but still useful set, arranged by chemical element. See the
general index in vol. 16.
Encyclopedia of the Chemical Reactions. 1959
Concise information on the nature, properties, and behavior of the
first 103 elements, with emphasis on elemental form, but also including
history, prevalence, sources, derivation, and applications.
Gmelins Handbuch der Anorganischen Chemie. 8th ed., 1922 -
Extensive compilation of critically evaluated data and information
on inorganics and organometallics, compiled from the literature: by the
mid-1980's over 400,000 compounds were treated in more than 400 volumes.
Grouped by atomic symbol, the volumes are divided into the Main Series
and Supplements. Finding a piece of data in them can be rather complicated,
particularly if the user is not familiar with German. After 1982 the volumes
are in English. Some elements have their own indexes volumes through 1987.
Properties and Constants
General References | Properties
and Constants | Synthesis and Reactions |
Nomenclature
| Spectra | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Critical Stability Constants. Vol. 4: Inorganic Complexes. 1975
Tables giving heats, entropies, and free energies of reactions.
With extensive reference list and ligand name and formula indexes.
Physical Properties of Inorganic Compounds. 1975
Selected Constants: Oxidation - Reduction Potentials of Inorganic Substances in Aqueous Solutions. 1958
Thermodynamic Values at Low Temperature for Natural Inorganic Materials.
Table of uncritical values and their sources. Arranged by main element,
then by formula. Columns give physical state, enthalpy or formation, Gibbs
free energy of formation, and entropy. Reference list at back.
NOTE: There are many other printed sources for property data on inorganics. Thermodynamic data are especially abundant, in many formats. Check in ONLINE CATALOG or browse the shelves at QD 63 -- QD 79 and QD 501 -- QD 572. Sources listed on the General Chemistry,Physical Chemistry I and Physical Chemistry II handouts are also helpful, but are not duplicated on this list.
Synthesis and Reaction
General References | Properties
and Constants | Synthesis and Reactions |
Nomenclature
| Spectra | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Encyclopedia of Chemical Reactions. 1946 - 1959
Entries arranged by principal element, then by reactant formula,
then by reagent formula. A brief "conditions paragraph" of the reaction
accompanies the reaction equation, and finally there is a source reference.
Each volume has its won reagent formula and product name indexes.
Handbook of Preparative Inorganic Chemistry. 2nd ed., 1963 - 1965
Compendium or preparative methods for hundreds of inorganic substances;
includes a section on lab apparatus and procedures. Formula and subject
index in vol. 2.
Inorganic Syntheses. 1939 -
Series containing checked synthetic procedures for inorganic compounds.
Cumulative indexes for names and formulas are in vols. 10, 15, 20, 25,
and in most others as well.
Nomenclature
General References | Properties
and Constants | Synthesis and Reactions |
Nomenclature
| Spectra | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Inorganic Chemical Nomenclature: Principles and Practice.
Background understanding of principles currently in use for naming
inorganic substances, groups of elements, reactions, and properties.
Nomenclature of Inorganic Chemistry. (IUPAC) 2nd ed., 1970
Known as the "Red Book", this is IUPAC's set of rules for naming
inorganic substances, including elements, ions, radical, acids, salts,
coordination compounds, addition compounds, and crystalline phases.
How to Name an Inorganic Substance. 1977
A brief guide to IUPAC's "red book" of nomenclature rules from 1970
(see below).
Spectra
General References | Properties
and Constants | Synthesis and Reactions |
Nomenclature
| Spectra | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Inorganic Infrared and Raman Spectra . 1972
Vibrational and infrared spectra for inorganic chemistry. Published
as part of series: McGraw-Hill European Chemistry Series.
See the guide to Spectra and Spectral Data: Guide to Reference Sources for other sources that contain this information for various substances. The Aldrich and Sadtler libraries of reference spectra contain IR, NMR, and UV spectra for some inorganics, but in general published spectra are harder to find for them.
Indexes
General References | Properties
and Constants | Synthesis and Reactions |
Nomenclature
| Spectra | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Chemical Abstracts. 1907 -
The premier indexing source for chemical, biochemical, and chemical
engineering literature, covering over 12,000 journals and confernces, as
well as technical reports, dissertations, books, and patents. There are
two basic parts: the weekly abstracts issues, arranged by topics (each
issue contains its own indexes), and cumulative semiannual indexes, offering
access by chemical substances name, formula, general subject, and author.
There are also Collective Indexes covering 10 - or 5 - year periods. Use
the printed flyers available in the Library to learn the basics of searching
the printed indexes.
Other parts of CA to know about:
Index Guide.
Annual thesaurus providing subject headings and controlled vocabulary, cross-refernces and indexing notes for use with CA's Chemical Substance and General Subject indexes. Located on the Index Table.
Registry Handbook -- Common Names.
Annual microfiche listing of chemical names and synonyms that gives registry number and formula for nearly 700,00 compounds as indexed in CA. The Name Section lists substance names selected from the Registry nomenclature file. The Number Section lists, by registry number, the corresponding CA Index Name for use in the printed indexes, along with synonyms. Next to the online Registry file, this is the best place to find registry numbers for searching in CAS Online, or Index Names for searching in the printed CA indexes.
Registry Handbook -- Number Section. 1965 -
Printed cumulation of all registry numbers assigned by CAS since 1965, showing CA Index Names and formula for searching in the indexes. Check the annual update for cumulative changes. Shelved near the end of the CA index area.
Ring System Handbook. 1988 4 vols. plus supplement
Compound-locating index arranged by the number of rings in a structure, then by the size of the component rings in ascending order (e.g., 5,6,7). Elemental components are arranged in Hill order. Entries give CAS registry number, Ring File number, index name, molecular formula, WLN, and structure diagram. Shelved on the CA Index Table.
CASSI. 1989
Retrospective listing of journal titles, conference titles, and other printed sources abstracted by CA, listed by their established CA abbreviations. Appears every 5 years, with quarterly updates. Very comprehensive. Located on the circulation desk.
Chemical Abstracts is available online after 1967. Available through Dialog/STN or by full-service searches.
ONLINE CATALOG
General References | Properties
and Constants | Synthesis and Reactions |
Nomenclature
| Spectra | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Use ONLINE CATALOG to locate books and journals held by the LSU Libraries on this topic. To search by subject, use established Library of Congress Subject Headings from the red volumes near the terminals. Use the subject search feild. Relevant general headings include:
Similar searches in the periodical index of the ONLINE CATALOG or the Library LAN will help locate journal articles on these topics.