|
|
|
Compound Identification and Properties
Compound Identification and Properties |
Major Reference Sources | Synthesis
and Reaction Information | Nomenclature
| Organometallics and Coordination Chemistry
| Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
A first-stop reference source containing a wealth of basic chemical
and physical data for compounds, as well as many other useful tables, constants
and formulas, and definitions. Section 3, a table of physical constants
for organic compounds, shows molecular weight, color, boiling point, melting
point, density, solubility, with Beilstein references. Consult the table's
own indexes as well as the index in the back. Published annually.
CRC Handbook of Tables for Organic Compound Identification. 3rd ed., 1967
Over 8,000 parent compounds, grouped in tables by chemical class.
With a name index.
Dictionary of Organic Compounds. (Heilbron) 5th ed., 1982
Entries contain melting point, boiling point, solubility, CAS
registry number, references to preparation literature, and often the structure.
Indexes in vols. 6 and 7 contain compound listings by name, molecular formula,
heteroatom, and CAS registry number. There is also a cumulative index for
Supplements 1-5. Available online from Dialog as part of the Chapman &
Hall Chemical Dictionary file.
Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds. (HODOC) 2nd ed., 1989
Major data collection, giving names, synonyms, structures, formulas
(line and molecular), physical constants, spectral data (IR, Raman, NMR,
UV, Mass), as well as CAS registry numbers and Beilstein references. Index
volumes: vol.7 -- synonyms; vols.8-9 -- formula; melting point, boiling
point, molecular weight, plus extensive spectral data indexes.
Handbook of Organic Chemistry. 1987
Property table of over 4,000 compounds, including Beilstein references;
other tables also.
Physical Constants of Hydrocarbons. 1950-1953.
Dated but still useful compilation of data, arranged by compound
class. Melting point, boiling point, specific gravity, and refractive index
are given in tabular form.
Physico-Chemical Constants of Pure Organic Compounds. 1950, 1965
Tables giving boiling point, vapor pressure, melting point, specific
weights, viscosity, surface tension, magnetic susceptibility, dielectric
constants, heat constants, and other physical properties for several thousand
organic substances grouped by class. Vol.1 has name and formula indexes;
the update volume has a name index.
Major Reference Sources
Compound Identification and Properties |
Major Reference Sources | Synthesis
and Reaction Information | Nomenclature
| Organometallics and Coordination Chemistry
| Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Beilstein's Handbook of Organic Chemistry. 4th ed., 1918 -
The most extensive source for property and synthesis information
on carbon compounds. Access is either through the Indexes (formula and
name) or by the "Beilstein System" or compound classification. The Basic
Work (Hauptwerk) and its first four Supplements (Erganzungswerke) cover
the organic literature comprehensively and critically up to 1959. The 5th
Supplement covers heterocyclic compounds between the 1960 and 1979. (The
Library stopped buying new volumes in 1992.) See users guides on the Index
Table for further information. Beilstein is available online on STN and
Dialog.
Chemistry of Functional Groups. (Patai) 1964 -
Series of volumes dealing with the Characteristics, synthesis,
and chemical nature of particular classes of compounds. A complete guide
and index to the series, Patai's 1989 Guide to the Chemistry of Functional
Groups, is in the Reference Shelves at QD 251.2 P34 1989 and is annotated
showing call numbers of the individual volumes in the collection. Check
ONLINE CATALOG for up-to-date status and location information. Search ONLINE CATALOG by keyword
search field and search by topic.
(LSU does
not own all volumes.)
Chemistry of Heterocyclic Compounds. 1950 -
Series of volumes dealing with syntheses, reactions, properties,
structures, physical chemistry, and utility of compounds belonging to specific
ring systems or classes. Each volume has a specific topic and a separate
record in ONLINE CATALOG. There is no series index. Search ONLINE CATALOG by keyword search
(k = chemistry heterocyclic chemistry) and search by topic.
Comprehensive Organic Chemistry. 1979
Excellent background source.
Rodd's Chemistry of Carbon Compounds. 2nd ed., 1964 -
Arranged in multi-part volumes with supplements:
Each volume or supplement is essentially a stand-alone monograph
on specific types of compounds, with its own index.
Synthesis and Reaction Information
Compound Identification and Properties |
Major Reference Sources | Synthesis
and Reaction Information | Nomenclature
| Organometallics and Coordination Chemistry
| Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Comprehensive Organic Transformations. 1989
Condensed, systematic compilation of useful synthetic methodologies.
Reactions are organized by functional group being synthesized, and subdivided
by major processes. Transformation index in the back.
Comprehensive Heterocyclic Chemistry. 1984
Overview of the topic, with emphasis on basic principles. Volume
8 has indexes by subject, author, ring system, and data values.
Methoden der Organischen Chemie. (Houben-Weyl) 4th ed., 1952 -
Extensive German series giving selected and detailed methods
for preparation or organic and organometallic compounds. Each volume and
its subparts deal with specific classes of compounds. Subject indexes in
the subvolumes give German chemical names; there are also detailed tables-of-contents.
The three parts of vol. XVI are name and formula indexes for vols. 1-15
and supplements E1-E5 and E11.
Name Reactions and Reagents in Organic Synthesis. 1988
Useful compilation of name reaction data, giving general scheme,
mechanism, examples, and references. Reagent section list uses, preparation,
examples, and references.
Organic Reactions. 1942 -
Each volume is a collection of several chapters each devoted
to a single reaction or phase. Emphasis is on preparation, giving detailed
procedures for each method, plus examples and bibliographies. The latest
cumulative topic, author and chapter index is in vol.39.
Organic Synthesis. 1921 -
Annual compilations of checked laboratory methods for preparing
organic compounds. These volumes are eventually revised and reissued as
the Collective Volumes (see below), after which they go the regular stacks.
Organic Syntheses: Collective Volumes. 1932 -
Revision and cumulation of the above series. Cumulative index
for vols. 1-5, and Reaction Guide.
Organic Syntheses [Online]: A Publication of Reliable Methods for the
Preparation of Compounds
- Online version of the Annual and Cumulative volumes of Organic Synthesis
and Organic Syntheses, respectively. Website by CambridgeSoft.
Reagents for Organic Synthesis. (Fieser) 1967 -
Compendium of uses of common and new reagents including preparation,
supply sources, critical comments, and references. Arranged alphabetically
with indexes in each volume. Cumulative index for vols. 1-12.
Survey of Organic Syntheses. 1970
Chapters discuss functional groups. With subject and author indexes;
cumulative reaction index in volume 2.
Theilheimer's Synthetic Methods of Organic Chemistry. 1940 -
Ongoing collection of organic reactions, drawn from the literature.
Gives brief information on the auxiliary reagents, reaction title, reaction
scheme, experimental details, and references. Cumulative indexes in vols.
5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 43.
Nomenclature
Compound Identification and Properties |
Major Reference Sources | Synthesis
and Reaction Information | Nomenclature
| Organometallics and Coordination Chemistry
| Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Organic Nomenclature. 1979
IUPAC's collected recommendations on nomenclature of hydrocarbons,
heterocyclic systems, and others, plus sections on stereochemistry, natural
products, and isotopically modified compounds.
The Vocabulary of Organic Chemistry. 1980
Not a typical dictionary, but a series of chapters grouping organic
concepts and defining terms, with examples. Consult the index and table
of contents.
Organometallic and Coordination Chemistry
Compound Identification and Properties |
Major Reference Sources | Synthesis
and Reaction Information | Nomenclature
| Organometallics and Coordination Chemistry
| Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry. 1982
Compilation of current organometallic and carbon monoxide chemistry,
reviewing the elements individually, surveying uses in synthesis and catalysis,
bonding, behavior in solution, and environmental impact. Vol. 9 has indexes
by subject, author, formula, and structure type.
Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds. 1984 -
Sections arranged by metal element, and subarranged by molecular
formula in Hill order. Entries give CA index name, and synonyms, structure
diagram, Registry Number, molecular weight, physical and toxicity data
where available, and literature references. Vol. 3 has indexes for name,
molecular formula, and registry number.
Gmelins Handbuch der Anorganischen Chemie. 8th ed., 1922 -
Extensive compilation of critically evaluated data and information
on inorganics and organometallics, compiled from the literature. By the
mid-1980's over 400,000 compounds were treated in more than 400 volumes.
Shelved by atomic symbol, the volumes are broken down into the Main Series
and Supplements. Consult supplements first for the latest and most extensive
data. Most volumes are in German, but after 1982 all are in English. Some
sections have their own index volumes, and there are cumulative formula
indexes covering all volumes through 1987, located on the Index Table.
Handbook of Organometallic Compounds. 1968
Data on compounds of typical and transition metals, grouped by
type of metal and then by increasing molecular formula (Hill). Entries
contain name, structural formula, preparation methods, physical properties,
reactivity, uses, and refernces. Glossary and name index in the back.
Indexes
Compound Identification and Properties |
Major Reference Sources | Synthesis
and Reaction Information | Nomenclature
| Organometallics and Coordination Chemistry
| Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Chemical Abstracts. 1907 -
The premier indexing source for chemical, biochemical, and chemical
engineering literature, covering over 12,000 journals and confernces, as
well as technical reports, dissertations, books, and patents. There are
two basic parts: the weekly abstracts issues, arranged by topics (each
issue contains its own indexes), and cumulative semiannual indexes, offering
access by chemical substances name, formula, general subject, and author.
There are also Collective Indexes covering 10 - or 5 - year periods. Use
the printed flyers available in the Library to learn the basics of searching
the printed indexes.
Sections 21-34 cover topics in Organic Chemistry.
Other parts of CA to know about:
Annual thesaurus providing subject headings and controlled vocabulary,
cross-refernces and indexing notes for use with CA's Chemical Substance
and General Subject indexes. Located on the Index Table.
Annual microfiche listing of chemical names and synonyms that
gives registry number and formula for nearly 700,00 compounds as indexed
in CA. The Name Section lists substance names selected from the Registry
nomenclature file. The Number Section lists, by registry number, the corresponding
CA Index Name for use in the printed indexes, along with synonyms. Next
to the online Registry file, this is the best place to find registry numbers
for searching in CAS Online, or Index Names for searching in the printed
CA indexes.
Retrospective listing of journal titles, conference titles, and
other printed sources abstracted by CA, listed by their established CA
abbreviations. Appears every 5 years, with quarterly updates. Very comprehensive.
Located on the circulation desk.
Chemical Abstracts is available online after 1967. Available through Dialog/STN or by full-service searches.
ONLINE CATALOG
Compound Identification and Properties |
Major Reference Sources | Synthesis
and Reaction Information | Nomenclature
| Organometallics and Coordination Chemistry
| Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Use ONLINE CATALOG to locate books and journals held by the LSU Libraries on this topic. To search by subject, use established Library of Congress Subject Headings from the red volumes near the terminals. Use the subject search field. Relevant general headings include:
The keyword search is also useful as an alternative search
method.
Similar searches in the periodical index of the ONLINE CATALOG will
help locate journal articles on these topics.