|
|
|
General Guides
General Guides | Health and
Environmental | Material Safety Data Sheets | Laboratory
Safety | | Hazardous Materials Handling and Disposal
Guides | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Hazardous Chemicals Desk Reference. 5th ed., 2002
Richard J. Lewis, Sr. (New York : J. Wiley)
Hazardous substances--Handbooks, manuals, etc. Includes indexes.
Bretherick's Handbook Of Reactive Chemical Hazards. 6th ed., 1999, two volumes.
Volume 1 contains information on instability and interactions of specific compounds,
by formula. Volume 2 has more general information on classes or groups
of compounds, listed alphabetically.
Handbook of Chemical Risk Assessment (three volumes)
List of Lists of Worldwide Hazardous Chemicals and Pollutants.
1990
The Forum for Scientific Excellence, Inc. (Philadelphia : Lippincott)
Published as part of series: Chemical and environmental safety and health in schools and colleges series. Hazardous substances. Schools--Safety measures.
List of Lists of Worldwide Hazardous Chemicals and Pollutants.
1990
The Forum for Scientific Excellence, Inc. (Philadelphia : Lippincott),
1990.
Published as part of series: Chemical and environmental safety and health in schools and Colleges Series. Hazardous substances. Schools--Safety measures.
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials. 11th ed., 2004
Alphabetic listing of over 20,000 materials. Entries include registry number, NIOSH-RTECS accession number, toxic and hazardous reviews (THR), and toxicity data, and a hazardous rating.
Hazardous Chemicals : Information and Disposal Guide. 1987
Compendium of Safety Data Sheets for Research and Industrial Chemicals. 1985
Over 1800 compounds included. Cumulative indexes in vol. 7, for preferred name and synonyms, registry numbers, and molecular weights.
Major Chemical Hazards. 1987.
(New York : Halsted Press), 1987.
Published as part of series: Ellis Horwood Series in Chemical Engineering. Hazardous substances--Safety measures. Chemicals--Safety measures. Includes index. Bibliography: p. 540-575.
Hazardous Substances Guide for Construction. 1977
1 v. (loose-leaf) Building--Safety measures. Construction industry--Hygienic aspects. Hazardous substances. Associated General Contractors of America.
Flammable Hazardous Materials. 1970
James H. Meidl.; Illustrated by Anita Marie Meidl. (Beverly Hills,
Calif., Glencoe Press)
Published as part of series: Glencoe Press Fire Science Series. Hazardous substances. Inflammable materials. Includes bibliographies.
Journal of Hazardous Materials. v.9 (1984)-v.31 (1992)
(Amsterdam Elsevier Scientific Pub. Co.)
Hazardous substances--Periodicals. Subscription canceled after 1992.
Health and Environmental
General Guides | Health and
Environmental | Material Safety Data Sheets | Laboratory
Safety | | Hazardous Materials Handling and Disposal
Guides | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens. 3rd ed., 1991
Concise chemical, health and safety information on 800 toxic chemicals.
Information Resources in Toxicology. 2nd ed., 1988
Sourcebook for finding information on toxicology in books, journals, databases, regulations, complianaces, MSDS in the U.S. and abroad.
Chemical Hazards of the Workplace. 2nd ed., 1988
Introductory statements on toxicology of over 400 chemicals likely to be encountered at work, aimed at health professionals. Indexed by name/synonym and CAS Registry Number.
Handbook of Environmental Data on Organic Compounds. 2nd ed., 1983
Data on properties, air and water pollution factors, biological effects. Extensive introduction and molecular formula index; many references.
Chemical Hazards of the Workplace. 1978
Industrial toxicology, occupational diseases resulting from chemical exposure. Poison and poisoning. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Clinical Toxicology of Commercial Products. 4th ed., 1976
Guide to immediate treatment of chemical poisoning through misuse of consumer products, providing a list of trade names and ingredients, company information, sample formulas and toxicities, and treatment recommendations. See the chart inside the front cover for a quick guide to use.
Material Safety Data Sheets
General Guides | Health and
Environmental | Material Safety Data Sheets | Laboratory
Safety | | Hazardous Materials Handling and Disposal
Guides | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Aldrich Catalog,
Sigma-Aldrich Chemical Company
Organic and Inorganic Chemicals for Synthesis -- Sigma-Aldrich
Corporation [Fluka, Sigma, Supelco, Aldrich]
Material Safety Data Sheets of substances available from the
Aldrich Chemical Company.
Where to Find Material Safety Data Sheets on the Internet - a collection of general sites, government and non-profit sites, and chemical manufacturers and suppliers who provide online collections of MSDS.
Online Toxicology Services.
National Library of Medicine, Specialized Information Services, Toxicology
Information Program. Online services. 1982
(Washington, D.C. : U.S. G.P.O.)
Information storage and retrieval systems--Medicine. Information storage and retrieval systems--Toxicology. Includes bibliographies. Chemical and toxicological files. NLM online services.
Contents:
Registry of Toxic Effects
RTECS, Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances. 1993
(Atlanta, Ga.: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health
Service, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Institute
for Occupational Safety and Health)
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health--Databases. Toxicology--United States--Data processing. Toxicological chemistry--United States--Data processing.
Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA) Chemical Substance Inventory.
1986, 1979
(Washington, D.C. : U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of
Toxic Substances)
Hazardous substances--United States. Chemicals--United States.
Contents:
RTECS quarterly microfiche. RTECS microfiche quarterly complete file. Cincinnati, Ohio : U.S. Dept. of Health, Education, and Welfare, Public Health Service, Center for Disease Control, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health ; Washington, D.C. : Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., distributor Published as part of series: DHHS, DHEW, DHHS (NIOSH) publication. Prepared for: National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, by: Tracor Jitco, Inc. Advanced Engineering and Planning Corp. (AEPCO), Inc. Apr. 1990 -
Has annual index on microfiche: Permuted molecular formula index to the Registry of toxic effects of chemical substances. Poisons--Tables--Periodicals. Industrial toxicology--Periodicals. Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances
Guidebook, Toxic Substances Control Act. 1977
George Dominguez, editor. (Boca Raton, Fla. : CRC Press)
Chemicals, Poisons, Chemical industries--Law and legislation--United States. Poisons, Toxicology--United States--legislation. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Toxic Substances. 1971 -
(Rockville, Md.; Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off., Washington)
Poisons--Tables--Periodicals. Industrial toxicology--Periodicals. DHEW (HSM)
Laboratory Safety
General Guides | Health and
Environmental | Material Safety Data Sheets | Laboratory
Safety | | Hazardous Materials Handling and Disposal
Guides | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG
Hazards in the Chemical Laboratory. 5th ed., 1992
Main section summarizes hazards of 1,400 substances commonly used in labs.
Laboratory Safety : Principles and Practices. 1986
Editor in chief, Brinton M. Miller ; editors, Dieter H.M. Groschel...
et al. (Washington, D.C. : American Society for Microbiology)
Microbiological laboratories--Safety measures. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Chemical Technicians' Ready-Reference Handbook. 2nd ed., 1981
Chapters 2 and 3 deal with laboratory safety and chemical handling.
Laboratory Safety : Theory and Practice. 1980
Edited by Anthony A. Fuscaldo, Barry J. Erlick, Barbara Hindman. (New
York : Academic Press)
Biological and medical laboratories--Safety measures. Laboratories--Safety measures. Accident prevention. Includes index.
Safety Films Catalog. 1978-1979
Safety Education and Training, Hazards Control Development, Lawrence
Livermore Laboratory. (Washington : Dept. of Energy)
Edition revised April 1978. Accidents--Prevention--Film catalogs. Industrial safety--Film catalogs.
Laboratory Safety. 1976
M. G. Zabetakis and R. E. Cargill. (Washington : U.S. Dept. of the
Interior, Mining Enforcement and Safety Administration)
Published as part of series: MESA Safety Manual ; 4S United States. Mining Enforcement and Safety Administration. Laboratories--Safety measures. Mine safety. Prepared by the technical staff of MESA and is a supplement to MESA Safety Manual no 4, Accident prevention. Bibliography: p. 25.
CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety. 2nd ed., 1971
Overview and guide to safety practices.
First Aid
General Guides | Health
and Environmental | Material Safety Data Sheets
| Laboratory Safety | | Hazardous
Materials Handling and Disposal Guides | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
Casarett and Doull's Toxicology : The Basic Science of Poisons.
4th ed., 1991
editors, Mary O. Amdur, John Doull, Curtis D. Klaassen. (New York :
Pergamon Press)
Toxicology. Poisons. Poisoning. Includes index. Includes bibliographical references.
First-Aid Manual for Chemical Accidents. 1989
Index in front for 500 industrial products, pointing to sections on toxicology, and first aid for inhalation, ingestion, skin and eye contact.
Effects of Exposure to Toxic Gases : First Aid and Medical Treatment.
2d ed., 1977
William Braker, Allen L. Mossman, and David Siegel. (Lyndhurst, N.J.
: Matheson)
Gases, Asphyxiating and poisonous--Toxicology. Industrial toxicology. First aid in illness and injury. First Aid--handbooks. Gas Poisoning--therapy--handbooks. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Handbook of Industrial Toxicology. 2d ed., 1976
E. R. Plunkett. (New York : Chemical Publishing Co.)
Industrial toxicology.
Poisoning by Drugs and Chemicals, Plants and Animals. 3rd ed., 1974
Pocket reference with name index. An index of toxic effects and their treatment. Toxicology, antidotes and poisoning. Previous edition published as: Poisoning by Drugs and Chemicals. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Handbook of Poisoning: Diagnosis & Treatment. 7th ed., 1971
Robert H. Dreisbach. (Los Altos, Calif., Lange Medical Publications)
Toxicology--Handbooks, manuals, etc. Includes bibliographical references.
Handbook of Toxicology. 1956-59
(Philadelphia, PA: Saunders)
Prepared under the direction of the Committee on the Handbook of Biological Data, Division of Biology and Agriculture, the National Academy of Sciences, the National Research Council. National Research Council (U.S.). Committee on the Handbook of Biological Data. Includes bibliographical references. Contents:
Hazardous Materials Handling and Disposal
Guides
General Guides | Health
and Environmental | Material Safety Data Sheets
| Laboratory Safety | | Hazardous
Materials Handling and Disposal Guides | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
Hazardous Substances Resource Guide. 1993
Richard P. Pohanish and Stanley A. Greene, editors. (Detroit : Gale
Research)
Published as part of series: Gale Environmental Library. Hazardous substances--Handbooks, manuals, etc. Includes bibliographical references (p. cx-cxiv) and indexes.
Fundamentals Of Hazardous Materials Incidents. 1991
Reginald L. Campbell, Roland E. Langford. (Chelsea, Mich. : Lewis Publishers)
Hazardous substances--Accidents--Management. Hazardous materials incidents. Spine title: Hazardous Materials Incidents. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Index of Hazardous Contents of Commercial Products in Schools and
Colleges. 1990
The Forum for Scientific Excellence, Inc. (Philadelphia : J.B. Lippincott)
Published as part of series: Chemical and Environmental Safety and Health in Schools and Colleges Series. Hazardous substances. Schools--Safety measures.
Sorbents for Liquid Hazardous Substance Cleanup and Control.
1988
Robert W. Melvold, Steven C. Gibson, Robert Scarberry. (Park Ridge,
N.J.: Noyes Data Corp., 1988.
Published as part of series: Pollution Technology Review, no. 150. Hazardous substances--Handbooks, manuals, etc. Sorbents--Handbooks, manuals, etc. Includes bibliographies.
Hazardous Chemicals on File. 1988
Hazardous substances--Handbooks, manuals, etc. Includes index.
Hazardous substances--Safety measures. Includes index. Bibliography:
p. 115-118.
UPS Guide for Shipping Hazardous Materials : Publishing Hazardous
Materials of United Parcel Service, Including Specifications for Shipping
Containers. rev. ed., 1984
Hazardous materials. Hazardous substances--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Hazardous substances--Transportation--Handbooks, manuals, etc. Other titles:
Guide for shipping hazardous materials. On spine: Hazardous materials.
Hazardous Materials and Natural Disaster Emergencies: Incident Action
Guidebook: Standard Operating Procedures for Response and After Action
Report. 1984
Hazardous substances--Accidents--Handbooks, manuals, etc. Includes a
colored "disaster tag" and a plastic chart included in back pocket.
Post-Accident Procedures for Chemicals And Propellants. 1984
Published as part of series: Pollution Technology Review, no.
109. Hazardous substances--Transportation--Accidents. Includes index. Bibliography:
p. 115-117.
UPS Guide for Shipping Hazardous Materials : Publishing Hazardous
Materials of United Parcel Service, Including Specifications for Shipping
Containers. rev. ed., 1984
Hazardous materials. Hazardous substances--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Hazardous substances--Transportation--Handbooks, manuals, etc. Other titles:
Guide for Shipping Hazardous Materials. On spine: Hazardous Materials.
A Guide to the Safe Handling of Hazardous Materials Accidents.
1983
Published as part of series: ASTM Special Technical Publication
(STP) no. 825. Hazardous substances -- Accidents -- Handbooks, manuals,
etc. Special supplement, 'Initial Emergency Assessment--Initial Response
Action,' can be found on the inside back cover."
Toxic and Hazardous Industrial Chemicals Safety Manual for Handling
and Disposal with Toxicity and Hazard Data. 1975, 1982
Hazardous substances--Handbooks, manuals, etc. Chemicals--Safety measures--Handbooks,
manuals, etc. Includes indexes. Author: Kaigai Gijutsu Shiry-o Kenky-ujo.
Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials Report. v. 1- Sept./Oct.
1980
Hazardous substances--Periodicals. Industrial safety--Periodicals. Industrial
Toxicology--Periodicals.
Toxic Substances Sourcebook. 1978-1980
Published as part of series: EIC Sourcebook Series. Hazardous
substances. Poisons. Pollutants.
Fire Protection Guide on Hazardous Materials. 7th ed., 1978
Hazardous substances--Handbooks, manuals, etc. Contains new editions
of 5 publications of the Association, previously published separately in
its NFPA series as numbers FPI, 325M, 49, 491M, and 704. Includes bibliographies.
Hazardous Substances Guide For Construction. 1977
Building--Safety measures. Construction industry--Hygienic aspects.
Hazardous substances.
Indexes
Chemical Abstracts. 1907 -
The premier indexing source for chemical, biochemical, and chemical
engineering literature, covering over 12,000 journals and conferences,
as well as technical reports, dissertations, books, and patents. There
are two basic parts: the weekly abstracts issues, arranged by topics (each
issue contains its own indexes), and cumulative semiannual indexes, offering
access by chemical substances name, formula, general subject, and author.
There are also Collective Indexes covering 10 - or 5 - year periods. Use
the printed flyers available in the Library to learn the basics of searching
the printed indexes.
Section 4 (Toxicology), Section 59 (Air Pollution and Industrial
Hygiene), and Section 60 (Waste Treatment and Disposal) cover
topics in hazardous materials and safety.
Other parts of CA to know about:
Annual thesaurus providing subject headings and controlled vocabulary,
cross-references and indexing notes for use with CA's Chemical Substance
and General Subject indexes. Located on the Index Table.
Annual microfiche listing of chemical names and synonyms that gives
registry number and formula for nearly 700,00 compounds as indexed in CA.
The Name Section lists substance names selected from the Registry nomenclature
file. The Number Section lists, by registry number, the corresponding CA
Index Name for use in the printed indexes, along with synonyms. Next to
the online Registry file, this is the best place to find registry numbers
for searching in CAS Online, or Index Names for searching in the printed
CA indexes.
Printed cumulation of all registry numbers assigned by CAS since 1965,
showing CA Index Names and formula for searching in the indexes. Check
the annual update for cumulative changes. Shelved near the end of the CA
index area.
Compound-locating index arranged by the number of rings in a structure,
then by the size of the component rings in ascending order (e.g., 5,6,7).
Elemental components are arranged in Hill order. Entries give CAS registry
number, Ring File number, index name, molecular formula, WLN, and structure
diagram. Shelved on the CA Index Table.
Retrospective listing of journal titles, conference titles, and other
printed sources abstracted by CA, listed by their established CA abbreviations.
Appears every 5 years, with quarterly updates. Very comprehensive. Located
on the circulation desk.
Other indexes and databases, such as Index Medicus (Medline) and Biological
Abstracts (BIOSIS) are also very pertinent to this topic. Both are available
online through Lexis/Nexis and CIP (Classroom Instruction Program), and
Medline is available on the CD-ROM network.
Chemical Abstracts is available online after 1967. Available through
Dialog/STN or by full-service searches.
ONLINE CATALOG
Use ONLINE CATALOG to locate books and journals held by the LSU Libraries on this
topic. To search by subject, use established Library of Congress Subject
Headings from the red volumes near the terminals. Use the subject search field.
Relevant general headings include:
The keyword search is also useful as an alternative search method.
Similar searches in the periodical index of the ONLINE CATALOG will help
locate journal articles on these topics.
editor i.e. compiler , Craig T. Norback ; associate editor, Judith
C. Norback.
vol. 1. A-D
Emergency Response to Hazardous Materials Incidents. 1984
vol. 2. E-O
vol. 3. P-Z
Dennis R. DePol, Paul N. Cheremisinoff. (Lancaster, Pa. : Technomic
Pub. Co.)
(Greenwich, CT : United Parcel Service)
Ernest J. Terrien (Lancaster, Pa. : Technomic Pub. Co.)
Deborah K. Shaver and Robert L. Berkowitz. (Park Ridge, N.J. : Noyes
Publications)
(Greenwich, CT : United Parcel Service)
(Philadelphia, Pa.: ASTM -- American Society for Testing Materials.)
Kaigai Gijutsu Shiry-o Kenky-ujo. (Tokyo : International Technical
Information Institute)
(New York, Van Nostrand Reinhold)
Environment Information Center. Toxic Substances Reference Dept. (New
York, Environment Information Center, Toxic Substances Reference Dept.)
National Fire Protection Association. (Boston: National Fire Protection
Association)
The Associated General Contractors of America. (Washington, D. C. :
Associated General Contractors of America)
General Guides | Health
and Environmental | Material Safety Data Sheets
| Laboratory Safety | | Hazardous
Materials Handling and Disposal Guides | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
General Guides | Health
and Environmental | Material Safety Data Sheets
| Laboratory Safety | | Hazardous
Materials Handling and Disposal Guides | Indexes
| ONLINE CATALOG
Hazardous substances
You can also use certain subheadings with types of hazards or chemicals:
Chemicals Safety measures
Chemical laboratories Safety measures
First Aid
First Aid Handbooks, Manuals etc. Environmental aspects
For example: asbestos toxicology
Safety measures
Toxicology
William Armstrong
Chemistry Resources
LSU Libraries |
Louisiana
State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803-3100
Tel (225) 578-8875 | Fax (225) 578-9432
Copyright © 1999 - 2009 LSU
Libraries
Last Updated: 2007