LSU Libraries

Chemistry Resources



 
Subject Guide for
GENERAL CHEMISTRY

Guide to Reference Resources

Handbook
Handbooks | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias | Sources of Chemicals | Guides to Literature and Research | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

The Chemical Formulary. 1933 -

TP 151 B35
v.1 (1933) - v.28 (1988) indexes v.1-6, v.1-10, v.1-15, v.1-25


Covering all areas of chemical engineering and processing, this series includes information on preparation of home and industrial products. The library owns vols. 1-28 and a cumulative index.

Chemical Technicians' Ready Reference Handbook. 3rd ed., 1990

QD 61 S58 1981 Middleton Reference
QD 61 S58 1973 Chemistry Reference and stacks, Middleton stacks


An "omnibook" for all chemical laboratory personnel, a guide to conventional lab procedures, equipment, and terminology.

Composite Index for CRC Handbooks. 3rd ed., 1990

QD 65 C74 1990 (Index Table) 3 vols. Middleton Reference


A single index for 317 CRC handbook titles on all topics. Look under the property in question as well as under common compounds for best results. Handbook codes are listed in the front of each volume, along with call numbers and locations at LSU. Check ONLINE CATALOG to find call numbers and locations for the handbooks when in doubt.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.

QD 65 H3 (Many editions on reference shelves)


A first-stop reference source containing a wealth of basic chemical and physical data for compounds, as well as many other useful tables, constants, formulas, and definitions. Consult the index in the back for the type of data needed. Published annually.

International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology.

Q 199 N32 7 vols. and index, 1933


An older work but still useful as a compilation of data tables for many properties. Look in the index volume under they type of data needed, or under the compound name in question.

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry. 14th ed., 1992

TP 151 H25 (Reference shelves; latest edition on Chemistry Reserve)


Contains sections on mathematics, general information and conversion tables, atomic and molecular structure, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, analytical chemistry, electrochemistry, spectroscopy, and thermodynamic and physical properties of compounds. A very useful starting point.

Merck Index. 11th ed., 1989

RS 51 M4 (Reference shelves; Chemistry Reserves)


Descriptions of over 10,000 chemicals, drugs, and biological substances. Entries include name, synonyms and trademark, molecular formula (mf), molecular weight (mw), structure, physical data, and annotated literature references. Indexed by name, registry number, therapeutic category and biological activity, and formula.

Dictionaries
Handbooks | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias | Sources of Chemicals | Guides to Literature and Research | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

Compendium of Chemical Terminology: IUPAC Recommendations. 1987

QD 5 C455 1987


Terminology recommended by IUPAC for physical, inorganic macromolecular, and analytical chemistry. Very useful for finding definitions of chemical concepts.

Concise Dictionary of Chemistry. 1990

QD 5 C48 1985 Middleton Reference


Handy pocket reference.

Dictionary of Named Effects and Laws of Chemistry, Physics and Mathematics.4th ed., 1980

QD 5 B32 1980 Middleton Reference


Listing of laws, formulas, and effects that bear the name of the scientist who contributed to their discovery or description.

Gardner's Chemical Synonyms and Trade Names. 9th ed., 1987

TP 9 G286 1987


A dictionary and commercial handbook containing brief description of terms, with cross-references and British spellings. Part 2 contains a list of suppliers with their names, addresses, and a list of their products.

Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary. 13th ed., 1993

QD 5 C5 1993 Chemistry Reserve


A dictionary defining terms related to chemistry and the chemical industry. It also provides brief biographies of scientists and some American technical societies. Origins of chemical terms are given in the appendix.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Chemistry. 1984

QD 5 M357 1984


9,000 terms from all areas of chemistry.
Encyclopedias
Handbooks | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias | Sources of Chemicals | Guides to Literature and Research | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. (Kirk-Othmer) 4th ed., 1992

TP 9 E685 1992 25 vols., suppl., and index


Invaluable general information source covers preparation, manufacturing processes, uses of materials, properties of chemical substances, and chemistry fundamentals. Note: the 4th Edition began publication in 1992.

Van Nostrand Reinhold Encyclopedia of Chemistry. 4th ed., 1984

QD 5 V37 1984


800 articles by specialists, in a concise one-volume reference.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Chemistry. 1983

QD 5 M36 1983 Middleton Reference


One-volume encyclopedia covering the major areas of theoretical chemistry: inorganic, organic, physical, and analytical. Over 800 articles, many with bibliographical references at the end.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. 9th ed., 2002

Q 121 M3 2002 Middleton Reference Table 2
Q 121 M3 1982 Chemistry Reference


20 volumes, with cumulative index. Basic background articles with bibliographies. A good place to start.

Sources of Chemicals
Handbooks | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias | Sources of Chemicals | Guides to Literature and Research | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

Aldrich Catalog Handbook of Fine Chemicals.

Reference shelves


Multiuse catalog of the Aldrich Chemical Co., listing over 27,000 chemical products as well as equipment, books, and software. Chemical entries include molecular formula, molecular weight, melting point, and cross-references to Beilstein, Merck, Aldrich's spectra and safety data collections, and RTECS.

Chem Sources U.S.A.

TP 12 C441 (latest edition) Chemistry Reserve


Chem Sources International.

TP 12 C4425 1992 Chemistry Reserve


Chem Sources Europe

TP 12 C442 1980 Middleton Reference


Annual listings of commercially available chemicals and their products, with trade name and company indexes.

Guides to Literature and Research
Handbooks | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias | Sources of Chemicals | Guides to Literature and Research | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

ACS Style Guide. 1986

QD 8.5 A25 1986


Guide to writing and preparing papers for publication in the chemical sciences
.
Chemical Information: A Practical Guide for Utilization. 2nd ed., 1988

QD 8.5 W64 1983

Overview of chemistry literature and data sources, in all formats.

Chemical Information Sources. 1990

QD 8.5 W54 1991 Chemistry Reference; Library and Information Science Library

Introductory overview of chemical information both printed and computerized.

Directory of Graduate Research.

QD 21 D573 (latest ed. in Reference)


The American Chemical Society's biennial directory of departments of chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry, medicinal/pharmaceutical chemistry, clinical chemistry, and polymer science at U.S. and Canadian universities that offer masters or doctoral degrees in these fields. Schools are listed alphabetically with each section, and include fields of specialization, faculty, biographies, interests, and recent publications.

Indexes
Handbooks | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias | Sources of Chemicals | Guides to Literature and Research | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

Chemical Abstracts. 1907 -

Shelved in Reference Stacks; newest issues on Index Table.


The premier indexing source for chemical, biochemical, and chemical engineering literature, covering over 12,000 journals and confernces, as well as technical reports, dissertations, books, and patents. There are two basic parts: the weekly abstracts issues, arranged by topics (each issue contains its own indexes), and cumulative semiannual indexes, offering access by chemical substances name, formula, general subject, and author. There are also Collective Indexes covering 10 - or 5 - year periods. Use the printed flyers available in the Library to learn the basics of searching the printed indexes.

Other parts of CA to know about:

Index Guide.

Annual thesaurus providing subject headings and controlled vocabulary, cross-refernces and indexing notes for use with CA's Chemical Substance and General Subject indexes. Located on the Index Table.

Registry Handbook -- Common Names.

Annual microfiche listing of chemical names and synonyms that gives registry number and formula for nearly 700,00 compounds as indexed in CA. The Name Section lists substance names selected from the Registry nomenclature file. The Number Section lists, by registry number, the corresponding CA Index Name for use in the printed indexes, along with synonyms. Next to the online Registry file, this is the best place to find registry numbers for searching in CAS Online, or Index Names for searching in the printed CA indexes.

Registry Handbook -- Number Section. 1965 -

Printed cumulation of all registry numbers assigned by CAS since 1965, showing CA Index Names and formula for searching in the indexes. Check the annual update for cumulative changes. Shelved near the end of the CA index area.

Ring System Handbook. 1988 4 vols. plus supplement

Compound-locating index arranged by the number of rings in a structure, then by the size of the component rings in ascending order (e.g., 5,6,7). Elemental components are arranged in Hill order. Entries give CAS registry number, Ring File number, index name, molecular formula, WLN, and structure diagram. Shelved on the CA Index Table.

CASSI. 1989

Retrospective listing of journal titles, conference titles, and other printed sources abstracted by CA, listed by their established CA abbreviations. Appears every 5 years, with quarterly updates. Very comprehensive. Located on the circulation desk.

Chemical Abstracts is available online after 1967. Available through the U-Search system or by full-service searches.

ONLINE CATALOG
Handbooks | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias | Sources of Chemicals | Guides to Literature and Research | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

Use ONLINE CATALOG to locate books and journals held by the LSU Libraries on this topic. To search by subject, use established Library of Congress Subject Headings from the red volumes near the terminals. Use the subject search field. Relevant general headings include:

Note also that the subheading: -- Analysis occurs under names for substances or classes of compounds,
for example: Biochemistry -- Analysis.


The keyword search is also useful as an alternative search method, to find items lacking in-depth subject headings:

boron analysis

Other subject heading examples follow:

Polymers
Polymerization
Polymer liquid crystals
Macromolecules


The keyword search is also useful as an alternative search method.

polymers olefins


Similar searches in the periodical index of the Online catalog will help locate journal articles on these topics.


For questions or comments about this page, please contact
William Armstrong


Chemistry Resources
LSU Libraries | Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803-3100
Tel (225) 578-8875 | Fax (225) 578-9432
Copyright © 1999 - 2009 LSU Libraries
Last Updated: 2007