USING CHEMICAL ABSTRACTS
A Basic Guide
The Chemical Abstracts (CA) is the most complete guide
to the chemical literature of the world, referencing more than 14 million
documents since it was first published in 1907. This completeness means
that you can search CA with confidence, knowing that you won¹t miss
essential chemical information. The answer to almost any pertinent question
pertaining to chemistry can be found through Chemical Abstracts. By defining
chemistry broadly, CA also covers aspects of many other scientific disciplines
such as biology, clinical medicine, physics, geology, engineering, and
more.
Index Guide
Annual thesaurus providing subject headings and controlled vocabulary,
cross-references and indexing notes for common, trade, or systematic name
for a chemical substance. This cross-reference toll provides a guide to
the Volume and Collective General Subject and Chemical Substance Indexes.
Located on the Index Table.
General Subject Terms
Abstracts are indexed through keyword phrases selected primarily from
the abstract text and document title. Keywords reflect the terminology
chosen by the authors in a variety of specialities and countries. Controlled
vocabulary is added to reduce the scattering of references over several
terms.
Chemical Substance Names
The Chemical Substance Index provides a systematic CA index name for
common and trade names of chemical substances. The index name identifies
a specific chemical substance. The index is arranged alphabetically by
index name. Entries in the Chemical Substance index also include text modification
phrases, which describe aspects of the substance that were studied. Although
helpful, the nomenclature of entries have been extended from IUPAC (International
Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry) to develop names such that each substance
receives a single name. Index names are built around a parent, generally
the name of a structural skeleton plus a suffix denoting the principal
group. The index name is invented so that the parent appears first in the
name printed in the index. This practice allows substances with the same
structural skeleton to appear near each other in the alphabetically arranged
index. Substituents on the parent structure are listed next in the
name. They may be followed by a modification that identifies a specific
derivative (such as an ester) of the principal indexed substance.
Stereochemical information appears at the end of the name.
| Cyclohexanecarboxylic acid, |
4-chloro-3-[2-(methylamino)ethyl]-. |
ethyl ether |
(1a, 3b, 4b) |
| Parent |
Substituents |
Modification |
Stereo |
Molecular Formulas
The molecular formula index provides CA index names, CAS Registry
Numbers, and abstract numbers for chemical substances identified by molecular
formula. Element symbols in the molecular formula used in the Formula Index
are arranged according to the Hill system. For all carbon-containing compounds,
C
is listed first, followed by H (if present), and then by the remaining
elements. Formulas for substances that do not contain carbon are arranged
alphabetically by element symbol.
Hill System: C, H, Br, Cl, F, I, N, O, P, S, Si, M.
Ring System Handbook. 1988 4 vols. plus supplement
Compound-locating index arranged by the number of rings in a structure,
then by the size of the component rings in ascending order (e.g., 5,6,7).
Elemental components are arranged in Hill order. Entries give CAS registry
number, Ring File number, index name, molecular formula, WLN, and structure
diagram. Shelved on the CA Index Table.
About the Ring System Index
Each volume of the Index of Ring Systems that orders substances on the
basis of an analysis of the constituent rings. An entry is included for
each ring system CAS encounters. Performing a ring analysis requires: the
number of component rings, the sizes of component rings, and the elemental
composition of component rings.
| e.g., Ring analysis for the ring parent in Carbapenem. |
| Number of Rings |
2 |
| Size of Rings |
4,5 |
| Elemental Analysis of Rings |
C3N - C4N |
The Index of Ring Systems is ordered in ascending numerical and alphabetical
order of ring analysis components. Rings that require indicated hydrogen
show the saturated center in the lowest available position.
Each elemental analysis is linked to the CA index name for all ring
systems that share the ring analysis. The index names can then be searched
in the Chemical Substance Index for refernces about substances containing
the ring system.
The Ring Systems Handbook includes all ring systems encountered by Chemical
Abstracts Service. It contains structure drawings of all ring systems and
cyclic natural products used as parent headings in deriving CA index names.
Author Names
The Author Indexes link names of authors, coauthors, inventors, and
assignees to the abstract numbers of documents that they have produced.
Since corporations are frequently listed as assignees of patent rights,
these indexes include corporate as well as personal names.
The names are listed alphabetical by last name. When the last names
are identical, the order is alphabetical by first initial and second initial
(NOT alphabetically by the letters in the first name). Abstract numbers
and document titles are linked only to the first listed author of coauthored
papers. Other author names are cross-referenced to the name of the first
author.
Patent Numbers
Patent abstracts are indexed in the General Subject, Chemical Substance,
and Author Indexes by subject, substance, or known inventors or assignees.
The patent number index allow for searching both two approaches: the patent
number is the first document abstracted by CAS on the topic; the patent
number belongs to an equivalent document. Patent Number will be linked
to an abstract number for the document, listing a complete history of equivalent
foreign patents.
The equivalent patent will be cross-referred to the patent number of
the first abstracted patent.
| DE (Germany) 4122229 A1 |
(Original citation: 116:219715j German Patent) |
| CA 2046122 AA |
(Cross-referenced Canadian patent) |
| FR 2664294 A1 |
(Cross-referenced French patent) |
| GB 2245600 A1 |
(Cross-referenced Great Britain patent) |
Prior to 1981, patent numbers were indexed in two separate indexes --
The Numerical Patent Index and the Patent Concordance. The Numerical Patent
Index provided abstract numbers for those patents abstracted in Chemical
Abstracts. Equivalent patent documents were linked to the abstract of the
first family member of through the Patent Concordance.
Patents
Understanding Chemical Patents: A Guide for the Inventor. 1978
John T. Maynard (Washington, D.C. : American Chemical Society), 1978.
Second edition: 1991
QD 39.2 M38 1978 Chemistry Resources Stacks
QD 39.2 M38 1978 Middleton Library Stacks
ACS primer on understanding patents as an information source, the patenting
process, records keeping, infringement, and terminology. With a glossary.
A Note on Patents
Chemical patents are covered thoroughly by Chemical Abstracts, which
has separate patent indexes. U.S. patents are on microfilm and paper in
the Middleton Government Documents and the CASSIS CD-ROM system there is
a good starting point for looking up U.S. patents on any topic. Foreign
patents and patent applications often found in Chemical Abstracts are more
difficult to get hold of, but are available through CA, Inter-Library Services,
and the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, and commercial vendors. Ask Library
reference staff for more information.
LSU Libraries -- Patents and Trademarks.
LSU Libraries information guides for Patent, Trademark, and copyright information.
Home Page for U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.
Definitions of patents and instructions for conducting patent searches.
Indexes
Chemical Abstracts. 1907 -
Shelved in Reference Stacks; newest issues on Index Table.
The premier indexing source for chemical, biochemical, and chemical
engineering literature, covering over 12,000 journals and confernces, as
well as technical reports, dissertations, books, and patents. There are
two basic parts: the weekly abstracts issues, arranged by topics (each
issue contains its own indexes), and cumulative semiannual indexes, offering
access by chemical substances name, formula, general subject, and author.
There are also Collective Indexes covering 10 - or 5 - year periods. Use
the printed flyers available in the Library to learn the basics of searching
the printed indexes.
Other parts of CA to know about:
Index Guide.
Annual thesaurus providing subject headings and controlled vocabulary,
cross-refernces and indexing notes for use with CA's Chemical Substance
and General Subject indexes. Located on the Index Table.
Registry Handbook -- Common Names.
Annual microfiche listing of chemical names and synonyms that gives
registry number and formula for nearly 700,00 compounds as indexed in CA.
The Name Section lists substance names selected from the Registry nomenclature
file. The Number Section lists, by registry number, the corresponding CA
Index Name for use in the printed indexes, along with synonyms. Next to
the online Registry file, this is the best place to find registry numbers
for searching in CAS Online, or Index Names for searching in the printed
CA indexes.
Registry Handbook -- Number Section. 1965 -
Printed cumulation of all registry numbers assigned by CAS since 1965,
showing CA Index Names and formula for searching in the indexes. Check
the annual update for cumulative changes. Shelved near the end of the CA
index area.
Ring System Handbook. 1988 4 vols. plus supplement
Compound-locating index arranged by the number of rings in a structure,
then by the size of the component rings in ascending order (e.g., 5,6,7).
Elemental components are arranged in Hill order. Entries give CAS registry
number, Ring File number, index name, molecular formula, WLN, and structure
diagram. Shelved on the CA Index Table.
CASSI. 1994
Retrospective listing of journal titles, conference titles, and other
printed sources abstracted by CA, listed by their established CA abbreviations.
Appears every 5 years, with quarterly updates. Very comprehensive. Located
on the circulation desk.
Chemical Abstracts is available online after 1967.
Available through Dialog/STN or by full-service searches.
ONLINE CATALOG
Use Online Catalog to locate books and journals held by the LSU Libraries on this
topic. To search by subject, use established Library of Congress Subject
Headings from the red volumes near the terminals. Use the subject search feild.
Relevant general headings include:
Chemistry, analytical
Chemistry, analytic Qualitative
Chemistry, analytic Quantitative
Chromatographic analysis
Gas Chromatography
Liquid Chromatography
Similar searches in the periodical index of the Online Catalog
will help locate journal articles on these topics.
For questions or comments about this page, please contact
William Armstrong
Chemistry Resources
LSU Libraries |
Louisiana
State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803-3100
Tel (225) 578-8875 | Fax (225) 578-9432
Copyright © 1999 - 2009 LSU
Libraries
Last Updated: 2007