Open http://www.lib.lsu.edu in another browser window to work through this tutorial side by side.
A database is a highly organized collection of content, such as journals, magazines, or newspaper articles; eBooks; audio/video/image files; conference proceedings; technical reports; patents; or dissertations.
LSU has access to around 500 databases in every different subject available on campus. From 19th Century British Library Newspapers to Zoological Record, LSU Libraries has it covered.
Use the arrows below to navigate through the tutorial.
There are many ways of accessing the databases.
If you are off campus you will need to login first. Go to LSU Libraries Home Page under Library Information in your MyLSU account. This will allow you to access the databases without a password from off campus and bring you to this screen (www.lib.lsu.edu).
If you are on campus, you can also access the databases from the LSU homepage by moving your cursor over Research Tools at the top of the screen.
Click on Indexes and Databases under Find Articles.
You can also access the databases from the third tab on the homepage.
Located next to each database name are icons that tell you information about the database before you start looking through it.
The "LSU" Icon means access is available to Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only.
The "I" icon means Information and clicking on that will provide you with information about the database including the type of material in it.
The "FT" icon means that the database has access to some full text but not everything in the database is full text.
The "Try" icon means that the database is a free trial. We encourage you to use the database and let us know what you think of it!
The "Open Lock" icon means that the material is open access and that the information in that database is freely available in other locations such as the internet.
Title is a list of all of the library's databases. It is arranged alphabetically and is great for databases if the user knows the title. This feature is not so great for the novice researcher who doesn't know which database he or she might want.
Subject arranges all of our databases by subject. The databases listed under each subject heading have information in them about that subject. However, many databases we offer are multi-disciplined. Don't be surprised if you see the same database under each subject a few times. This feature is great for the more experienced searcher or one who may want to explore other database options.
Let's concentrate on the last category, Frequently Used Databases, the ones that everyone needs to know.
Business Source Complete - business version of Academic Source Complete.
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) - "Large collection of indexes, each of which focuses on a specific scientific field." From the LSU Libraries website.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive - controversial "hot" topics database which includes a pro/con feature for debates and position papers. To learn how to use this database or for more information, check out our tutorial.
eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary) - full text electronic books from EBSCO.
JSTOR - scholarly academic journal storage (mostly arts, humanities, and social sciences with some sciences such as ecology, botany, health, military history and field archaeology) going back hundreds of years.
LexisNexis Academic - worldwide newspapers (see also Access World News or NewsBank) as well as law and business related information.For more information on how to use this database view the LexisNexis video tutorial. For information on how to find news articles by state, view this video tutorial. For more information on how to use LexisNexis to find legal information, view the video tutorial here.
For additional LexisNexis video tutorials, check out our tutorial page.
Project Muse - scholarly academic journals storage (mostly arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics) going back a couple of decades.
Web of Knowledge/Science - great scholarly non full text database, the best of the best high impact journals going back to 1900 in the sciences, 1956 in the social sciences, and 1975 in the arts and humanities. For more information on how to use Web of Science, visit our tutorial.
Another place you can search and find journals, articles, and even books is Discovery.
"Discovery is a user-friendly method of searching LSU Libraries' Online Catalog along with the full-text of much of the Libraries' electronic holdings. You can think of Discovery as the LSU Libraries meta-search engine – it will search for books in the Libraries’ catalog, scholarly journal articles in databases such as Academic Search Complete and JSTOR, and newspaper and magazine articles in the LexisNexis database, all in one integrated search. Discovery is a simplification of the search for materials on a topic: instead of doing one search for books in the Libraries’ catalog and then another search for articles the databases, you can do one time-saving search." From Discovery Tutorial
Discovery is like a smart Google and can be a one-stop shop for your research needs.
For more information on Discovery, visit our tutorial.
LSU Libraries are always adding new databases and the list is always being updated with changes. For more information on databases, please contact the Research and Instruction Desk, 141 Middleton Library at 578-8875 or simply Ask us!
Research Department Updated 4/15
Please enter your name and email address to retrieve a copy of your completed quiz.
You can enter multiple email addresses separated by commas. If you are doing this for a class, you may need to enter your instructor's email address also.
What did you think of this tutorial?