<< Indexes and Databases     By Title: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z List All

African and African American Studies Databases



Key:   Full Text   Limited to LSU Affiliates   More Information   Open Access

  • Title and Access
  • Information

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

The African American Newspapers will feature, when complete, 270 newspapers published in 36 states, including rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. This fully ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century

This collection of African-American newspapers contains information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, including first-hand reports of the major events and ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
ARTstor

ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
Biography and Genealogy Master Index

Indexes current and retrospective biographical dictionaries and Who's Whos that cover both contemporary and historical figures, providing citations to biographies of individuals ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
Biography Resource Center

The Biography Resource Center is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 185,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
Black Drama

Black Drama contains the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 150 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
Black Short Fiction and Folklore

Black Short Fiction and Folklore is the most comprehensive collection of African and African-Diaspora stories yet created. When complete, it will feature the English-language ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
Black Thought and Culture

Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
Book Collection: Nonfiction

Book Collection:Nonfiction is a rich research database for school and public libraries, and includes general interest, high interest, leveled full text articles on civics, social ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
Book Review Index

Contains references to more than 2,000,000 reviews of approximately 1,000,000 distinct book and periodical titles. The file dates from 1969 to the present and covers every review ... (click for more)

More Information
Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete provides full text from 11,200 sources, including more than 1,100 scholarly business journals. This database offers information in virtually every area of ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
C19: Nineteenth Century Index

C19 Index is the bibliographic spine of 19th century research, providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
Caribbean Literature

Starting with the literature produced in Spanish and French colonies in the 1800s, the collection offers an extensive selection of 19th- and 20th-century works from every Caribbean ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
e-Duke Scholarly Collection

Duke University Press publishes and distributes more than thirty periodicals that span a stimulating range of disciplines within the humanities and sciences--from East Asian ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Library

Online versions of various theses and dissertations from LSU graduate students.

Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to access them. ... (click for more)

More Information Open Access Resource
Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
Grove Dictionary of Music is now part of Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
Historical Chicago Defender

As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ program, the Chicago Defender offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
In The First Person

In the First Person is a landmark index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. Working with archives, ... (click for more)

More Information Open Access Resource
JSTOR

JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. JSTOR consists of a reliable and comprehensive archive of important ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
Literature Resource Center

Designed to meet the research needs of undergraduate and high school students, the Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
netLibrary

netLibrary is a collection of almost 40,000 reference, scholarly, and professional e-books (full text electronic books) from university and commercial presses, covering a variety ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
North American Women's Drama

North American Women's Drama will bring together more than 1,500 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information. The collection begins with the ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
Oxford African American Studies Center

The Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
Population Index on the Web

Indexes publications on demography and population research. You may search the Population Index database for 1986-1999 (43,463 citations) by author, subject, geographical region ... (click for more)

More Information Open Access Resource
Project Muse

Project Muse provides online, world wide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
Religion and Philosophy Collection

The Religion & Philosophy Collection is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice 1490 - 2007

This is a portal for slavery studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period spanning six centuries, from libraries and archives across the ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
Theatre in Video

Theatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
Web of Science

Science Citation Index Expanded - This database covers the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,800 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students
WorldCat

Offers Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century. ... (click for more)

More Information Access Limited to LSU Faculty, Staff, and Students

Showing results 1 to 32 of 32