History Databases
Key:
Full Text
Limited to LSU Affiliates
More Information
Open Access
- Title and Access
- Information
Accessible Archives
A collection of African-American newspapers containing information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, including first-hand reports of the major events and ... (click for more)
AccessUN
AccessUN provides access to current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications. Articles appearing in UN periodicals are individually indexed. Indexing of the ... (click for more)
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
The African American Newspapers will feature, when complete, 270 newspapers published in 36 states, including rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. This fully ... (click for more)
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
This collection of African-American newspapers contains information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, including first-hand reports of the major events and ... (click for more)
Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy (1719-1820)
In 1984, a professor at Rutgers University stumbled upon a trove of historic data in a courthouse in Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. Over the next 15 years, Dr. Gwendolyn Midlo ... (click for more)
America History and Life
America: History and Life (AHL) includes abstracting and indexing of the full range of U.S. and Canadian history, area studies, and current affairs literature. AHL includes ... (click for more)
America's Historical Newspapers
As the first draft of history, newspapers document the life and times of a community,a region and a nation. For searching and browsing American newspapers published in the 18th, ... (click for more)
American Civil War Online
The American Civil War Online Collection presents 75,000 images drawn from archives around the country, documenting the camp and battle experiences of the Union and Confederate ... (click for more)
American Civil War Research Database, The
The American Civil War Research Database™ is the definitive online resource for researching the soldiers, regiments, and battles of the American Civil War. Originally created by ... (click for more)
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries, The
The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries knits together more than 1,000 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every ... (click for more)
American State Papers
... (click for more)
Aquinas: Collected Works (Past Masters)
St. Thomas Aquinas database which contains virtually all translations of St. Thomas Aquinas. The only work translated and published through ordinary channels which we know to be ... (click for more)
Archive of Americana
The digital Archive of Americana is a family of comprehensive historical collections that allows researchers to discover and explore the United States in unprecedented depth and ... (click for more)
Aristotle: Complete Works (Past Masters)
The Complete Works of Aristotle, (mostly) translated by Benjamin Jowett. ... (click for more)
Art Index Retrospective (1929 - 1984)
Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. The database cites articles ... (click for more)
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
... (click for more)
ARTstor
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts ... (click for more)
ATLA Religion Database
The ATLA Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. Indexing journal articles, book ... (click for more)
BF French Historical Collections of Louisiana
Presents a CD-ROM version of a rare five-volume text by Benjamin Franklin French, who compiled records from 1846 to 1853 dealing with the European conquest of the Mississippi ... (click for more)
BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art)
This bilingual database (English and French) allows customized searching on the history of postclassical Western art. Covering European and American art from late antiquity to the ... (click for more)
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Indexes current and retrospective biographical dictionaries and Who's Whos that cover both contemporary and historical figures, providing citations to biographies of individuals ... (click for more)
Biography Resource Center
The Biography Resource Center is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 185,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all ... (click for more)
Black Drama
Black Drama contains the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 150 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, ... (click for more)
Black Short Fiction and Folklore
Black Short Fiction and Folklore is the most comprehensive collection of African and African-Diaspora stories yet created. When complete, it will feature the English-language ... (click for more)
Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the ... (click for more)
Book Collection: Nonfiction
Book Collection:Nonfiction is a rich research database for school and public libraries, and includes general interest, high interest, leveled full text articles on civics, social ... (click for more)
British Periodicals I and II
This digital archive will consist of almost 500 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s, comprising six million keyword-searchable pages and forming an unrivalled ... (click for more)
C19: Nineteenth Century Index
C19 Index is the bibliographic spine of 19th century research, providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, ... (click for more)
Caribbean Literature
Starting with the literature produced in Spanish and French colonies in the 1800s, the collection offers an extensive selection of 19th- and 20th-century works from every Caribbean ... (click for more)
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The Catalog is a search and retrieval service that provides bibliographic records of U.S. Government information products. Use it to link to Federal agency online resources or ... (click for more)
Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
This collection of African-American newspapers contains information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, including first-hand reports of the major events and ... (click for more)
Directory of Open Access Journals
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased ... (click for more)
e-Duke Scholarly Collection
Duke University Press publishes and distributes more than thirty periodicals that span a stimulating range of disciplines within the humanities and sciences--from East Asian ... (click for more)
Early American Fiction Complete
Early American Fiction 1789–1875 offers the full text of more than 700 first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, ... (click for more)
Early American Imprints Series 1: Evans 1639 - 1800
Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) has been hailed as one of the most important collections ever produced on microform. Based on the renowned American ... (click for more)
Early American Imprints Series 2: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801 - 1819
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th ... (click for more)
Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in ... (click for more)
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics 2nd Edition
The Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics covers the full range of topics in contemporary linguistics, with coverage across all aspects of language, whether spoken, written or ... (click for more)
Evans Digital Edition, Early American Imprints Series 1: 1639 - 1800
Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) has been hailed as one of the most important collections ever produced on microform. Based on the renowned American ... (click for more)
Fuente Academica
Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This multi-disciplinary database offers full text content to many ... (click for more)
GaleNet
Includes Biography & Genealogy Master Index, Biography Resource Center, Exploring Poetry, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers Series, and Twayne's Authors Series. ... (click for more)
Grove Dictionary of Art
The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. The Grove Dictionary of Art contains 45,000 ... (click for more)
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Provides a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary ... (click for more)
HarpWeek (Harper's Weekly)
Contains the full-text of Harper's Weekly during the Civil War era (1857-1865) and access to HarpWeek Reconstruction I (1866 - 1871). The HarpWeek Database consists of the pages ... (click for more)
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes the world's periodical literature in history and the related social sciences and humanities. The database corresponds to the two companion ... (click for more)
Historical Chicago Defender
As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ program, the Chicago Defender offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, ... (click for more)
History Reference Center
History Reference Center is the world's most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and ... (click for more)
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines: Important and Rare Periodicals from Confederate, Union, Abolitionist, and British Presses database contains 65,000 pages ... (click for more)
Images of the American Civil War
Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera presents the dramatic imagery of nineteenth-century Americana as experienced from the social, military, and ... (click for more)
In The First Person
In the First Person is a landmark index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. Working with archives, ... (click for more)
Index Islamicus
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African ... (click for more)
Index of Christian Art
A thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and Medieval art objects. Besides iconographic descriptions of works of art, the database includes bibliographic records, and ... (click for more)
Index to American Periodicals 1700 - 1850
Two "Indexes to Early American Periodicals," covering the time periods from 1741 to 1850 and thought to include all known periodical publications that had their inception and ... (click for more)
Index to Social Sciences and Humanities Proceedings
Covers the most significant conference proceedings in the social sciences and humanities over the last five years. ... (click for more)
Ingenta
Allows for the ordering of articles, from periodicals not owned by LSU, by faculty, research staff, and graduate students for research or instructional use. These orders are ... (click for more)
ITER
Iter is a not-for-profit research project with partners in Toronto (the headquarters), New York City, and Tempe. Iter was created for the advancement of learning in the study and ... (click for more)
JSTOR
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. JSTOR consists of a reliable and comprehensive archive of important ... (click for more)
Kant: Hauptwerke (Past Masters)
The Immanuel Kant: Hauptwerke database contains Kant's philosophical work published during Kant's lifetime (excepting the Latin and some of the minor pre-critical writings), ... (click for more)
Kennedy Assassination Newspaper Archive
NewspaperARCHIVE.com, the largest database of newspapers online, is providing a free archive of material relating to the assassination of President Kennedy. Within the archive, you ... (click for more)
Kierkegaard Journals and Papers (Past Masters)
The 2nd edition of Soren's Kierkegaard's Journals and Papers. The 2nd edition was created from the 1st edition (edited and translated by Howard V. Hong and Edna H. Hong, ... (click for more)
Law Practice of Abraham Lincoln, The
This database fills the last large gap in documenting the life of Abraham Lincoln: his quarter-century career as a general practice attorney in Illinois. This DVD edition ... (click for more)
Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO ... (click for more)
London Times, 1785 - 1870
... (click for more)
LOUISiana Digital Library
LOUISiana Digital Library is Louisiana's doorway to the unique cultural and historical resources of Louisiana's libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions. ... (click for more)
Louisiana National Register of Historic Places
Established by Congress in 1966, the National Register of Historic Places is the nation's official list of significant historic properties. Each state has a historic preservation ... (click for more)
Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO)
Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO) provides a large and growing resource of essential medieval and early modern Britain and Ireland sources online. ... (click for more)
netLibrary
netLibrary is a collection of almost 40,000 reference, scholarly, and professional e-books (full text electronic books) from university and commercial presses, covering a variety ... (click for more)
New Testament Abstracts Online
New Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Weston Jesuit School of Theology. The database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid ... (click for more)
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including ... (click for more)
NewspaperARCHIVE.com
Searchable online images of newspapers from around the United States.
Technical Note: The DiVU plug-in for Netscape and MS Internet Explorer is the primary means ... (click for more)
North American Women's Drama
North American Women's Drama will bring together more than 1,500 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information. The collection begins with the ... (click for more)
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
North American Women's Letters and Diaries is the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, brings the personal ... (click for more)
Old Testament Abstracts Online
Old Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, ... (click for more)
Oxford African American Studies Center
The Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of ... (click for more)
Oxford Art Online
Formerly Grove Dictionary of Art
The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present ... (click for more)
Palmer's Full Text Online 1785 - 1870
Palmer's Full Text Online, 1785 - 1870 gives students, researchers, and the public online access to approximately one million articles from The Times covering almost a ... (click for more)
Palmer's Index To the London Times
Index to the Times of London, starting in 1790 and running until 1905. ... (click for more)
Papers of George Washington
A landmark in historical scholarship, The Papers of George Washington encompasses five separate series and the complete diaries. This digital edition offers the complete Papers to ... (click for more)
Past Masters
Since 1989, InteLex has been publishing the Past Masters series of full-text humanities databases. They are focused on the needs of the scholarly community in the human sciences. ... (click for more)
Plato: Collected Dialogues (Past Masters)
The Collected Dialogues of Plato, in which the Edith Hamilton and Huntington Cairns (c) 1961 Bollingen Foundation) edition of Plato: The Collected Dialogues and the Benjamin ... (click for more)
Project Muse
Project Muse provides online, world wide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and ... (click for more)
Religion and Philosophy Collection
The Religion & Philosophy Collection is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, ... (click for more)
Ronald Reagan Newspaper Archive
NewspaperARCHIVE.com, the largest database of newspapers online, is providing a free archive of material documenting the life of President Ronald Reagan. Within the archive you ... (click for more)
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice 1490 - 2007
This is a portal for slavery studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period spanning six centuries, from libraries and archives across the ... (click for more)
Television News Archive (Vanderbilt)
... (click for more)
Times of London, 1785 - 1870
... (click for more)
Twentieth Century North American Drama
Twentieth Century North American Drama contains more than 1,500 plays from the United States and Canada. In addition to providing a comprehensive full-text resource for students in ... (click for more)
U.S. Congressional Serial Set with American State Papers
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is an incomparably rich, yet largely untapped collection of primary source material detailing all aspects of American history. The acclaimed U.S. ... (click for more)
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ... (click for more)
Web of Science
Science Citation Index Expanded - This database covers the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,800 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines ... (click for more)
Women and Social Movements 1600-2000
This Worldwide Web site is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social ... (click for more)
World History Collection
The World History Collection database offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. World History Collection ... (click for more)
WorldCat
Offers Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century. ... (click for more)
Zenon Dai
The Archaeological Bibliography began in 1956 in the Rome Department with description of the literature in all areas of archaeology from Scandinavia to the Near East.
... (click for more)
Showing results 1 to 94 of 94

