General Reference Databases
Key:
Full Text
Limited to LSU Affiliates
More Information
Open Access
- Title and Access
- Information
Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database ... (click for more)
AccessUN
AccessUN provides access to current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications. Articles appearing in UN periodicals are individually indexed. Indexing of the ... (click for more)
ACS Directory of Graduate Research
The ACS Directory of Graduate Research (DGR) is the most comprehensive source of information on chemical research and researchers at universities in the U.S. and Canada. ... (click for more)
Advocate
The Advocate is the local Baton Rouge newspaper. Recent articles (a few days old) can be accessed through The Advocate Online. Older articles are available through LexisNexis ... (click for more)
Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy (1719-1820)
In 1984, a professor at Rutgers University stumbled upon a trove of historic data in a courthouse in Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. Over the next 15 years, Dr. Gwendolyn Midlo ... (click for more)
ALA-APA Library Salary Database
The ALA-Allied Professional Association Library Salary Database includes data from both the Librarian and Non-MLS Salary Surveys - Public and Academic. The Salary Surveys are a ... (click for more)
American Book Prices Current
American Book Prices Current is an annual record of books, manuscripts, autographs, maps and broadsides sold at auction. Countries covered include North America and the UK, with ... (click for more)
American FactFinder (1990 and 2000 Census of Population and Housing)
Includes the 1990 and 2000 Census of Population and Housing ... (click for more)
ArchivesUSA
ArchivesUSA® is a current directory of 5,596 repositories and 154,678 collections of primary source material across the United States. Using ArchivesUSA®, researchers are able to ... (click for more)
ASM Handbooks Online
ASM Handbooks Online features the complete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. ... (click for more)
ASTM Standards Source
A complete database of all 11,000+ ASTM Standards. Accessed through a search menu to display PDF files of the Standards with the ability to enlarge any illustrations, pictures, or ... (click for more)
Bayou State Periodical Index
Indexes almost 70 Louisiana periodicals. ... (click for more)
Biographical Memoirs
Published since 1877, Biographical Memoirs are brief biographies of deceased National Academy of Sciences members, written by those who knew them or their work. These biographies ... (click for more)
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Indexes current and retrospective biographical dictionaries and Who's Whos that cover both contemporary and historical figures, providing citations to biographies of individuals ... (click for more)
Biography Resource Center
The Biography Resource Center is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 185,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all ... (click for more)
Book Collection: Nonfiction
Book Collection:Nonfiction is a rich research database for school and public libraries, and includes general interest, high interest, leveled full text articles on civics, social ... (click for more)
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
The Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance is a government-wide compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities which provide assistance or benefits to the ... (click for more)
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The Catalog is a search and retrieval service that provides bibliographic records of U.S. Government information products. Use it to link to Federal agency online resources or ... (click for more)
CollegeSource Online
Features over 11,400 College Catalogs in complete cover-to-cover original page format--including 2-year, 4-year, graduate, and professional schools. ... (click for more)
Combined Chemical Dictionary on CD-ROM
The Combined Chemical Dictionary on CD-ROM provides access to descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common ... (click for more)
Compustat
Compustat contains fundamental financial, statistical, and market data for corporations listed on the New York Stock Exchange, American StockExchange, National Association of ... (click for more)
County and City Data Book
Provides data on counties, cities of 5000 or more, and towns and places of over 2500, including extensive data from the 1990 Census. Coverage includes land area, population, ... (click for more)
CQ Press
Created and hosted by CQ Press, the CQ Press Electronic Library (CQEL) is the definitive reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, ... (click for more)
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There ... (click for more)
CQ Weekly
Each issue of CQ Weekly - in your stacks or fully archived to 1983 on the Web - looks forward and back. Your readers get in-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional ... (click for more)
Data.gov
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Although the initial ... (click for more)
Dictionary of Occupational Titles
... (click for more)
Dictionary of Science & Technology
Provides an electronic version of the Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology, adding sophisticated searching capabilities, spoken pronunciations, illustrations, and ... (click for more)
Directory of Periodicals (MLA)
The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals. This information has been gathered ... (click for more)
Dissertation Abstracts
Contains citations to 1.2 million dissertations and masters theses. Coverage begins in 1861, with abstracts available since 1980, and thesis abstracts since 1988.
Use ... (click for more)
DLAPS (Defense Logistics Agency)
Provides searching by keywords or publication number of Defense Logistics Agency and Department of Defense manuals, handbooks, regulations, directives, and instructions. ... (click for more)
E-Resources Management Handbook
The ERMH is an open access publication on e-resource management (ISBN: 0-9552448-0-3; 13-digit version: 978-0-9552448-0-3). It forms a valuable and comprehensive guide for the ... (click for more)
EBSCO Animals
EBSCO's Encyclopedia of Animals offers in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records ... (click for more)
EBSCO Electronic Journals Service
EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service (EJS) is a gateway to thousands of e-journals containing millions of articles from hundreds of different publishers, all at one web site. ... (click for more)
Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Library
Online versions of various theses and dissertations from LSU graduate students.
Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to access them. ... (click for more)
Encyclopedia of Communities of Practice in Information and Knowledge Management
The Encyclopedia of Communities of Practice in Information and Knowledge Management is the leading reference source for dynamic and innovative research in the field of communities ... (click for more)
Encyclopedia of Data Warehousing and Mining
The Encyclopedia of Data Warehousing and Mining provides a comprehensive, critical and descriptive examination of concepts, issues, trends, and challenges in this rapidly expanding ... (click for more)
Encyclopedia of Database Technologies and Applications
The Encyclopedia of Database Technologies and Applications is a wide-ranging collection of diverse coverage of topics related to database concepts, technologies, and applications. ... (click for more)
Encyclopedia of Developing Regional Communities with Information and Communication Technology
The Encyclopedia of Developing Regional Communities with Information and Communication Technology is an important and timely reference source on all topics related to the emerging ... (click for more)
Encyclopedia of Distance Learning
The Encyclopedia of Distance Learning offers the most comprehensive coverage of the issues, concepts, trends, and technologies of distance learning. Over 400 international ... (click for more)
Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction
The Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction is the most thorough and definitive source providing coverage of everything related to the field of human computer interaction (HCI). ... (click for more)
Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology
E-Access is an aggregated online database comprised of a comprehensive and authoritative collection of reference titles from IGI Global's Information Science Reference (ISR) ... (click for more)
Encyclopedia of Knowledge Management
The Encyclopedia of Knowledge Management is the most comprehensive source of coverage related to the past, present, and emerging directions of knowledge management. The ... (click for more)
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics 2nd Edition
The Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics covers the full range of topics in contemporary linguistics, with coverage across all aspects of language, whether spoken, written or ... (click for more)
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science
An online encyclopaedia which provides an overview of the Library and Information Science field. New topics in this edition include competitive intelligence, decision support ... (click for more)
Encyclopedia of Multimedia Technology and Networking
The Encyclopedia of Multimedia Technology and Networking provides in-depth coverage of the most important concepts, issues, trends and technologies in the multimedia discipline. ... (click for more)
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
The Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry provides authoritative and comprehensive coverage of the whole topic of spectroscopy, from theory to applications. Short articles, ... (click for more)
Encyclopedia of Virtual Communities and Technologies
The Encyclopedia of Virtual Communities and Technologies provides the most inclusive coverage of the concepts and realities in the field of virtual communities and technologies. ... (click for more)
English Short Title Catalogue
Access to RLIN databases: The Bibliographic File serves as a comprehensive catalog of books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, photographs, ... (click for more)
Eureka
Now part of WorldCat
RLG has merged into Worldcat.
Access to RLIN databases: The Bibliographic File serves as a comprehensive catalog of books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music scores, ... (click for more)
Fuente Academica
Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This multi-disciplinary database offers full text content to many ... (click for more)
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
For students and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily ... (click for more)
GaleNet
Includes Biography & Genealogy Master Index, Biography Resource Center, Exploring Poetry, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers Series, and Twayne's Authors Series. ... (click for more)
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, ... (click for more)
Green Book
Contains the Overview of Entitlement Programs by the U.S. House of Representatives' Committee on Ways and Means. ... (click for more)
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Provides a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary ... (click for more)
Handbook of Research on Literacy in Technology at the K-12 Level
The Handbook of Research on Literacy in Technology at the K-12 Level is the first reference work to provide comprehensive coverage of the issues, methods, and theories that define ... (click for more)
Health & Safety Science Abstracts
Surveys recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Major areas of coverage include: occupational safety and health, transportation environmental and ... (click for more)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. ... (click for more)
History Reference Center
History Reference Center is the world's most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and ... (click for more)
Hospitality and Tourism Index
The Hospitality & Tourism Index (HTI) covers all significant scholarly research and industry news relating to the areas of hospitality and tourism. This comprehensive index ... (click for more)
IBISWorld
IBISWorld is a comprehensive collection of hundreds of Industry Market Research reports. Industries represented include Agriculture; Mining; Utilities; Construction; Manufacturing; ... (click for more)
In The First Person
In the First Person is a landmark index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. Working with archives, ... (click for more)
Index to American Periodicals 1700 - 1850
Two "Indexes to Early American Periodicals," covering the time periods from 1741 to 1850 and thought to include all known periodical publications that had their inception and ... (click for more)
Ingenta
Allows for the ordering of articles, from periodicals not owned by LSU, by faculty, research staff, and graduate students for research or instructional use. These orders are ... (click for more)
Institutional Archives Registry
This site contains Southhampton's worldwide registry of instutitional open access archives. It covers the 434 OAI-compliant OA Archives worldwide, and is intended to cover OA ... (click for more)
iPOLL Databank at the Roper Center [University of Connecticut]
The most comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion available today. A full-text retrieval system, the iPOLL online database is organized at the ... (click for more)
Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical ... (click for more)
JSTOR
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. JSTOR consists of a reliable and comprehensive archive of important ... (click for more)
Kennedy Assassination Newspaper Archive
NewspaperARCHIVE.com, the largest database of newspapers online, is providing a free archive of material relating to the assassination of President Kennedy. Within the archive, you ... (click for more)
Learning Express Library
LearningExpress Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons—students and adult ... (click for more)
LexisNexis Academic
Offers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily. ... (click for more)
LexisNexis Academic - Business
Part of the LexisNexis Academic database, the Business section provides a range of sources for business information, including business and financial news, U.S. and international ... (click for more)
LexisNexis Academic - Legal Research
Part of the LexisNexis Academic database, the Legal Research section provides access to primary source material such as case law and statutes and regulations as well as secondary ... (click for more)
LexisNexis Statistical
Brings together statistical information from the Federal Government. It includes the American Statistics Index (ASI) and Abstracts beginning in 1973 and full-text to over 800 U.S. ... (click for more)
Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO ... (click for more)
London Times, 1785 - 1870
... (click for more)
Louisiana Biography and Obituary Index
A compilation of approximately 600,000 citations dating back to 1804 and containing thousands of ... (click for more)
Louisiana National Register of Historic Places
Established by Congress in 1966, the National Register of Historic Places is the nation's official list of significant historic properties. Each state has a historic preservation ... (click for more)
L’Encyclopédie Découverte
World Book presents L’Encyclopédie Découverte a universe of information in French. From A to Z, the world of knowledge unfolds.
... (click for more)
MADCAD Building Codes eLibrary
MAD CAD is a state-of-the-art subscription based reference database online, containing building codes, knowledge-based design solutions and, guidelines to meet the codes. MAD CAD ... (click for more)
Marquis Who's Who on the Web
For over 100 years, Who's Who in America has provided accurate, concise biographies of notable Americans. That was the mission of founder, Albert Nelson Marquis, who selected 8,602 ... (click for more)
MAS Ultra - School Edition
MAS Ultra - School Edition is designed specifically for high school libraries. The LSU Libraries receives this database as part of a larger package. The database provides full text ... (click for more)
Mental Measurements Yearbook
The Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series, produced since 1938 by the Buros Institute, provides users with critical evaluations for over 2,000 commercial tests within a wide ... (click for more)
Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent ... (click for more)
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
Contains bibliographic summaries of more than 150,000 publications on criminal justice, including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal ... (click for more)
National Trade Data Bank via StatUSA
Compiles information on U.S. international trade from reports, magazines, books, and databases from over forty federal government agencies. Current versions of the NTDB are ... (click for more)
netLibrary
netLibrary is a collection of almost 40,000 reference, scholarly, and professional e-books (full text electronic books) from university and commercial presses, covering a variety ... (click for more)
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
A database containing full text access to theses and disserations written at schools who are members of the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations. ... (click for more)
Newspaper Source
The Newspaper Source database provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The ... (click for more)
NewspaperARCHIVE.com
Searchable online images of newspapers from around the United States.
Technical Note: The DiVU plug-in for Netscape and MS Internet Explorer is the primary means ... (click for more)
O*NET
The information in O*NET 98 is based largely on data supplied by occupational analysts from sources such as the Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT). ... (click for more)
OAIster
OAIster serves as a search portal for digital collections of electronic books, online journals, audio and image files, and movies provided by the research library community. Users ... (click for more)
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Presents a computerized version of the latest edition of the Bureau of Labor Statistics' publication. ... (click for more)
OECD
Contains the full text of all Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) studies and reports from both serial and monographic publications, as well as time ... (click for more)
OSHA Laws, Regulations, and Interpretations
Provides full-text, searchable versions of Occupational Safety and Health Administration documents.
CD-ROM Available at the Middleton Library Government Documents ... (click for more)
Oxford African American Studies Center
The Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of ... (click for more)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Written by an international roster of more than 300 authors, the Encyclopedia comprehensively documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world. With a ... (click for more)
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Presenting an internet version of the second edition of the OED, which allows the searching of words, phrases, variants, phonetics, and Greek roots, with filters for date and part ... (click for more)
PAIS Archive
The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. Currently available on the CSA Illumina ... (click for more)
PAIS International
The PAIS International database from CSA contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research ... (click for more)
Population Index on the Web
Indexes publications on demography and population research. You may search the Population Index database for 1986-1999 (43,463 citations) by author, subject, geographical region ... (click for more)
Regional Economic Accounts
The Regional Economic Accounts database provides local area economic data for states, counties, and metropolitan areas for 1969-1998. Statistics in the data base include: personal ... (click for more)
RLG Serials File
Now part of WorldCat
Access to RLIN databases: The Bibliographic File serves as a comprehensive catalog of books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, photographs, ... (click for more)
RLG Union Catalog
Now part of WorldCat
Access to RLIN databases: The Bibliographic File serves as a comprehensive catalog of books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, photographs, ... (click for more)
Ronald Reagan Newspaper Archive
NewspaperARCHIVE.com, the largest database of newspapers online, is providing a free archive of material documenting the life of President Ronald Reagan. Within the archive you ... (click for more)
Roper Center Archives Catalog [University of Connecticut]
The Roper Center archives datasets from thousands of surveys with national adult, state, foreign, and special subpopulation samples. These datasets are listed in the Catalog of ... (click for more)
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research [University of Connecticut]
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The data held by ... (click for more)
Sanborn Maps (Digital) - Louisiana
Provides digital Sanborn for Louisiana. ... (click for more)
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from ... (click for more)
SourceOECD
Contains the full text of all Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) studies and reports from both serial and monographic publications, as well as time ... (click for more)
Stat-USA/Internet
Allows World Wide Web access to United States Government statistical information on trade, economics, and business, through four major databases: National Trade DataBank (NTDB), ... (click for more)
State Water Data Reports
Contains hydrologic records for each state, searchable by state, gauging station or location, well location, latitude, longitude, type of information desired, or combinations of ... (click for more)
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Provides a quick statistical reference and a guide to statistical publications and sources, with tables from governmental, private, and international organizations. The most recent ... (click for more)
Statistical Masterfile
Combines three searchable databases containing bibliographic records for statistical publications: American Statistics Index, covering publications of the U.S. federal ... (click for more)
Television News Archive (Vanderbilt)
... (click for more)
Times of London, 1785 - 1870
... (click for more)
U.S. Exports of Merchandise
Provides data on U.S. exports of domestic and foreign merchandise, arranged by Harmonized Schedule B Commodity Code, including quantity, value, and shipping weight, by country of ... (click for more)
U.S. Imports of Merchandise
Provides data on U.S. imports of merchandise, including net quantity, value, and shipping weight data, in terms of commodity, by country of origin, with totals for each customs ... (click for more)
Ulrichs Periodicals Directory
Ulrichsweb.com is the authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types — academic and scholarly journals, Open Access ... (click for more)
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ... (click for more)
World Book
World Book presents a universe of information. From A to Z, the world of knowledge unfolds.
... (click for more)
World Book Discover
World Book presents a universe of information. From A to Z, the world of knowledge unfolds.
... (click for more)
World Book Kids
Main features of World Book Kids:
... (click for more)
World Book Online Reference Center
World Book presents a universe of information. From A to Z, the world of knowledge unfolds.
... (click for more)
World Book Spanish Student Discovery Encyclopedia
World Book Spanish presents a universe of information in Spanish. From A to Z, the world of knowledge unfolds. The Spanish Student Discovery Encyclopedia is organized so that the ... (click for more)
World History Collection
The World History Collection database offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. World History Collection ... (click for more)
WorldCat
Offers Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century. ... (click for more)
WorldCat Local
You are now able to search the LSU Libraries collection and the collections of many other libraries worldwide using WorldCat Local, the world's largest network of library-based ... (click for more)
Showing results 1 to 129 of 129

