<< Indexes and Databases

Scifinder Scholar

Access Information

Accessible from all computer labs in Middleton by clicking on the "Start" button (lower left corner of the screen), Programs, then SciFinder Scholar 2006.

The software may be installed on computers throughout the campus for use by LSU faculty, staff, and students. For the installation and instruction files, logon to TigerWare with your PAWS ID and password. If you are using a PC, simply select the Science Software link in the left column and then click on Chemistry Software in the center of the next page. This will bring up the link to SciFinder Scholar 2006 (the latest version), along with the instruction, installation, and site.prf files.

For those wishing to install on a Mac, once in TigerWare, scroll to the bottom of the page and select the "Software for Macintosh" link. Then proceed with the above instructions.

Use restricted to LSU faculty, staff, and students.

Access is limited to six concurrent users

Description

Scifinder Scholar is a software program from Chemical Abstracts Service offering electronic access to Chemical Abstracts, which contains the largest substance database, CAS Registry, with more than 24 million substances--including 12 million organic substances. It is also the world's most comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents, containing the most current information, with daily updating by CAS scientists.



Information User Restrictions

Use of the LSU Libraries' electronic resources is subject to U.S. Copyright Law. Excessive downloading, printing, and/or electronic dissemination of resource content by the user is prohibited. Restrictions on other uses may apply. Electronic information subsidized by the LSU Libraries is for use in LSU classes and research. Databases are restricted to academic use only. Fair use guidelines are specifically applicable to use of information in a University setting. These are included in the Libraries Copyright Policy. See the Database Access Policy for information regarding authorized users.


Comments | LSU Libraries | Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Tel (225) 578-5652 | Fax (225) 578-9432
Copyright © 1996 - 2008 LSU Libraries LSU Logo    Administration