<< Indexes and Databases

Compendex LSU Only

How to Connect
Access Information

Available on the LSU campus. Access from off campus is available to LSU affiliates by entering an LSU ID Number and a PIN.

Use "Email My PIN" to get your PIN. PINs can be changed using the "Change My PIN" link and can have a maximum of 10 characters and/or numbers.

Description

Compendex is a bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. Ei covers literature that makes a definite contribution to knowledge in the subject areas of engineering and applied science. About half the citations (from 2600 journals and conferences) include abstracts and indexing in the records. CompendexWeb is the internet version of Engineering Index, the world's premier source of engineering abstracts. The database adds about 220,000 abstracts yearly. Abstracts come from 2600 engineering journals, conferences, and reports. All areas of engineering are covered. Approximately 22% of the database is conference literature, and 90% of the source documents are in English.



Information User Restrictions

Use of the LSU Libraries' electronic resources is subject to U.S. Copyright Law. Excessive downloading, printing, and/or electronic dissemination of resource content by the user is prohibited. Restrictions on other uses may apply. Electronic information subsidized by the LSU Libraries is for use in LSU classes and research. Databases are restricted to academic use only. Fair use guidelines are specifically applicable to use of information in a University setting. These are included in the Libraries Copyright Policy.

See the Database Access Policy for information regarding authorized users.