<< Indexes and Databases

CASSIS (U.S. Patents & Trademarks)

Access Information



CASSIS Disks

CassisTM is a stand-alone CD-ROM system. It is not remotely accessible.

    Bibliographic Information Files Disc (Patents BIB)
  • Bibliographic Information: Patent Number, Title (searchable by keyword), Classification, Assignee, Year of Issue, State/Country of Inventor, and Status
  • Coverage:
    • Utility patents: January 1969 to present.
    • Other patents: January 1977 to present.
    • Abstracts: December 1996 to present.
    Trademark Registrations Disc (Trademarks REGISTERED)
  • All currently active federal registrations.
  • Searchable fields include: Owner, Word Mark, International Classification Codes, U.S. Classification Codes, Goods and Services Descriptions, Mark Descriptions, Disclaimer, Registration Number, Design Code.

    Classification Information Files Disc (Patents CLASS)
  • Classification Information and Patent Numbers only (no titles).
  • Coverage: Utility, Design, Plant, Reissue, and X-Numbered Patents; Defensive Publications; Statutory Invention Registrations - July 1790 toß present.
    Trademarks Pending Applications Disc (Trademarks PENDING)
  • Includes applications files and applications published for opposition.
  • Searchable fields are the same as the Trademark Registrations Discs, except: Serial Number, instead of Registration Number.
    Patent Assignment Files Disc (Patents ASSIGN)
  • Assignment/Reassignment data: August 1980 to present for issued patents

    Trademarks Assignment Data File Disc (Trademarks ASSIGN)
  • Ownership information (including transfer) for registered and pending trademarks
    ASSIST Disc (Patents ASSIST)
  • Patentee (Inventor) and Assignee File (data from time of issue).
    • Patentee information: 1975 to June 1999.
    • Assignees (Utility Patents): 1969 to June 1999.
    • Assignees (Other Types of Patents): 1975 to June 1999.
  • Attorney Roster File. Searchable by city, state.
  • Index to the U.S. Patent Classification.
  • Classification Definitions.
  • Classification Order Index - 1976 to present.
  • USPC - IPC Concordance.
  • Manual of Patent Examining Procedure.
  • Manual of Classification.
  • PTO Search Room Locator - Classification, Art Unit, Supervisory Patent Examiner and Telephone Number (CAST) - latest edition.

    Trademarks Assist Disc (Trademarks ASSIST)
  • Trademark Manual of Examining Procedure (TMEP) - latest edition
  • Trademark Statues and Rules - latest edition
  • Goods & Services Manual: listing of acceptable descriptions or identifications of goods and services along with their appropriate classifications - latest edition
  • Trademark Trial and Appeal Board Manual of Procedure - latest edition
  • Trademark Telephone Index - latest edition
  • IDO Products and Services Catalog - latest edition
    Patents SNAP disc - April 1998
    (Serial Numbers for Allowed Patents)
  • Concordance of US patent application serial numbers to US patent number.
  • Includes data for patents with an application date beginning January 1, 1977 through April 30, 1998.

Description

Allows computerized searching for U.S. registered patents from 1790 (classification searching to 1790; title searching to 1969, abstracting to 1997), and for active U.S. trademarks, both registered and pending. Two dedicated CASSIS workstations are available as well as
CD cartridges for use with non-dedicated machines.



Information User Restrictions

Use of the LSU Libraries' electronic resources is subject to U.S. Copyright Law. Excessive downloading, printing, and/or electronic dissemination of resource content by the user is prohibited. Restrictions on other uses may apply. Electronic information subsidized by the LSU Libraries is for use in LSU classes and research. Databases are restricted to academic use only. Fair use guidelines are specifically applicable to use of information in a University setting. These are included in the Libraries Copyright Policy. See the Database Access Policy for information regarding authorized users.


Comments | LSU Libraries | Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Tel (225) 578-5652 | Fax (225) 578-9432
Copyright © 1996 - 2008 LSU Libraries LSU Logo    Administration