<< Indexes and Databases

C19: Nineteenth Century Index LSU Only

How to Connect
Access Information

Available on the LSU campus. Access from off campus is available to LSU affiliates by entering an LSU ID Number and a PIN.

Use "Email My PIN" to get your PIN. PINs can be changed using the "Change My PIN" link and can have a maximum of 10 characters and/or numbers.

Description

C19 Index is the bibliographic spine of 19th century research, providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives. Users of C19 Index can query its 12 collections simultaneously, or can conduct more detailed research using collection specific search screens. C19 Index is a dynamic and growing resource, currently containing over 20 million bibliographic records for a full range of 19th century source material. The links below provide more detail on the 12 collections available in C19 Index.

C19 Index draws on 12 collections:

  • American Periodicals Series
  • Archive Finder
  • British Periodicals
  • Dictionary of Nineteenth Century Journalism
  • House of Commons Parlimentary Papers
  • The Nineteenth Century
  • Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC)
  • Palmer's Index to the Times
  • Periodicals Index Online / Periodicals Archive Online (formerly Periodicals Contents Index (PCI) and PCI Full Text)
  • Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
  • The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
  • the U.S. Congressional Serial Set



Information User Restrictions

Use of the LSU Libraries' electronic resources is subject to U.S. Copyright Law. Excessive downloading, printing, and/or electronic dissemination of resource content by the user is prohibited. Restrictions on other uses may apply. Electronic information subsidized by the LSU Libraries is for use in LSU classes and research. Databases are restricted to academic use only. Fair use guidelines are specifically applicable to use of information in a University setting. These are included in the Libraries Copyright Policy.

See the Database Access Policy for information regarding authorized users.