<< Indexes and Databases

Black Short Fiction

How to Connect
Access Information

Available on the LSU campus. Off-campus access available to LSU affiliates by entering your Tiger Card ID Number, (found on your Tiger Card). 17 digits, no dash. Your PIN is "changeme" until you change it.

Description

Black Short Fiction is the most comprehensive collection of African and African-Diaspora stories yet created. When complete, it will feature the English-language literature of more than 15 countries, with additional special units of French and Portuguese literature from the African continent. In addition, the collection will include literature in languages that have their origins in African countries and are still present in some regions today, such as the Gullah language of South Carolina.

Within its 100,000 pages, which comprise an estimated 8,000 works, Black Short Fiction will include short stories published from the mid-1900s to the present. In addition to these published works, the database will feature previously uncollected works and unpublished manuscripts by many authors. Fables and folktales, which arise from the oral traditions of many peoples and date back many hundreds of years, are also widely represented within the collection. Researchers will be able to follow their development in both Africa and the New World. All these materials come from a variety of sources.



Information User Restrictions

Use of the LSU Libraries' electronic resources is subject to U.S. Copyright Law. Excessive downloading, printing, and/or electronic dissemination of resource content by the user is prohibited. Restrictions on other uses may apply. Electronic information subsidized by the LSU Libraries is for use in LSU classes and research. Databases are restricted to academic use only. Fair use guidelines are specifically applicable to use of information in a University setting. These are included in the Libraries Copyright Policy. See the Database Access Policy for information regarding authorized users.


Comments | LSU Libraries | Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Tel (225) 578-5652 | Fax (225) 578-9432
Copyright © 1996 - 2008 LSU Libraries LSU Logo    Administration