Note: Trial ends March 22, 2014
Created in collaboration with the National Security Archive, this database is the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
|Bibliography of Asian Studies
This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains over 640,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Through the 1991 printed version, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992 have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases (RLIN, OCLC, etc.).
The online BAS contains the full data of all of the printed editions of the BAS issued from the 1971 up to the 1991 edition (published 1997), as well as tens of thousands of entries compiled since. To quickly bridge the gap in coverage from 1991 to the present, the BAS staff have identified the most important 100+ periodicals in Asian Studies, and have indexed them on a priority basis in order to make their coverage as up-to-date as possible. Full information about the years of coverage of each and every journal is provided through the Journal Title Browse function. Various special projects have contributed substantial numbers of additional records to the database, thereby increasing the coverage of the BAS to include new and previously-excluded journals as well as eliminating gaps in the coverage of previously indexed periodicals.
The online BAS offers users various methods for seeking citations. In addition to using the powerful search function, users can browse by country-subject, or by journal title. A separate screen allows users to set their preferences for displaying and downloading data in different formats and character encodings. The BAS is updated regularly, with batch posting of thousands of new entries in each upload.
On a mobile device?
View the LSU Libraries Mobile Website at
Frequently Used Databases
Databases by Title
This does not search within databases
Key to Icons