On a mobile device?
View the LSU Libraries Mobile Website at
|Connect to Accessible Archives|
A collection of African-American newspapers containing information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, including first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, such as the Mexican War, Presidential and congressional addresses, congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel, and religion. The database also contain large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.
The database contains articles from the following journals: Freedom's Journal (New York, NY), The Colored American (Weekly Advocate) (New York, NY), The North Star (Rochester, NY), The National Era (Washington, D.C.), Provincial Freeman (Chatham, Canada West), Frederick Douglass Paper (Rochester, NY), The Christian Recorder (Philadelphia, PA). Offers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.
Use of the LSU Libraries' electronic resources is subject to U.S. Copyright Law. Excessive downloading, printing, and/or electronic dissemination of resource content by the user is prohibited. Restrictions on other uses may apply. Electronic information subsidized by the LSU Libraries is for use in LSU classes and research. Databases are restricted to academic use only. Fair use guidelines are specifically applicable to use of information in a University setting. These are included in the Libraries Copyright Policy.
See the Database Access Policy for information regarding authorized users.